We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 2nd time was even better than the first & we'll be back again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here 7 years ago and loved it so when we were deciding on our latest family holiday, it was a no brainer. The 2 swimming pools are both heated and with one being indoors it is perfect for winter holidays! The bbq area is fantastic, all modern, clean and new and it looks over the outdoor pool which makes it great for families to stay together while the dad's are cooking the bbq lol! The apartments are spacious and well equipped and all have amazing views, even the hinterland view was spectacular. Foxtel was a bonus too! Location wise you can't beat it, Tedder Ave just 1 block away for all your dining needs, Seaworld just 5 mins up the road, Australia Fair shopping centre 5 mins drive, what more could you want. I wouldn't stay anywhere else on the gold coast as the Sunbird Beach is just perfect! We will most certainly be back again and again and again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sash72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schnappa, Manager at Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

Thank you very much for this positive review. We know that a lot of travellers rely on these reviews and it is good to see that you enjoyed yourself so much. We do work tirelessly to ensure that all who visit our resort have the best possible experience. We have been through two and a half years of refurbishment. The building is looking good, now we can reap the benefits of all the hard work to upgrade our facilities, lifts, heated pools, BBQ and the complete exterior of the building. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 208 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

What an awesome place for a family holiday! The apartments are great, with an awesome view and suitable equipped for a family. The pools are fantastic and regardless of the weather our kids were in the indoor pool every day because it was beautiful and warm. The location is excellent with a quick walk to cafes and the beach and a short drive to SeaWorld and MovieWorld which was perfect for us. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaeganF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schnappa, Manager at Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

Its great to get positive reviews. Thankyou we really appreciate it. I will let all staff know that you think they are super and very friendly. Its also good to see that you feel that you got good value for money. Times are difficult at the moment and this is an area that we have been focusing on. The facilities are all new and the 2 bedroom units are pretty comfortable sizewise for mum dad and 2 children. Being over from a patrolled beach is also a bonus. Thanks again.
Phil Trimble
Manager Sunbird Beach Resort.
PS if you mention that you have posted a review (either positive or negative) on Tripadvisor, you will receive one free nights accommodation off your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

really friendly atmosphere, great value, clean modern huge apartment just across the road from the beach. manager & reception staff super helpful & facilities were great.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mochaontoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

The resort is walking distance to the beach. Very relaxing. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment. The rooms are rather small especially the bathroom. Lounge and kitchen is very spacious and balcony as well with good views. Staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudgeCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schnappa, Owner at Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

Thank you for posting this review. We have taken a number of positive steps to improve the areas where you have marked us down. We take pride in areas of hygiene and customer service . Our units are all 2 bedroom apartments and are approximately 150 sq M in size. We believe this is an ideal size apartment for Mum, Dad and 2 Kids especially as we are in close proximity to all Theme Parks. Our new BBQ area is proving to be a big hit and our newly renovated heated indoor and outdoor pools are ideal for swimming all year round.
I have passed your positive comments about our staff onto them. It is good for them to be recognised for their efforts and I appreciate this.
Regards Phil - Manager Sunbird.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Booked into the Sunbird beach apartments because of the location. It is right opposite the beach so the views are breathtaking.

AREA
Great for families/couples/older people. Basically anyone will love it, its in a quieter part of the coast at main beach so on the end closest to Sea World. Not to much in the way of resturants in close walking distance so better for those who are on a driving holiday/hired a car/or are planning to self cater. You could always grab a taxi or catch the bus down to surfers though which is only about 15 mins away by car. There was a 7/11 on the next block though.

POOLS
When we were there they had just reno'ed the pool area so they have an outdoor pool, bbq area, tennis court and then an indoor pool, spa and sauna. The only thing we didnt like was that the spa was only luke warm.

ROOMS
fantastic, recently renovated and had brilliant kitchens with pretty much everything you could need. Laundry facilities came in handy too. Its an older style block so the rooms are large which was great, perfect for a family or group of friends.

would definately recommend to friends and family, it was a great place for a real beach getaway :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pixieloz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Stayed at the Sunbird for 5 days. The facilities were great following renovations, the indoor/outdoor pool were of a good standard.
The bathrooms in the property we had rented were of a high standard however the rest of the property did not match up the lounge looked grubby and the kitchen was tired & dated and really needed some attention.
The views were outstanding for an ocean front room but i would probably look to renting something a little more updated.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcopolo1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Admittedly the building is undergoing renovations. There are 21 floors and only one of the two lifts was operating because the other lift was being updated. There was a triathalon team staying at the time. We were crammed in lifts with bicycles (up to 2 bikes at a time) or we missed a lift altogether. Or the lifts had people bringing their surfboards up. We couldn't use the squash court because all the triathalon gear was stored there. The lifts were filthy inside with grease smeared on the walls and the steel on the doors dirty. The room was ok but a bit tired looking. It stank in the garage with overflowing bins and rubbish placed willy nilly regardless of whether it was recycable or not. Outside the reception area in the visitor's car park there was an awful smell. The tiles in the basement at the lift were filthy and unclean. There are renovations going on here but there's no clean up going on and it looks like no one's managing the place. The manager's dress like they've just come back from the gym or the beach. We had to walk down the stairs because we couldn't get a lift to come and the stairs were filthy. There was litter strewn around near the footpaths. There was noise from other people. We stayed here about 8 years ago and the standard's really dropped off. Even though there are renovations going on, there's no one cleaning up after. The gardens look terrible and the new one going in looks ordinary. Unless the standard improves I wouldn't recommend this place and would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ketut17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Xanadu Holiday Resort
#1 of 18 in Main Beach
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
1.7 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maldives Resort
Maldives Resort
#4 of 5 in Main Beach
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach

Address: 3540 Main Beach Pde, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range: $101 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star self-contained beachfront apartments in the heart of Main Beach. Patrolled beach across road. 5 minutes walk to Tedder Avenue with its multitude of award winning restaurants, bars and cafe's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach Hotel Main Beach
Breakfree Sunbird Beach Hotel
Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing