We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best feature is the staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea World Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The best feature is the staff!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed on the Cudo deal and were amazed at the service of the staff. We stayed in a deluxe room on the third floor were the view over the pool and water was the main feature. The room is a little run down, but quite comfortable. The main problem was the taps in the room are very hard to adjust and a bit worn.
The Japanese restaurant is exceptional and we had one of the best Japanese meals we have had.
We only had dinner in the buffet restaurant as the breakfast was always packed, even after the school holidays. The breakfast in the café was great, though they do not start until around 8.30am, so it is difficult if you are booked for events or adventures. The best value was the seafood buffet, with plenty of fresh seafood and even excellent desserts. A seafood chowder for the soup would have been preferable to the tomato soup, but this is a very minor point.
The staff are the main feature of the resort. From the concierge desk, to reception, the tour desk and restaurants, as well as housekeeping, they were all EXCEPTIONAL. Nothing was too much of a problem. There were a number of children even though the school holidays were finished.
A number of the parents seem to be in their own world, and just let the children run wild. This makes it hard for other guests as well as the staff. Yet the staff always are courteous and helpful, always with a smile. A special mention is due to Jackson, who continually assisted us and even came to where we were doing Trainer for a Day, to check that all was going well!
The only drawback was the very hot walk outside to the main gate to do the early start for Trainer for a Day. But this ensured we enjoyed the experience even more!

Room Tip: We paid extra for a deluxe garden view room. This was well worth paying the extra due to the top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gone2Dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear OlddogNelsonBay,
It is wonderful to hear that all of our team members were exceptional throughout the Resort. I will also thank Jackson personally for the service he provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,677
    1,472
    616
    238
    168
See reviews for
3,263
258
14
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have stayed at Sea world resort a few times over the last 6 years and have previously enjoyed what I considered a family resort which provided a relaxing holiday for the parents and a fun time for the kids. BUT it has gone downhill and the service Is now very poor. I have noticed the resort has started offering Cudo deals and I think they have dropped the service standard to reflect the price some guests are paying. I did not stay on a cudo deal and paid a high price to stay over the Christmas period. We stayed in one of the refurbished queen view rooms. The new timber floors are much nicer, but the bathroom is still the older marble tiles and a little tired.
The disappointing parts of our stay included poorly cleaned rooms, one day room not made up at all. We rang housekeeping at 6pm to advise them. Oh, we must have missed your room, would you like clean towels? On our first night we realised that double bed sheets had been put on our queen bed and the sheets didn't even reach the foot of the bed. Whilst we bought his to the attention of the housekeeping office our bed was short sheeted again during our stay. You just get sick of complaining after a while and wonder how they cannot notice the sheet is 30cm short of the mattress. There is nowhere in the rooms to hang 4 towels yet the room is sold for 4 people, and definitely nowhere to hang 4 wet pairs of swimmer. Only 3 coat hangers, and only 2 glasses in the room. We had to ring housekeeping and see if they could find us a clothes rack to hang the wet swimmers on and we had to ask for more coat hangers. Some old wire ones were bought for us. There was a foul smell from the bathroom drain. We complained 5 times and kept asking if they could leave some air freshener. They plugged an item into the power point to apparently fix it but we advised it didn't fix the problem and still no air freshener. The ironing board kept collapsing whilst we were trying to iron, which is a real safety hazard as one day the hot iron went flying down with it.
Lining up for 20 minutes at reception to ask a question or get a room key fixed is not ok. We waited for tables at the lobby bar as they won't take bookings, only to see people who arrived well after us given tables in front of us. Just no systems and the staff quite rude, I went up to the bar and asked if we could order after being seated for 15 minutes and no one come near us, I was told to take a seat and wait, they will come and take the orders at the table! I can understand that the staff are upset, they were really busy and clearly didn’t have enough staff. But it is even more frustrating for guets who have paid good money to stay there. We spent half of our time at the hotel, waiting and queuing.
On Christmas day we dined at the Shoreline and paid $160 each for lunch. We waited over 20 minutes to receive our first drinks. The seafood and roast was lovely but you had to line up 10 to 15 minutes to get to each buffet station so a lot of our lunch was spent standing in queues. There was insufficient Christmas pudding and custard. It was all gone before we even went to look what was for dessert. The breakfast in the shoreline was very poor. Bacon was steamed, very fatty and soggy along with poor tea towel hygiene used by the breakfast chef cooking the eggs. And one toaster is not sufficient for 200 people attempting to get some toast with their breakfast. There is no tea or coffee service at the table so once again a queue at the coffee machines, even if you just want a tea you need to line up as no other option for the hot water. Safe to say it was impossible to get a hot meal, buy the time you get to use the toaster the eggs you lined up for are cold or vice versa.
There is no service around the pool anymore, you need to go and order and you are given a buzzer to collect your food and drinks. There were dirty trays of half-finished food and empty drink cups sat there all day. And whilst nearly all the sun loungers had a towel on them no one seemed to be using them.
I know it was peak time, but then the resort should be staffed like peak times. The attitude it's the busy time you just have to wait isn't good enough. A no surprise I had to line up at reception for 25 minutes to pay my bill. For the money you pay to stay hear you can definitely do better, it was really disappointing. The only upside was the easy access to sea world.

Room Tip: If you have kids the ground floor pool side rooms are noisy but convenient. Don't expect to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaW112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Lisa W112,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay with us over the Christmas period. It’s disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy this visit as much as in previous years. In regards to your mention of Cudo, these rates are very comparable to the rates paid with various other options in the marketplace such as our own Privilege Card etc. that have been offered for many years and we would certainly not let anything affect our high level of customer service for any of our guests. Our Housekeeping Manager apologises for the shortcomings in service from her department and will certainly be addressing the team.
Overall we had great feedback in regards to our Christmas Lunch, please accept my apologies that you did not feel the same way. Lisa, we were extremely busy in the Resort during the time that you stayed and inevitably there will be some delays but this should never impact a guest’s enjoyment of their holiday, we never wish for anyone to leave disappointed. Please contact us directly when you wish to return and my Assistant can arrange this for you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We have been staying at Seaworld resort on and off for the past 10 years and i can honestly say after trying a few other places nothing compares. The service is always great nothing is to much trouble for the resort employees and my two kids have always got a smile on there face during the whole holiday. Coming back to the room after a fun day out the kids would laugh and try to guess how there toys would be as room service would always place them sweetly around the room. Just before we left the resort at the end of our holiday the kids were given a dhow bag each just another example of how much seaworld resort understand that the small things count.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear gypsymae,
This is wonderful to hear. Please be assured that I will share this feedback with the rest of team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My friends and I enjoyed our stay at Sea World Resort. The staff in reception were always friendly - especially Kayleen - she was our favourite. The concierge staff were consistently the rudest people in the building. Didn't even help us take our luggage to the taxi on departure. The staff in the buffet breakfast don't tend to communicate with customers but they're fast and efficient - no need for them to be your best friend.

The buffet breakfast was wonderful each morning. Absolutely everything you could have asked for was there. Our room was in a great location - however this was only because we complained that our calls were never answered or returned from them. We had a double deluxe room however there was no sitting space apart from the beds...

The walls are definitely not sound proof. We could hear the toddler in the next room crying at 2am in the morning, and at 4am, and at 6am the child was banging their toys against the wall - we had to yell through the wall that we were trying to sleep.

The cocktails at the bar are quite a reasonable price, however the staff tend to be too occupied in their own business to bother to serve you. The first time I went there were three ladies behind the bar drying glasses and had to wait 5 minutes to be served. The second time a different lady was training a new staff member and I had to wait for her to finish teaching him what she was doing before I could get served...

It is a nice resort that's well done up and a wonderful proximity to Sea World. The down side is that Surfers Paradise is a $20 taxi ride away and approx $80 from the airport. There's a $21 return coach available that can pick you up and drop you off at Movie World/Wet N Wild.

Hatsuhana Japanese Restaurant is definitely worth trying. I had the best Japanese I've ever had at this place! The staff are so lovely and the meal sizes are quite large.

Sea World Resort is a good place to be but not for very long.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We dropped down to the gold coast for an overnight birthday celebration at Sea World resort then spending the day at Sea World. The Resort rooms have recently been re-furb'd, and the four of us were completely comfortable in our ground floor 2x Queen room (Would have been a squeeze if we were staying for more than 2 nights). Really tried hard to get a good rate but they seem to keep their pricing pretty tight. Had breakfast in the resort which was based on a buffet and seems to suit it's demographic. Did feel a bit like a leagues club though. Overall fine for a short stay (Probably best suited for families with kids under 10)

Room Tip: If staying for a couple of days go for ground floor - kids can play/wander.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wills68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Nara Resort was a pleasant surprise. I/we went for a corporate affair and had a fabulous weekend. The rooms were clean, tidy and the beds were conducive to a quiet good night sleep. Its a spacious resort so you can escape any larger groups. The breakfast was good too. An abundance of fresh fruit, good variety of other foods and fresh eggs/omelette. It was busy so you did wait about 15 minutes to get into breakfast, so allow some time. The food for lunch was also nice. The staff were attentive and helpful with the exception of one girl at Reception who had the “no can do” approach but it wasn’t a problem. The best thing about the resort is the close proximity to Sea World, the ability to go in/out in your stay and be close by. The tv did not work though, so their compendium information was not available and there were minor issues in the bathroom, but nothing that spoilt the stay. The tv might have been an issue if staying longer, but we were hardly in the room. The resort has outdoor/indoor areas that shelter you from the weather. The weather was beautiful though, but I we had been about 10 years ago in the rain. Pool areas etc seemed to be large enough to accommodate larger crowds and the pool was a beautiful temperature. It was a lovely time and we would go back again.

Room Tip: Even though our room overlooked the play area, it was really quiet. It was only a standard, so if s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveholidays11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear loveholidays11,
It is great to hear from our Corporate guests and thank you for taking the time to share your guest experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the future for either business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Resort is modern and suited to younger children. Location is isolated if you want to branch out and eat at other locations not just in house which is expensive. The family deal for the Japanese is great value and the service and food is fantastic.
Access to Sea World is easy and the benefit of unlimited entry and and early access is beneficial particularly in peak season where queues are long. Added water area for house guests only with huge slide is a good bonus in summer months and gives another option to pool area.
Rooms don't have toasters and ours didn't have microwave either so no options to prepare any foods. Only crockery was tea cups and teaspoons.
Closest shopping centre is Australia Fair - across the river - not in walking distance, approx $24 cab fare each way. There is a public bus and told fairs range from $3 - $5 per person.
If doing all the theme parks and have limited time not sure this is the best location to stay in for all round convenience. If your focus is Sea world and you don't mind paying the in house prices then its definitely the place to stay.

Room Tip: Best rooms are located facing the river/pool area. Not all rooms are in this orientation some face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bronwyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Bronwyn E,
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately as you point out we do not allow toasters in our Resort rooms in accordance with fire regulations. For a small fee we do hire out microwaves for those guests who require them.
Our nearest shopping centre is actually Marina Mirage which is just over 1km away, you can buy most groceries here that are not available in the Resort Shop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,845 reviews
2.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,573 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
6.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
1,069 reviews
2.5 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Property: Sea World Resort
Address: Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea World Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on a journey of discovery and adventure at the award-winning Sea World Resort. There's so much to explore including an aquatic adventure playground, cuddles with your favourite Nickelodeon characters including the awesome new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and a fun filled Kid's Club. Go on a behind the scenes sneak peek of a dolphin training session with Sea World Resort's exclusive Dolphin Discovery Presentation, free when you stay two nights or more. It's a wonderful experience the kids will never forget. Then join everyone's favourite sponge and his nautical friends in your own underwater adventure at the amazing 'SpongeBob SplashBash' aquatic adventure zone. Your kids will adore the bright and colourful water-play areas themed around SpongeBob SquarePants, Patrick, and Squidward, plus a few jellyfish of course. And just try and keep the kids away from the spectacular nightly light show at the musical water fountain. Home to four restaurants and two bar areas, you'll never have to leave the comfort of the Resort. Dine on at the Shoreline Restaurant and experience an amazing new menu that features live interactive cooking, and enjoy delicious Japanese cuisine at Hatsuhana, all family friendly of course. Plus, spoil the kids with an evening in the Resort's newly upgraded Kids' Club with specially designed Nickelodeon activities and programs that they'll love. Sea World Resort is perfect for your family with direct monorail access to Sea World and family friendly service all with Gold Coast beaches and famous theme parks on your doorstep, not to mention free WIFI around the entire hotel and free in-room broadband. The Resort also offers a host of seasonal water sports, plus massage, beauty and a gym. What will you discover today at Sea World Resort, the heart of fun and adventure? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Hotel Main Beach
Nara Resort Sea World
Sea World Main Beach
Sea World Resort Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing