We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
$173
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Palazzo Versace(Main Beach)
$297
$278
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Xanadu Holiday Resort(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
$341
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea World Resort(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
$105
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Waterford on Main Beach(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
$262
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aloha Lane Holiday Apartments(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Norfolk Luxury Beachfront Apartments(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
$291
$244
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Crest Apartments(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
$199
$178
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maldives Resort(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
$197
$132
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oscar On Main(Main Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveler rating
118
51
13
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
118
51
13
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstedder avenuepolished concrete floorsthe gold coastfree standing bathwhite stonesurfers paradiseupdated kitchenmain bedroomsurf clubfloor to ceiling windowsthe managersapartment buildingair conwater pressuredirect beach accessgreat spotundercover parking
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 200 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Holidaying from Melbourne, stayed for 9 nights in a beachfront apartment on the 9th floor during school holidays. Views were unbelievable! The apartment was modern and well laid out, very light and airy and had everything we required, with direct access to the beach and walking distance to Tedder Ave and excellent restaurants - also very close to the 'Worlds' which was handy. Those wonderful views rewarded us with the sighting of a whale - sensational. Some shopping required for our stay (including staples such as toilet paper) which did not bother us at all - these are self-catering apartments after all. The pool was great and the BBQ area looked very nice. We found Management very friendly and helpful. Our only disappointment was the apartment only had 1 bathroom - we had booked on-line at an excellent price and unfortunately missed out on the 2 bed, 2 bath beachfront apartments. Would definitely return and book earlier next time.

Room Tip: Ask for beachfront apartment with two bathrooms, higher than 4th floor
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denman38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We had three nights in a two bedroom unit over the GC marathon weekend. We've previously stayed at Pacific Views across the road but they were after big $$ for this weekend.

Positives are:

- Location - we were on level 15 on the north side so had un-interrupted views up towards the Broadwater. 15 minute walk to the marathon race precinct, also. As others has mentioned, Tedder Ave is only a few minutes stroll and is a world away from the trashy Surfers Paradise area. Beach front, so can't be beaten for beach access, although the route to the beach via the carpark feels like you're emerging from a bunker.

- Spacious - our room had a large lounge room, great for relaxing and also for stretching before our run. Full size mirror on the wall was a bit confronting but did maximise impact of vews. Both bathrooms were very spacious as was the (modernised) kitchen, which was fully-equipped. Only let down in this regard was the balcony, which was smaller than the others in the complex, and would have a tight squeeze if there more than just the two of us.

Did not use the pool or BBQ but they looked nice and clean and inviting.

Not so good:

- Lifts. Would not want to be trying to check out at peak time, as it was, on a Tues morning you needed a good 5 min buffer just to get to reception. Lifts are dated and not confidence inspiring, giving a shudder as they come to a stop.

- Servicing of apartments - missing light bulbs or blown bulbs, minimal toilet paper, stained doona covers.

- Staff were a bit funny - not looking up to say hello when we walked in. We surmised it was so they didn't have to answer any questions. Fair enough, I don't like my job much, either, but it does resonate. We know the GC quite well so didn't need any assistance with where to eat or tours, but as others have mentioned, people new to the GC might like some advice.

Overall - we had a very enjoyable stay on the Goldy. With the views, location and comfortable, spacious apartments, the other stuff can be laughed off I suppose. Not sure we'd stay here again, as there are so many other options, a couple of which we could see from our balcony.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible and not on the street side as there is a bus stop a few metres north of the units, which can be noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Stayed for a long weekend with sister and husband up from Victoria. Great views, spacious rooms, maybe a little tired and in need of some renovating. Reception not very helpful with hints about what was around or directions regarding restaurants or convenience stores, Which you need as there was only one of everything supplied, including one roll toilet paper for a four day stay over. Beaches and pool were excellent and close, weather was great and the air conditioning worked well.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AussieSept2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed at this apartment on the 2nd floor, it was wonderful the views were great, so handy to the beach, away from the hustle and bustle and still within walking distance along the beach or road to the centre of surfers paradise. We found it quiet and very convenient to some of the attractions like seaworld, we had a 2 bedroom with 2 bathrooms so handy with children.
All in all we loved it here, you hardly ever saw anyone else the whole time we were there.
The second time we stayed we were on the 14th floor, Not being one for heights I found the wind against the windows really strong, never felt quite safe up that high, the room was great then and very different from the first room, good value for money, you can get a bargain at times.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank athenry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

This was our second time staying at Golden Sands. The location is fantastic with direct access to the beach and wonderful, uninterrupted views. All the apartments are privately owned, so each has its own character and standard of appointments. Both the apartments we stayed in were very comfortable and nicely decorated with comfortable bedding and plenty of kitchen and entertainment equipment to make the stay very comfortable.
The big drawback here is the management. They are surly to the point of rudeness and clearly stopped enjoying their work some time ago. We were told of some maintenance work near our apartment, only to find a team of painters enjoying coffee and loud music on our balcony when we woke up. When we complained the response was really very aggressive and unfriendly. If you can avoid the management and their strict rules (Basil Fawlty came to mind) this is a great place. Owners: find new management if you want your property to enjoy the reputation it deserves.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beagle2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews