We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not get what we paid for ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Contessa Holiday Apartments
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

It looks nice on the internet, but not what it seems. It is very old style. The main bedroom bed had a egg shell underlay on top of the mattress. The balcony furniture had seen it's day. The kids beds look like the bedcovers had never been washed. No aircon in the bedrooms. Disappointing for a first family holiday away. We were also supposed to have an executive apartment, but we only got the standard. :( :(

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, Manager at Contessa Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

This guest made no comment during her stay. All our executive apartments have air conditioning. Some ducted and some are a split system. The apartment was on the 20th floor and quite spectacular. Definitely executive standard. Lovely sea breezes at night and great views. Not a typical comment - what a shame.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 146 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

We travelled from Wauchope to Orange and then orange to Main Beach. The whole process was fabulous. They offered us to book in a day earlier and said if we didn't arrive in time (due to the distance being travelled) they would charge us for the extra night. We didn't arrive when expected and the keys were made available after hours. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 23rd floor with our three children. The kids loved it as we don't get to see the ocean like that very often. Everything was great from the facilities to every part of the apartment. We have told so many people about this place and will definitely be staying here again in the near future.
The staff were more than helpful offering help with bus timetables and places to eat with the kids. Truly one of the best family holidays we have ever had. Thank you so much for making it all so easy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the Contessa holiday apartments for 14 nights, 3 bedrooms 2 bathroom apartment. We found the service excellent, the room on the 21st floor amazing we had great views of the gold coast. The best part was the location to all the theme parks and it was only a walk to the beach. The kids loved the 2 pools at the end of the day after we visited the themed parks.

Nothing was any trouble lovely people

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eugene184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I found the Contessa to be in a great location and was nice and quiet. Very close to the restaurant and shops in Main Beach. I even stayed there whilst it was schoolies and would have no hesitation in staying there again at the same time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jo-Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

very convinient location, you can take shuttle bus 777 from airpot and it will just drop you off right in front of the contessa building. walk 2 minutes to the main beach to enjoy the most beautiful view. very close to the theme parks, such as sea world( highly recommended), movie world, wet n wild. you can also walk along the beach and reach suffers paradise easily. the 2 beadroom apartment we booked is very spacious and with equiped with everything, so we cooked everyday and it saved us a lot of money! If we have another chance to come back gold coast, we definitly we come back contessa again!

But if the owner of the building can repair all the glass curtains in bathroom of room 202, it will be great!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annmindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Family of 5 stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment in Jan 2014. Dated decor & cheep furniture like most of Gold Coast Apartments at this price but very clean. Didn't need Aircon for first 4 days, just opened the windows & doors & got blown away. Next 2 days were humid so we used the aircon. Apartment had everything you need to live with spectacular ocean views North & South.
Location was fantastic as traffic in Surfers was terrible. Only minutes to Seaworld & 15 mins to the other theme parks by car without having to go thru Surfers. Secure, undercover parking was great with easy access to lifts.
Kids used the indoor & outdoor pool & walked to the beach on 2 occasions.
We would definitely stay here again & recommend to family & friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ledj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed at this property for 5 days in early November, and shared a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit with another couple. The apartment is in a perfect location in that is near all the action in Surfers, but just far enough away (10 minute walk) so as to not be too loud and noisy. The Tedder Avenue shops and restaurants are only a few blocks away, and the beach just 1 block. The apartment we had was on the 27th floor, so we had a fabulous view of not only the ocean, the inner waterways as well. The unit we had was furnished with all that one could want, and was tastefully decorated, and we felt was very fairly priced. The balcony was huge, and a great place to eat your breakfast. Having managers located in the lobby was also very helpful. The only negative thing I can think of about this apartment is that the outside pool area loses the sun quite early in the afternoon, but it was not a big issue. Paul

Room Tip: The higher the better for the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PaulEC263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
1.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
550 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
1.7 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,500 reviews
1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
0.6 mi away
Rhapsody Resort
Rhapsody Resort
#3 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contessa Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contessa Holiday Apartments

Address: Contessa Apartments 1 Serisier Ave, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Price Range: $126 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Contessa Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Gold Coast resort has it all! Contessa is ideally located next to the broad, white beaches and the blue Pacific Ocean on Gold Coast's Main Beach. It is only a short stroll to cosmopolitan Tedder Avenue, with its world class restaurants offering superb cuisines, alfresco dining and nightly entertainment; and exciting central Surfers Paradise is just a few minutes to the south. Relax in style in your own 2 or 3 bedroom full self contained apartment and soak up the spectacular views and refreshing sea air. Set on two acres of beautifull manicured lawns amidst landscaped gardens, the resort also features an outdoor pool and spa, tennis court, indoor heated pool and spa, fitness room, sauna and its very own marina on Nerang River. When staying at Contessa, all the attractions of the Gold Coast are within easy reach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Contessa Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Holiday Apartments Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing