We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management needs replacing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Main Beach Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Management needs replacing”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Location of the park is fantastic. Facilities (pool/bathroom) were ok.

We had a caravan site which we could barely move on. No room for car on the site. Site was only big enough for the caravan. Could not put the awning out as no room.

Woke one morning and couldn't open the caravan door as the someone was sleeping in their car next to us.

Next night we had a tent pitched within a foot of our caravan door. Complained to management who was extremely rude. Attitude was "if you don't like it, leave". Tent was eventually moved a few feet over. Still very cramped and couldn't sit outside the van with our kids as backpackers drinking one our doorstep.

Management does not know how to organise vans on sites. There was a two man tent on a caravan slab site.

Council needs to look at replacing the manager as he does not posses any customer service skills whatsoever.

Very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank SDCJ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgr_main, Manager at Main Beach Tourist Park, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. Our team at Main Beach Tourist Park strives for excellence across all levels and on this instance we clearly let you down and for that we sincerely apologise.

Our boutique park offers a selection of sites with varying sizes / dimensions. As a result of our high occupancy at the time of your booking we had very limited availability.

We were under the impression we had resolved the issue at the time it was brought to our attention. Regrettably, it appears this is not the case and I will personally be in contact with you to discuss your stay in further detail.

We take all feedback very seriously and I can assure you that the comments relating to the onsite manager have been dealt with.

As you mentioned the location of our park is fantastic and we would love the opportunity for you to stay with us again to show you the true experience to be had at Main Beach Tourist Park.
If you chose to do so please email me directly at mgr.main@gctp.com.au

Once again I thank you for your feedback.


Regards


David & Kim Lindsay
Managers
Main Beach Tourist Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    136
    26
    12
    9
See reviews for
222
180
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom villa for one week. It was well appointed but needed a bigger fridge and more basic cooking utensils. Other than that small issue, we found the villa an adequate size for a couple. The staff were friendly and helpful except for the manager who we found to be quite rude and condescending. The park's location is excellent and is only a brisk twenty minute walk to Surfers Paradise. The Southport Surf Lifesaving Club across the road service excellent meals. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubs1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgr_main, Manager at Main Beach Tourist Park, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your time at our park.

We have taken your comments on board in relation to the size of the fridge and the cooking utensils. Generally we have a decent range of basic cooking utensils within the villa and as a result of your feedback I have spoken with Housekeeping to ensure they are checking this inventory each time they are carrying out a departure clean.

Thank you for your comment relating to staff, they love to make our guests feel at home. I’m sorry you did not feel the same way with our on site manager, I will personally address this with him and share you feedback.

We were very pleased to hear that you find our location excellent; we too would have to say we have an enviable location on the Gold Coast.

Again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind Regards

David & Kim Lindsay
Managers
Main Beach Tourist Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

In the midst of high rises sits this little tourist park providing great access to the Gold Coast. Amazed no developer has bought up the land for another high rise as literally steps away from the beach. The staff are really friendly and helpful. We had an ensuite caravan site and the ensuite was clean, modern and roomy. The pool looks fine, bit small but with an amazing beach across the road and miles of beach to choose from no big deal. Was quiet and lovely walking trail across the road along the coast out to spit. More high end restaurants in the area than smaller inexpensive ones unless you head over to surfers it seems.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgr_main, Manager at Main Beach Tourist Park, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our location certainly is amazing.

We agree the walking trails are fantastic! It makes exercising far more enjoyable when you have the stunning beach scenery to admire.

I’m glad our ensuite sites met your expectations; they certainly can make life easier when staying in a Tourist Park.

We hope you will be back to visit us again soon.


Kind Regards


David & Kim Lindsay
Managers
Main Beach Tourist Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had stayed for 3nights to take the kids to theme parks. My daughter was complaining that there was nail clippings on the toilet floor. The mat on the lounge table was so dirty. They will not change linen and towels unless you stay for 8nights. They will only put coffee and sugar sachet on the first day. Unfortunately we ran out of sugar and asked my husband to go to reception and ask for some sugar sachet and the staff was sloppy and refused to give us some. Everything in their shop was so expensive. The free wifi did not even work. I will never recommend you to anyone. We had to pay $557 for 3nights and you had the guts to refused us for some sugar sachet! Greedy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bojocey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgr_main, Manager at Main Beach Tourist Park, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I am sincerely sorry to read that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. We apologise for the couple of housekeeping issues that you've mentioned. This is disappointing and certainly not in line with the high standards that we strive to offer our guests. Although we have stringent measures in place to ensure we afford our guests the highest level of cleanliness, we clearly lapsed on this day. Please be assured that I have addressed these issues with our facility manager who conducts pre-arrival checks to certify the cleaning standards of our housekeepers. We value your feedback and our team will re-visit our procedures to make improvements wherever we can.
Weekly servicing of the self-contained villa accommodation at our Tourist Park, includes linen and towel change, and replenishment of complimentary consumable items. The complimentary sachets of tea, coffee, sugar, milk and bath soaps that we provide, are for the comfort of our guests on their arrival. All villas have their own fully equipped kitchen facility as well as a bbq on the balcony (except studios). Our guests do need to bring their own food items and refreshments.

Our team strives to make our guests feel at home and we're sorry that in this instance you were let down. I have shared your feedback with them and we apologise for not succeeding in this regard.

I wish to thank you for your feedback and offer to personally look after you on a return visit should you so choose. If you would like to contact me please email mgr.main.com.au

Regards

David Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Boga, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have visited the Gold Coast many times this the first time with caravan in tow , we knew the position of the park was close to the beach and Surfers . We where a bit apprehensive about how peaceful it would be , but thoroughly enjoyed ourselves it was very quite most of the time and clean with good facilities . A security guard roamed the grounds at night so you felt secure , the sites where a bit mixed with back packers amongst grey nomads and the back packers could be a bit noisy coming home from the night clubs at night and the operators could have split them up a bit better . I would imagine access in the busy period for the beach could be an issue especially towing a van , that sites where a bit tight for 20' plus vans and drive through sites would have been appreciated .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gertsbigadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

great gardens, pleasant staff and a great location close to all things to do in surfers. really enjoyed our stay... all the ameneties were clean and working and all staff very curteous. only thing i could hope to see is the ensuite caravan sites ensuite to be slightly updated... perhaps having the option to have it cleaned by a cleaner half way though a long stay (9 days) apart from that it was perfect and priced well.

Room Tip: if choosing a caravan site, make sure you request one away from the childrens playground nearby if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a great stay in our two bedroom cabin at Main Beach. The staff were really helpful. I had forgotten to pack my phone charger and the manager came out with the biggest bag of cables I had ever seen. He found a charger and lent it to me without charge for the duration of our stay. We would recommend the park to anyone considering a family holiday on the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,946 reviews
1.7 mi away
Broadwater Tourist Park
Broadwater Tourist Park
#1 of 10 in Southport
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
1.4 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Xanadu Holiday Resort
#1 of 18 in Main Beach
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Beach Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Beach Tourist Park

Property: Main Beach Tourist Park
Address: 3600 Main Beach Pde, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Main Beach Tourist Park 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Main Beach Tourist Park in the heart of the Gold Coast tourist strip and only a two minute drive from Surfers Paradise. Park accommodation is ideal for couples, groups, families and single travellers alike. Options include powered sites for caravans, camper vans or camping, ensuite sites, one, two and three bedroom villas that sleep from two to ten people. If your idea of the perfect holiday is just relaxing at the beach, then Main Beach Tourist Park is the holiday destination for you. It's the ideal central base from which to enjoy all the Gold Coast has to offer, or for just soaking up the sun and taking leisurely beach walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Main Beach Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Beach Tourist Park Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing