We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartment, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment, helpful staff”
Reviewed January 29, 2009

I stayed with my two teenage boys in a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment on the first floor, with a view of the sea, for 8 nights in January. The apartment was very clean and excellently furnished, complete with huge tv with foxtel, leather sofas and a fridge that dispensed ice. I had trouble getting my boys out each day! The staff were very helpful and friendly. Shane spent a great deal of time helping me book theme park trips and transport as well as recommending a great place for a pedicure just around the corner.
It was a short walk to Tedder Ave, a couple of kilometres to Marina Mirage and the bus stop was out the front, just $2.40 to get to Seaworld.
I have no hesitation in recommending Sunbird Beach and I would definitely chose the resort again.

  • Liked — Good quality furnishings, comfortable bed, helpful staff
  • Disliked — no complaints at all
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VickyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    43
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
130
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at this fantatic resort.

Our unit was quite big (we were pleasently surprised) Spacious lounge room with 2 couches, dining table and big screen tv (with foxtel - always a bonus)
Kitchen had everything we needed. (Including dishwasher)

Bed was really compfy and the wardrobe was huge (would love one of those back home)

Airconditioning in all of the rooms and fantastic views of the gold coast buildings, river and the ocean (which was about 50 metres away)

Tedder Ave just a short stroll away, where there was beautiful cafes and restaurants (maybe a bit pricey though)

Shane at reception was just lovely and really helpful with directions and recommendations.

Indoor and outdoor pool, tennis and squash courts, really everything you need at a resort.
Would definetly stay there again.... we highly recommend it

  • Liked — really spacious, had everything we needed
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

This main beach apartment had everything we needed for a break away. Beach 40m away with a patrol tower (red/yellow flags) right in front for swimming, bus-stop 20m down the road, only 10 min by bus to surfers. Southport SLSC is 10 min walk to the north of the apartments, great food, right on the beach and cheap drinks.
Being just outside surfers itself suited us perfectly, close enough for to pop into 'town' for a few hours and come back to our quieter area to chill out.
Great views from the balcony and we could still hear the waves crashing as we went to sleep each night.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J_in_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2005

Understandably our first impression of this hotel was terrible, having travelled for 7 hours to check-in at 1.30am to find our apartment had not been serviced. However, after contacting the hotel manager, we were promptly moved to a clean apartment.

Waking to the view of Main beach and entire gold coast from the 13th floor was one of the most spectacular events of our holiday. A view that we just did not want to look away from.

The 2 bedroom apartment was fitted with a full kitchen, washer, dryer, 2 bathrooms, a lounge area, 6 seater dining table and a lock up cupboard for valuables. Our unit was not equipt with air-conditioning as other apartments were, however, opening the windows and doors, the sea breaze was enough to cool the apartment. The balcony circumferanced the entire front of the apartment, also was a smaller balcony on the main bedroom. We were also supplied with a car parking space at no extra charge.

The hotel also had an outdoor pool, and an indoor pool, spa and sauna. We didn't use these facilities though as the beach was only a 2 minute walk away.

Main Beach was excellent, being not as busy as surrounding beaches such as Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach. Also nearby the hotel was Tredder Ave - with resteraunts, newsagets, convenience stores, bars and bottleshops.

The atmosphere at the Sunbird was most certainly inviting. Managers, staff and fellow guests alike were all very lovely and helpful. I am very pleased to admit that during our entire stay we did not run into one person who displeased us.

We now regret not staying at the Sunbird for longer than we did as it was most definately the best of the 4 hotels we stayed at during our extended holiday. I certainly urge anyone travelling to the Gold Coast to stay at the Sunbird Beach Resort - you wont be dissapointed!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Gladstone265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,945 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Xanadu Holiday Resort
#1 of 18 in Main Beach
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
1.7 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Views Resort
Pacific Views Resort
#7 of 18 in Main Beach
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach

Property: Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach
Address: 3540 Main Beach Pde, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star self-contained beachfront apartments in the heart of Main Beach. Patrolled beach across road. 5 minutes walk to Tedder Avenue with its multitude of award winning restaurants, bars and cafe's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach Hotel Main Beach
Breakfree Sunbird Beach Hotel
Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing