We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing views, right on beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Sands Holiday Apartments
Reviewed April 8, 2013

important note: this is NOT a SERVICED apartment, so be prepared to wash your own towels, change your own linen etc. bring extra laundry powder and dishwashing liquid (they only provide 1 tiny pack of each) if you are staying more than 2-3 days. also, bring your own bedroom slippers if you dun like stepping on old carpeted room floors like me.

other than the that, everything was fantastic and as expected after reading the reviews. Kylie was amazingly helpful (we'd booked 2 apartments separately, i called up a week before and they'd allotted us rooms on different floors, but when we checked in, happy surprise to find out that Kylie had moved rooms around so we got apartments right next to each other!) Kylie really is the best! :) we din get charged extra for kids as we didn't ask for extra beds, so we fit 7 adults and 4 kids into 2 2-bedroom apartments

there's a ticketing machine at the lobby so you can even purchase tickets for most of the tours/attractions just as you can on the internet

no direct access to the beach anymore as there's a 6 foot drop, but fairly easy to access by going out the main door, going round the side and straight to the beach

fantastic views from every room (even living room), we got apartments 1301 and 1302. 1301 only had 1 bathroom/toilet though despite having 2 bedrooms

for asians, just remember food portions are huge in general, so if going to Blue Grotto as most pple recommends, go easy on the ordering, 2 servings for 3 people is more than generous, to say the least. my pasta could've fed myself and my 2 kids

Teddar ave is not as near as i'd imagined (esp carrying kids), so be prepared to walk a bit

Room Tip: 1301 had only 1 bathroom (despite having 2 bedrooms), 1302's "master room" gets the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myinsomnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 192 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is our second time at the Golden Sands.
Excellent location and magnificent views, spoils us for anywhere else we stay.
Park next door and surf club within walking distance for meals.
Once again magnificently looked after by the managers Kylie & Graeme.
Had the best nights sleep in a long time, sounds of the waves while drifting off to sleep.
Will stay no where else on the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Thanks very much, a great stay. Friendly helpful staff who couldn't do enough to help us. We asked for a lower level room with aircon and that's what we got. Right on the beach, great parks and playground close by. Loved the location, close to all the theme parks. Only downside is there is no shallow pool for our 4 year old, but the beach is so close it didn't really matter. Pool was nice and warm.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suz220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We absolutely LOVED our week away! We will definately be staying here again. The resident managers were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. The apartment was amazing looking straight down the beach and the decor was beautiful. It had a brand new kitchen and very smart decor. Very welcoming indeed. It is really close to Tedder Avenue and Southport Surf Club + the Marina so you can walk everywhere. You are away from the main centre of Surfers which we loved but only a 15-20 minute walk or a 5 minute drive. The beach is literally at the door!

We look forward to staying there again on our next holiday. Thank you for great week away.

We will be recommending this to all our friends!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 12th Floor and it was amazing for us without the kids. We will request the 1st Flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was an amazing apartment very big with the most incredible views. It was well furnished. It is a very quiet area. The pool and spa are wonderful and there is a lovely bbq area. Parking is great and access easy. The staff were very welcoming.

Room Tip: The corner apartment on the 15h floor with views to beach/sea and north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

A wonderful place to stay close to the beach very clean everything you could need. Kylie and the staff where extremely helpful with booking tours and even helping me fax off documents when needed. Wonderful views of the beaches and beach front location what more could you ask for had a wonderful holiday would stay here again great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The beachfront location was perfect for us as we love Main Beach and Tedder Avenue. The apartment had great views and was well set up. One thing that doesn't quite work is that the beds are on wheels on tiles and they slide around a lot. Our room also had very light window coverings so we were up very early in the mornings. The pool and spa are great - we spent quite a lot of time there.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms on the northern side of the building still have wonderful views, but the balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FESHAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.8 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,000 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
0.1 mi away
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Xanadu Holiday Resort
#1 of 18 in Main Beach
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
1.5 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Holiday Apartments

Address: Golden Sands 3575 Main Beach Pde, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range: $132 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Golden Sands Holiday Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands, modern high rise apartments located on the beach-front in Main Beach, just north of Surfers Paradise. It is simply a superb Gold Coast resort located on the waters edge! There are 1, 2 and 3 bedroom fully self contained apartments. All apartments are tastefully decorated and feature spectacular outlooks from each window. Golden Sands, your perfect Gold Coast resort on Main Beach is one of the rare high rise apartment properties where the beach is your backyard. Your stay at the Golden Sands can be whatever your heart desires. And with fully secure underground parking and key only entry to the building, it's incredibly safe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Sands Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Holiday Apartments Hotel Main Beach
Golden Sands Holiday Apartments Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing