We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is no better place than this!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2012

What can I say but GO, it has everything, fantastic views, great location, peace, staff are a pleasure to meet. The manager Phil and his team will go out of there way for you, if it can be done they will help you. The resort has been very recently refurbed to a very high standard. The pools are wonderful. The sauna is just what you need, we loved the out door BBQ area next to the pool, very clean and functional with heaps of room and light.

The rooms are just great and this comes from a VERY fussy person (me) bright, excellent views from nearly all levels, modern, all the home comforts, and I mean all!

Everything is beautifully clean, flat screen tv etc etc etc etc.... Look we love the place and would not dream of staying anywhere else on the entire Gold Coast, it's 5 mins from all the action but you can't hear a thing other than the waves breaking!

Sea world is just a few mins away, so is the marina and for my shopaholic wife designer shops gallor! Tedder ave, is just round the corner with a local supermarket and great restaurants.

We loved just waking in the morning to the sound of the sea and nothing else, there is also a little cafe just below to get coffee and fresh juice etc.

Oh tennis, the kids lived to have a game during the day ... Squash as well. Parking is easy with a massive underground car park.

This is the good as it gets and what makes it for me is the team that run it are just as good. Keep it up guys, I can tell you when ever we are asked about the GC we say, "there is only one place" sunbird..... It's a just do. See you guys agin in June can't wait to get back.

The Topp family

Room Tip: All great but the higher the better, having said that we have done the ground floor and still got a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Village_Cafe_Rest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SucMat, Director of Sales at Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thankyou for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to you coming again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 222 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

Our weekend spent in Surfers at the Sunbird Beach Resort was wonderful. We had a l2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment facing the beach on the 18th floor (Unit 18B). We were impressed with how spacious the unit was. All aspects of the unit were of a high standard and when we reported an issue with the function of one of the roller blinds, it was repaired almost immediately. We were most impressed. Although we didn't have time to use the facilities of the resort, they are very impressive! There are 2 pools and 2 spas- one outdoor and the other indoors. There is a tennis court and squash court as well as a sauna. Secure parking underneath. If you are an active person or family, it would be just ideal. Its location (on the corner of Marine Parade and Breaker Street) allows ready access to public transport and it is 1 minute away from the beach. The staff are very friendly and very keen to assist with advise on tourist-related issues. I look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: I think that rooms endin in A and B face the beach. C and D rooms face the hinterland. Of course, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narelle50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SucMat, Director of Sales at Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thankyou for your review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Hopefully next time you stay with us you will have time to relax and use all our amazing facilities we have to offer! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We’ve just returned from a very relaxing week at Sunbird. The apartment we stayed in was on the 11th floor and whilst it faced the Hinterland, we had almost 360 degree views. The apartment itself was beautifully decorated with all the comforts of home. It was large, spacious and clean. The staff at the front desk were always helpful and friendly.

The facilities were wonderful with everything newly renovated. Having an indoor pool is a bonus, especially on the two miserable days we had. The kids loved the chance to play tennis and squash for a minimal cost. We could have easily filled every day with beach, pool and tennis or squash with little need to leave Sunbird.

Sunbird is across the road from Breaker Street beach which is patrolled. Tedder Ave is only a 5 minute walk away and if you need to go into Surfers, it’s a 20-25 minute walk or you can catch the bus from virtually outside the door. Marina Mirage is about 20 minutes walk the other direction or a quick bus trip.

If you need to stock up on supplies, there is a 7-11 around the corner with basic supplies or a better stocked supermarket in Tedder Ave. However, both were very expensive. We found it better to shop in Surfers at Coles or you could just as easily drive to Australia Fair, 5 minutes away.

If you don’t have a car, the bus system is fantastic especially if you invest in a Go card on arrival at Coolangatta airport. Buses to Surfers leave from the main road outside Sunbird and buses to Australia Fair leave from Tedder Ave.

The advantage of Main Beach is it’s still central to everything but away from the noise and chaos of Surfers. Breaker Street beach is a quiet little beach and it was easy enough to walk 5 minutes down to Narrow Neck beach if you felt like a change of scenery. Heading North to Southport didn’t appeal as it always looked to be teeming with people.

Definitely a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boyce1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SucMat, Director of Sales at Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thankyou for your fantastic review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

this is one of the best places we have stayed at!clean rooms,nice,and friendly staff,both pools clean and relaxing,not sure about the previous reviewer meant when he mentioned that he didnt want to hang around and relax,we didnt want to leave the resort,when we did leave for a few hours,the kids kept hassling us to hurry up and go back to the resort...the views were perfect,great foxtel(austar)channels,plenty of kitchen space,great utensils for any meal you need them for.big bathroom and ensuite...would definitely recommend to my family,friends,and work colleagues,cant wait to return next august,good luck and best wishes to the staff....Derek and Diana

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deckadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Have just had one week at Sunbird with the family. Good location and accessibility but the apartment and facilities generally are dated and tired. Kitchen was a little grubby and and bathrooms were small. Beds were also small. Apart from great views you just did not want to hang around and relax. Having had the previous week at an apartment in Noosa the contrast could not be greater. Encountered three receptionists - two were pleasant and helpful and one tried her hardest to ignore us. There would have to be many better options

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here 7 years ago and loved it so when we were deciding on our latest family holiday, it was a no brainer. The 2 swimming pools are both heated and with one being indoors it is perfect for winter holidays! The bbq area is fantastic, all modern, clean and new and it looks over the outdoor pool which makes it great for families to stay together while the dad's are cooking the bbq lol! The apartments are spacious and well equipped and all have amazing views, even the hinterland view was spectacular. Foxtel was a bonus too! Location wise you can't beat it, Tedder Ave just 1 block away for all your dining needs, Seaworld just 5 mins up the road, Australia Fair shopping centre 5 mins drive, what more could you want. I wouldn't stay anywhere else on the gold coast as the Sunbird Beach is just perfect! We will most certainly be back again and again and again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sash72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schnappa, Manager at Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

Thank you very much for this positive review. We know that a lot of travellers rely on these reviews and it is good to see that you enjoyed yourself so much. We do work tirelessly to ensure that all who visit our resort have the best possible experience. We have been through two and a half years of refurbishment. The building is looking good, now we can reap the benefits of all the hard work to upgrade our facilities, lifts, heated pools, BBQ and the complete exterior of the building. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

What an awesome place for a family holiday! The apartments are great, with an awesome view and suitable equipped for a family. The pools are fantastic and regardless of the weather our kids were in the indoor pool every day because it was beautiful and warm. The location is excellent with a quick walk to cafes and the beach and a short drive to SeaWorld and MovieWorld which was perfect for us. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaeganF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schnappa, Manager at Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

Its great to get positive reviews. Thankyou we really appreciate it. I will let all staff know that you think they are super and very friendly. Its also good to see that you feel that you got good value for money. Times are difficult at the moment and this is an area that we have been focusing on. The facilities are all new and the 2 bedroom units are pretty comfortable sizewise for mum dad and 2 children. Being over from a patrolled beach is also a bonus. Thanks again.
Phil Trimble
Manager Sunbird Beach Resort.
PS if you mention that you have posted a review (either positive or negative) on Tripadvisor, you will receive one free nights accommodation off your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
0.2 mi away
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Xanadu Holiday Resort
#1 of 18 in Main Beach
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maldives Resort
Maldives Resort
#4 of 5 in Main Beach
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
0.1 mi away
The Crest Apartments
The Crest Apartments
#4 of 18 in Main Beach
223 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach

Address: 3540 Main Beach Pde, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range: $97 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star self-contained beachfront apartments in the heart of Main Beach. Patrolled beach across road. 5 minutes walk to Tedder Avenue with its multitude of award winning restaurants, bars and cafe's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach Hotel Main Beach
Breakfree Sunbird Beach Hotel
Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing