We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience overall but uncomfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights in February in an ocean view but not a superior room (and not a value room either). The view was lovely, apt was clean and large. Furniture was a bit dated - late 80s/90s. Reception was friendly and kindly let us into the apartment very early at 10am which was wonderful given we had two small children in tow. Loved the location within walking distance of Tedder Ave and close to Sea World. Our only complaint - although a big one - was the bed in the master. The mattress was incredibly old and very uncomfortable. It even had a spring poking out on one side. Given the rate we paid this really is unacceptable. I reported it to reception the day we left and I could tell she was quite embarrassed by that and suggested next time we book a superior room. At the rate we paid, I don't think there should be a such a horrible mattress at all but we would consider returning and upgrading for the location. Based on some other reviews it seems like there are some really great apartments and perhaps we just had bad luck.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allswag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Manager at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Hi Julie thank you for your review and it's great to hear your feedback. I was especially sorry to hear of your bad experience with a mattress. I have since replaced the mattress so nobody else was put through the same experience. I would encourage everyone to raise any concerns at the beginning of their stay so we can act on it early (especially a bed). Thank you for bringing the issue to our attention.
We have been upgrading our units since we took over the business recently and your feedback has been helpful. Please bring this to my attention when you stay with us again and give us the opportunity to make it up you.
Thanks again.
Regards
Duncan Manderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

596 - 602 of 659 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We received a very friendly & informative reception when checking in which is always a great start to a holiday. We stayed in a one bedroom ocean view room where the view was spectacular from the 14th floor. Our unit 43 was spacious and had everything we needed. The facilities were all great, we played tennis, swam in the pool & used the gym. It is just across the road from the beach and very close to Tedder Avenue for groceries, Cafes & Restaurants & many other stores. Highly recommend this Resort and we will be returning again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Manager at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hi JulieS, thank you for your lovely review and it's great to see how much you enjoyed your holiday here. We have a unique location, combined with all the resort facilities and large units, it makes for a comfortable stay for families or couples enjoying a relaxing break We'd love to see you back at Xanadu so please book direct for preferential rates and room choices.
Thanks again
Regards
Duncan Manderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

great place to take the family! couldn't ask for better oceans views, very spacious apartment, fantastic kitchen, great pools one in door one out door and very helpfull staff
close by to shops, beach across the road, theme parks and beautiful restaurants on Tedder Ave
had an amazing time would definitely stay again

Room Tip: ocean view has the best experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Manager at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Hi Leanne thank you for nice review. You clearly enjoyed your stay with us and it's a pleasure to read about it here. We're doing our best to provide the best value resort accommodation and service in Main Beach, so please let us know what we can do make your next stay even better.. Please book direct for the best available rates and room preferences.
Regards
Duncan Manderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The apartment was on the 18th Floor of the North Tower and it was better than we expected. It was luxurious and had excellent views over the ocean. Would definitely stay here again, the only downside was having to pay for internet, but that is a tiny criticsm.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemzauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Manager at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Hi Gemz, thanks for the great review, it is much appreciated! We are working on a faster and cheaper Internet service that alomst everyone is asking for. You clearly enjoyed yourself at Xanadu and hopefully we'll see you again one day. Next time may be just a little better!
Regards
Duncan Manderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Best holiday location. My family have always stayed here and recently I came here with my husband and 7 month old baby. It was terrific just as it was with my family. Great facilities.....if the weather wasn't perfect we just took the nun to the indoor pool and it was great. So close to everything we got in the car twice in 8 days. Beautiful location and views, so peaceful yet so close to all the action I recommend it to people all the time.
Will be back again next year.....wish it was sooner!!

Room Tip: ask for as high up as possible the views are amazing. every room has an ocean view though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Manager at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Hi Amy R, it's great to read your review and how much you and your family enjoyed yourselves at Xanadu. We love seeing guests returning to Xanadu and hearing that they've had a wonderful time again. Xanadu is a favourite for many families especially from Toowoomba and Goondawindi etc. We look forward to welcoming you back agin soon.
Regards
Duncan Manderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our family enjoyed our stay here tremendously. Sea view from the living room and main bedroom is breathtaking. Very central location on Mainbeach and 2 min walk to the beach. Staff extremely helpful and the rooms are very spacious. Very well equipped kitchen and facilities. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with sea view. Worth paying the premium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Manager at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Hi zzmummy, thank you for the great review. It's always a pleasure to read reviews about how our guests have enjoyed their stay and what the especially liked about Xanadu. Many of the rooms have been recently upgraded and although there is a small premium for those rooms everyone seems to think its worth it. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope you able to return again one day.
Regards
Duncan Manderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This area of the Gold Coast is still close to all the action but much quieter and more suitable for families than Surfers Paradise. There are tennis courts and indoor and outdoor pools to keep the kids busy. Easy access to the beach across the road, great views too.It is a 5 minute walk to Tedder Ave which has quality restaurants and a small supermarket. A short 15 minute drive to the theme parks (2 mins to Seaworld). We keep going back (4 or 5 stays).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduManager, Manager at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Hi LisaO thank you writing such a nice review about your stay with us. It's great to see our satisfied guests returning and writing nice reviews bout Xanadu online. I hope you'll return one day and please book directly and let us know your preferences.
See you again soon.
Regards
Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.8 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,046 reviews
1.6 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,500 reviews
3.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
1.5 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Holiday Resort

Address: 59 Pacific St, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range: $133 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Xanadu Holiday Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xanadu Resort is a beachside highrise apartment resort located at the northern end of the Gold Coast. We have a wide selection of uniquely decorated and furnished very large one and two bedroom, two bathroom apartments (three per floor) - 140 square meters. Our resort facilities include swimming pools, tennis courts, sauna, spa pools, free car parking and free in-room WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Xanadu Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Holiday Hotel Main Beach
Xanadu Holiday Resort Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing