We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Getaway on Gold Coast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xanadu Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Getaway on Gold Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

My two kids and I recently stayed here during the school holidays. We stayed in a two bedroom "value" apartment in the North Tower.\

From the moment we arrived we were so pleased with our choice to stay at Xanadu. The reception staff were all so welcoming, helpful and responsive. The two bedroom apartment was roomy, with a TV in each room (3 in total), a large ensuite with bath and shower, as well as decent bathroom for the kids. The kitchen was large and well stocked with all the utensils, cutlery, crockery and whitegoods that you could need. I was pleasantly surprised there was even a good sized Bodum for making my plunger coffee.

As I had requested a lower level floor, I was pleased to see my request was actioned and had a great balcony which overlooked the pool and beach.

Location-wise Xanadu is excellent:
- just across one road to the beach
- bus top about 50m from resort which takes you to Seaword or Pacific Fair
- a great café/subway/convenience store on the same block just two minutes walk away
- an easy 5 minute walk to Tedders Avenue were there is a good selection of cafes/restaurants
- an easy 10 minute walk to Gold Coast Highway to catch bus to other these parks such as Movie Wold

The resort facilities are great and well secured with each occupant having a secure fob key for entry to all facilities.

- outside pool was great
- inside pool was great, especially when weather turned a bit cooler
- also the sauna and indoor spa were great
- the gym was a decent size and well equipped
- the tennis courts were easy and cheap to book

I would find it very hard to find any faults with this resort, its facilities or its location. I was just great all round.

Only one small suggestion... perhaps a few softer pillows in the rooms as most were quite firm.

Note: The blanket that was supplied with the main bedroom was so nice, plush and snuggly that I have since ordered my own blanket for my home.

Thanks to everyone at the resort for their hard work in making the resort great.

Room Tip: I would opt for a two bedroom apartment in North Tower as it overlooked the pool and beach, and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ella068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Hi Ella068, thank you for the detailed and complimentary review of your stay at Xanadu! It always inspires and motivates the team to do their best when they see reviews like yours - thank you.

All of what you said about the resort is very accurate and the whole team (including our unit owners) has really worked hard over the past few years to modernise our apartments and complex facilities to a standard our guests expect. We're hoping to make more improvements this year and hope you'll be back to enjoy them one day soon.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Xanadu in the future (we'll have your pillows ready).

Regards
Duncan Manderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    122
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
373
119
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

From before we even arrived at Xanadu our interaction with Karla was impressive. From taking the time to answer all our (many) minor questions to helping us with our perfect choice of room just added to our anticipation of heading off to the Coast for a very much needed break. A seamless check in with both Anne and Karla ensured we didn't want for anything it all just flowed on to giving us that perfect start.

We were located in the North Tower and The Apartment was spacious clean, full Ocean Views, quiet and in all honesty you just couldn't fault it. You have the best of both worlds at Xanadu, a glorious self contained apartment along with all the amenities that one could want in a resort with very easy access to the beach.

Not walking distance from Surfers but an easy drive (to me this is a pro not a con), you have a mini mart pretty much right at your door, numerous restaurants of all standards an easy five minute walk away, the beach just across the road along with the Main Beach Surf Club and Flags for safe swimming. Everything was easy, convenient and to us just spot on.

We played Tennis, enjoyed the grounds, enjoyed our views from the balcony and in the end just loved our weekend away.

Thanks Xanadu and we will be seeing you again sometime soon!

Room Tip: North Tower Views are to out to sea, the spit and over the Broadwater. South Tower Views are out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hi Catz21, thank you for the very flattering review and I'm pleased we were able to provide you with such a memorable holiday experience. Karla and Anne are a huge asset to Xanadu and customer service is our first priority.

We are fortunate to have spacious, modern and well appointed apartments in a beautiful location, directly opposite the beach. Xanadu's location in Main Beach means everything is nearby, either on foot or a short drive.

Thanks again for the fantastic review and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Duncan Manderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moree
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Have stayed many times over the years at Xanadu . Unit was perfect, staff friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend. Very close to the beach with shops and restaurants nearby. Highly recommend Chill restaurant as we'll.

Room Tip: South tower centre is perfect with uninterrupted sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoreeCaptainkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Manager at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hi MoreeCaptainKev, thank you for the complimentary review of your stay at Xanadu. It's great to see our regular guests reviewing our resort. We are mid way through an extensive upgrade project to ensure our apartments maintain a high standard to meet today's expectations. We appreciate your feedback.

We all (including Chill) look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Duncan Manderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Read the other reviews, it's all been said. Great location, family friendly, views, great pools indoor and outdoor, sauna is a good one, easy access to everything, but out of the hustle and bustle of sufferers parasite.

Room Tip: stay up high for views, east tower views over spit and broadwater are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank da_griswalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hi da_griswalds, thank you for the flattering review. We are fortunate to have the 5 star facilities you would normally find in a 'chain brand' hotel. Our location is quiet, yet close to the action if you're into that. Nice play on the 'Surfers' name - very funny.

Hope to see you again one day.

Regards
Duncan Manderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

A great location, close to sea world and the beach but away from surfers. We took a garden view room on the lower floors and were impressed with the layout and amount of room. We had a quick 2 night stay and would've happily extended.

Lovely pools and the large grassed areas were fun for the kids to run around in when not at the beach and parks across the road. They had a ball exploring both the room and the rest of the property.

Staff are great, special thanks to Karla who we spoke to during our stay. Out of interest we checked out some other rooms and they were all good.

We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you've got young kids look at the C type rooms (plans on their website). The balconies are sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Bill A, thanks for the great review. All our apartments are a very similar size (approx 140sqm) and plenty large enough to accommodate a family of 4 or 5 people. Glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves on the lawns and made the most of our facilities.

Please contact us directly for your next visit to get the best possible rates and rooms.

Regards
Duncan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Highly recommend Xanadu

well what can I say the apartment was right up there. Very clean, tidy the views were outstanding. The pool and grounds were flawless.
staff were very polite, friendly and fast check in/out.
Close to shops and cafes underground parking very convenient.
we stayed for 9 nights
thanks so much for making my family welcome :)

Room Tip: 18th floor had the best view facing the ocean and sitting outside to have breakfast was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Debbie E, thank you for the wonderful review! Glad to hear you got to enjoy breakfast on the balcony - right opposite the beach on a calm warm morning is hard to beat. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday and thanks again for the review.

I hope to make it to WA one day! Please contact me directly for your next holiday to the Gold Coast.

Regards
Duncan Manderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom deluxe ocean view apartment in January 2013. The location of Xanadu suited us to a tee. We were not keen on being right in Surfers Paradise but wanted access to shops, restaurants and cafes. Tedder Ave is a a 5 minute walk and has some fabulous restaurants and cafes. We walked into Surfers and it took about 30 minutes (strolling), so still close enough if you like all the action of Surfers. Being on the north side of the Gold Coast allowed for easy access to the highway leading to all the theme parks. Only 20 minutes to Wet n Wild, Movie World and Dreamworld and 5 minutes from Seaworld. A 10 minute drive to Australia Fair (big shopping centre with large supermarkets) or 5 minutes to Tedder Ave if you just need a few things at the convenience store.The apartment location is perfect. 1 minute walk to beach and 5 minutes to the patrolled beach. The Surf club is an excellent place for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very family friendly and right on the beach. The room itself was very nice. Very high quality furnishings and very spacious. The beds were the most comfortable we have had in any hotel/apartment. The kitchen was well appointed but could do with more utensils. We had to buy a set of tongs, but left them there for the next guests. The view was magnificent and we could choose to enjoy the fresh sea air or close the large sliding doors and have the air conditioning on. The rooms were quiet and you barely noticed anyone else around you. Good water pressure in the shower (something I really appreciate). The pools and other facilities were clean and well maintained. The basement is secure for parking (which is free unlike other apartments closer to Surfers) and the complex provided luggage trolleys and shopping trolleys which made it easy to transfer luggage and groceries up to the apartment. Garbage shoots on each floor made it easy to dispose of rubbish. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful. I could not have been happier with our choice of Xanadu and I am normally quite fussy. Would return for sure.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are recently renovated and the ocean view is worth the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roslyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Rosalyn H, wow - what a fabulous review! That is right up there with the best ever reviews on Tripadvisor! We are very flattered to read all the wonderful things you said about our resort, the units (especially the beds), service and location (we're very proud). A lovely review and I hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again one day.

Thanks again and I hope you're able to stay with us again, we'd love to have you back.

Regards
Duncan Manderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
1.1 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
1.5 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
3.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Holiday Resort

Property: Xanadu Holiday Resort
Address: 59 Pacific Street, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Xanadu Holiday Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xanadu Resort is a beachside highrise apartment resort located at the northern end of the Gold Coast. We have a wide selection of uniquely decorated and furnished very large one and two bedroom two bathroom apartments (three per floor) - 140 square meters. Our resort facilities include swimming pools, tennis courts, sauna, spa pools, free car parking and free in-room WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Xanadu Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Holiday Hotel Main Beach
Xanadu Holiday Resort Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing