We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful winter get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Contessa Holiday Apartments
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We loved our stay at Contessa. The wonderful sun soaked north facing balconies and the sea breezes, a few minutes walk to the beaches and restaurants at Tedder Avenue make the Contessa our favourite place to stay. We enjoyed the tennis court but a little too cool to jump in the outside pool. The apartment was beautiful, clean and spacious for the three of us and we are looking forward to another opportunity to stay there again as it is very close to where my daughter lives. Main Beach is much quieter than where we used to stay but that is what we like about it. The Managers were very friendly and welcoming. Close to Sea World, Australia Fair shopping centre and bus routes close by. We had a car but my daughter uses the bus service frequently.
I had to select October 2011 in the "When did you travel" as it didn't give me the option to put the real dates of our stay which was in August for 11 nights.

Room Tip: All the apartments face north so you will enjoy a light filled apartment with plenty of balcony spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevK54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 143 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Even we book a premium apartment with ocean view but the apartmen was not so nice. It was dusty and old. So we prefer to stay outside than spend time inside. Sauna didn't work, swimming pool had a lot of chlorine so my daughter burned her eyes and cried all evening after. It’s good I had my eye drops. So I probably won't stay in any more. I think it was the worst place in Gold Coast where we stoped.

Room Tip: I am not sure what rooms are good in this place if we stayed in premium one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison7124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have stayed in a lot o places on the gold coast but this one is one of my favorites! It's away from all the noise and tourists so it's easier to relax and enjoy the weekend. The view we had was beautiful and the rooms were decorated lovely. Very happy.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missnikkimaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Thank you for making our holiday to the Gold Coast so enjoyable. Travelling with a family Main Beach was the perfect choice. Contessa was really terrific and offered all the facilities that we needed as a family, including undercover parking, walking distance to beaches, restuarants and theme parks only a short drive away. The apartment had all the facilities a family needs ,was very clean and well maintained.
Thank you very much to David and Jan for their hospitality.
Graham and Kim Evans
Perth, WA

Room Tip: Suggest ocean facing apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The apartment is in a great location - walking distance to Tedder Ave but I found it difficult to stomach how it lacked cleanliness. The bedspread had a very unpleasant looking stain and 3 out of the 4 pillows on the bed could not be used (stained) and the floor was sticky. Ensure to check the apartment allocated has Air Conditioning - middle of Summer it is essential. The apartment is spacious but due to the cleanliness factor and lack of A/C made the stay most uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Su-Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We chose the Contessa based on reviews at TripAdvisor and found that our two-bedroom/ two bathroom 'executive plus' ( Flat 173) more than met our expectations. It was beautifully furnished, well equipped kitchen, bathrooms and laundry; very comfortable beds and the added bonus of a collection of DVDs, magazines, books and board games. Sheets and towels were replaced after five days. There are two swimming pools, free underground parking. The only drawback is that it is not air-conditioned in the bedrooms but has overhead fans. Jan and David at reception were most helpful and friendly. Can't beat the view either!

Room Tip: Ask for apartment 173 on the 17th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Wonderful location, very well presented apartment block and delightfully helpful managers.
We stayed here for a week in January 2012 in a 9th floor apartment. The decor and furnishing were very basic and a bit surprising but comfortable and met most needs. Wonderful views, light and airy apartment, pool and tennis court, across from main beach and near to Tedder Avenue for nice eateries. Good to have a car but could get about on foot. This is private holiday rental apartment from a family rather than a resort hotel.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room higher up, it is a very tall block and I am sure it must be spectacular higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
1.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
500 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
868 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contessa Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contessa Holiday Apartments

Address: Contessa Apartments 1 Serisier Ave, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range: $126 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Contessa Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Gold Coast resort has it all! Contessa is ideally located next to the broad, white beaches and the blue Pacific Ocean on Gold Coast's Main Beach. It is only a short stroll to cosmopolitan Tedder Avenue, with its world class restaurants offering superb cuisines, alfresco dining and nightly entertainment; and exciting central Surfers Paradise is just a few minutes to the south. Relax in style in your own 2 or 3 bedroom full self contained apartment and soak up the spectacular views and refreshing sea air. Set on two acres of beautifull manicured lawns amidst landscaped gardens, the resort also features an outdoor pool and spa, tennis court, indoor heated pool and spa, fitness room, sauna and its very own marina on Nerang River. When staying at Contessa, all the attractions of the Gold Coast are within easy reach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Contessa Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Holiday Apartments Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing