We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Xanadu, room 123, in late August and it proved to be a perfect choice. The apartment was spacious with magnificent sea views from the living room, kitchen and bedroom. The place was spotless, the staff very pleasant and helpful, and the resort amenities from the pools, barbeques and gym to the reading lounge were well cared for. This little corner of Southport is to be recommended, away from the close-crowded high-rises of Surfers but with lovely beaches and walkways, and the multitude of restaurants and cafes a short walk away in Tedder Avenue.

Xanadu is also an example of the great value for money that can be had, even at the luxury end, with Gold Coast accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Manager at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Martinfield, thank you for the great review and perfect score for Xanadu! This is definitely something the teams works hard for and your review is the acknowledgement we enjoy. Your holiday was perfectly timed with some of the best winter weather on record which always makes a holiday perfect. I hope the NZ spring is gentle on you (I saw the last of the winter cold weather coming your way) and please contact us directly for your next holiday across the 'ditch' - we'd love to see you back.
Regards
Duncan Manderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    123
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
382
121
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Xanadu in late July and have to say it was absolutely beautiful, we got a free room upgrade and a very high floor with stunning views we were whale watching from the balcony. The unit had everything we needed kitchen wise etc. the staff were very helpful and the building was quiet and peaceful, Xanadu is excellent value for money! We have stayed in many resorts around the Gold Coast but we will only ever stay at Xanadu from now onwards, I can honestly give Xanadu a 10/10 (a extremely rare occurrence!)

Room Tip: We got the romance package and requested a high floor, we ended up with a amazing room on the 22nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Manager at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi TrudyH thanks for the perfect score! We appreciate your feedback very much and it means a lot to us and our potential guests. Your comparison to other resorts is very flattering and I hope we can repeat your first experience the next time you stay. It's great that the whales came in close enough to see,, they are quite a sight to behold on a clear calm day when they are not far beyond the surf.

Thank you again for the perfect review and I hope we see you again.

Regards
Duncan Manderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just returned to the uk following a multi stop holiday in Australia, the first of which was at Xanadu. Our experience began well, when having arrived at eight a.m. on a flight from Singapore, they were able to juggle availability and give us immediate access to an apartment. Walking into the apartment to see the view straight out over the beach was a great way to start getting over the jet lag. The staff continued to be very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and this attitude seemed to be consistent through all.

The apartment we had was one of the side units on the fourteenth floor of the tower closest to the beach. It very large, with two good size bedrooms and shower/bathrooms. The living/dining space is as large as I have seen in a holiday apartment and the kitchen well equipped. There are washing and drying facilities in the apartment, very handy after a day at the beach.

The shared facilities were perfect for the family, an outdoor pool, which we braved despite the time of year, an indoor pool and sauna, gym, small games room and library, all great for entertaining the kids and getting some exercise.

The location of the apartments is great, not right in the activity of Surfers (about a kilometre away) but just across the road from the beach and a less than five minute walk to Tedder Avenue with all it's choice of restaurants and local shops. The marina is a very easy walk away and being at the northern end of the Gold Coast meant that it was handy for car journeys to the theme parks/water parks and Tambourine Mountain etc.

All in all, this was a fantastic location to enjoy a week by the beach, in an apartment with ample space for all the family to settle in to a home from home and a really helpful and friendly team of staff. I would highly recommend it if you are planning to stay in the area.

Room Tip: I would guess that apartments in the tower containing reception would have better views of the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Manager at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi Mike G, wow - we all loved your review thank you! A very thorough and well summarized analysis of what we have to offer as a resort and area. We offer the facilities you expect of a 4.5 star holiday resort plus the location ideally nestled between the beach and a very tempting restaurant precinct. Thank you for noticing the staff and the quality service we do our best to provide. The team were very happy to read your review.

Thanks again and I you won't on to find equally enjoyable places to stay on the remainder of your holiday.

Regards
Duncan Manderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife & I had the pleasure of staying at Xanadu recently for 4 weeks. We are in our 70's and have stayed at numerous resorts over many years at the Gold Coast, other parts of Australia & Overseas. We consider that Xanadu rates favourably with the best resorts we have stayed in, and is perfectly located for all amenities including shopping & restaurants. We found that the Managers and Staff were very pleasant & helpful.

Room Tip: Preferably on the North Western aspect of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Manager at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi IanF thank you for the fantastic review of your stay at Xanadu Resort, Main Beach. It was a pleasure to have you for your extended stay and hope to see you again soon. Our units are going through a refurbishment program and it's great to see the resort being transformed. We're very glad to see how much you enjoyed yourselves and please contact us directly for your next visit.
Regards
Duncan Manderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at Xanadu for one week and really enjoyed it. The apartment we had (1br ocean view) was gorgeous, really nicely furnished and with great views. It had everything we needed to be able to cook basic meals and was close to the beach, shops and restaurants. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The only minor downside was that the gym was pretty basic (eg. no free weights) but did have some weight machines, treadmill and rowing machine. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenE64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Manager at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi JenE64 thank you for the great review - you stayed in one of our refurbished units which are very popular. I'm glad to read you enjoyed our proximity to the beach which really is our greatest asset. We have recently upgraded our gym machines and equipment to cater for all types of people. Unfortunately it isn't possible for us keep free weights due to our restricted hours and no trained personnel available to assist. We would love to see you back at Xanadu one day and please, contact me directly for your next visit to the Coast.
Regards
Duncan Manderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My family had a wonderful and relaxing 2-night stay at the Xanadu Resort. The 2BR unit was at 22/F, clean & tidy, with a big balcony and has a fantastic ocean view. The sunrise view was beautiful and unforgettable! The indoor swimming pool facilities (with spa, sauna and a good size heated pool) have been well maintained. We definitely look forward for another enjoyable stay at this resort in the future.

Harris

Room Tip: Book with the resort directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 231Harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Manager at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi 231Harris thank you for the great review of your stay at Xanadu. We really appreciate your feedback and very pleased you enjoyed yourselves during your short stay. Our east facing apartments are perfectly positioned to watch the sun appear over the horizon if you are up early. We are very lucky to be in such a beautiful part of the Gold Coast and I encourage you to contact us directly for your next visit.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Duncan Manderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Xanadu for quite a while and found it to be the perfect location. It has a library, indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, gym, tennis courts, BBQ area, short walk to the Marina or Tedder Ave with its many restaurants and then a slightly longer walk into Surfers along the sea. The apartment was spacious and well laid out, very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Did I mention that its about 1 minutes walk to the beach. I've stayed at a number of locations and Xanadu is by far the best accommodation I have found.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Manager at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hi Peter thank you for the fabulous review of your stay at Xanadu. You clearly enjoyed yourself and made the most of everything on offer which is great to read. Our location and spacious apartments are two of our greatest assets which our guests enjoy very much. Our apartments are undergoing renovations which is also attracting great feedback from new and returning guests.

Thank you once again and I hope we see you again the next time you visit Australia.

Regards
Duncan Manderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
1.1 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
3.6 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Southport
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Holiday Resort

Property: Xanadu Holiday Resort
Address: 59 Pacific St, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Xanadu Holiday Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xanadu Resort is a beachside highrise apartment resort located at the northern end of the Gold Coast. We have a wide selection of uniquely decorated and furnished very large one and two bedroom two bathroom apartments (three per floor) - 140 square meters. Our resort facilities include swimming pools, tennis courts, sauna, spa pools, free car parking and free in-room WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Xanadu Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Holiday Hotel Main Beach
Xanadu Holiday Resort Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing