We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy family resort, but left with a bad taste our mouth!”
Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea World Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have just spent 5 nights at seaworld resort with my family being 3 young children, ages 8, 5 and 4 and also my sisters family ages 9, 7 and 3. The rooms were great, clean and fresh. The resort was very friendly and perfect for young children. The resort has a class of its own, which we enjoyed as it felt like we could breath even though its a family resort, the layout is great, nice and open as we had stayed at Paradise Kids Resort in Surfers for 2 nights and couldnt stand it!!! We loved the pool and the lazer light show at night, however the bucket water playground was out of action for 3 days which was disappointing. We had our breakfast and dinners mostly in The Shore buffet restaurant which was great for children. The Japanese restaurant also was great! We found however in the pool side cafe there isnt enough variety, everything is fried, chips, burger, fried fish, there is no salads, when spending alot of time by the pool you dont want to be loaded down with the color of golden food "fried" all the time, a nice thai salad or something would of been a better preference or fish that is grilled not fried, calamari etc. The kids club was fantastic, our kids kept wanting to go back, the staff is Brilliant, Kellie is a favorite amongst our children, fun and full of energy! The staff also particularly the morning buffet were a great help to our family of 10. The only bad taste in our mouth we left with was my husband and brother in law who arent Australian born, booked 2 jet skis from the resort, when my husband asked if he could leave his shoes at the jet ski shed, the person in charge replied " yes, there are no aboriginals around here"???.. My husband and brother in law were shocked and rather horrified, we all were. I wonder what else this person comments on as there are many nationalities coming through. Our family is multicultural and racism is not acceptable!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lhayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,039 - 4,045 of 4,577 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We chose Sea World through a grab one deal, we looked at the reviews, and lowered our expectations before arrival, We were very satisfied, we stayed on the bottom floor, which was great easy access for the kids to the pool and evening adult time sitting in the closed waterfall cafe, while the kids slept. Defiantly geared up for children, the staff were great and friendly, We only had one meal in house, as Surfers has so much to offer, Sea world resort was satisfactory and what we expected.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Kelvin A,
Thank you for this post, this highlights the reason why I encourage people to understand that the comments they read are peoples personal opinions which can be positive along with negative. We do believe we have a wonderful, friendly Resort here and the majority of our feedback from all avenues is usually very positive. We do listen to our guests as this is how we continue to improve our overall guest experience, it is encouraging to hear that you came with an open mind and thank you also for sharing this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great location which makes access to Seaworld a breeze, the doplhin preentation is a must if interested in the meet and greet with the dolphin book early as these go quick. Room nothing to talk about pretty standard considering it caters for families you would expect the rooms to be a bit bigger. But all in all a great experience for the family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andres V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

don't know what to review about as there is nothing of the positive to review! stay in level 1 of the resort.... the room smells the moment we open the door toilet was dirty... nothing of a comfy feel to the rm at all... lucky they was we are back late for the 2 nights we are there... don even want to stay a moment longer sometimes..... if not for the whale watching package we might not want to stay there!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RnRkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The first time we stayed in the Gold Coast of Australia's Sea World Resort was about 10 years ago with our older child and, frankly, not much seems to have changed in the intervening years. Having said that, we got exactly what we were expecting and our son enjoyed staying in a place that is geared towards young children.

Unlike other reviewers, with only one exception, we thought that the staff throughout the resort were great! On the evening that we stayed in to eat at the (overpriced) seafood buffet, our server kindly agreed to get me a takeaway cup so that I could take my tea out to watch the resort's "Splash Bash" after dinner. As well, our room was kept spotless by the cleaning staff, with a daily service, throughout our stay.

Some tips for taking full advantage of the resort would include: invest in a loyalty card if you are going to eat at the weekend seafood buffet (it virtually pays itself off in a single trip); reserve a photo shoot at the pre-park opening dolphin session, if you want to ensure that your child actually gets to play with the dolphins; shop around for the best deals, we booked through a website called otel.com and saved a lot of money compared to the room prices advertised by the resort itself; bring a portable DVD player and your own DVDs. Oh, and it wouldn't hurt to familiarise yourself with a few Sponge Bob Squarepants songs before your arrival.

Be forewarned that the resort's food and beverages, as well as the in-room pay for view movies, are expensive -- even with kids only being charged at a $1 per year of age for buffet breakfasts and dinners.

Finally, bear in mind that the resort is designed for families with YOUNG children. It is ideal for couples who would like to put their kids into the evening kids club, or whose youngsters still benefit from an afternoon nap (given it's proximity to the Sea World theme park). For teenagers and anyone older, there are probably better options of places to stay on the Gold Coast.

Room Tip: Shop around as you can find sites with room prices lower than those offered directly by the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3passports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We as a group of 4 families had a 5 nights stay in this hotel in 4 separate rooms and all agreed that we experienced the most unprofessional and substandard hotel stay.

There is absolutely NOTHING in this hotel that matches world standard except its price! Its staff are arrogant and lazy. Its place is outdated and dirty. Its facilities are extremely "down to earth".

As soon as we entered the hotel lobby, we immediately felt "what a minimalism design", it probably hasn't been renovated for over 50 years. To check in, we had to queue up for over 20 minutes.

Then as soon as we entered the room, the feeling was "rooms are worse than any serviced apartment on the Gold Coast". Bath in my room is so dirty that small pieces of dirt are sitting in the bath welcoming us. During the whole stay, table tops or furnitures were never wiped so dust has built up to a thick layer by the time we checked out. When looking at the beds, the mattresses all slope in in the middle proving the senior age of these mattresses.

When I picked up our theme park tickets at the Adventure Centre, I queued up there for 30 minutes because there was only 1 staff servicing during this school holiday time.

There are many more occasions of wait in this hotel that I can't all list out. If you have too much time to kill, this would be your best choice.

Despite of the wait, the "wouldn't care less attitude" of the staff is another selling point of the hotel's. Throughout the stay, all the 16 of us agreed that we were not there to be served, we were there to BEG for service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jenferlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lets start with the positive.....great play facilities in the pool area. Our daughter had a ball. And that's about it for the positives.

Let's talk about the negatives: The pool was freezing....and I mean icy cold. Would be great if you could at least take the chill off so the kids aren't shivering/freezing after 15 minutes of swimming.

Staff - never been so disgusted in my life! From the welcoming and then the ongoing service of staff at this resort the whole experience was appalling. Your staff are rude, unfriendly and seem totally uninterested in offering any kind of assistance. I heard a staff member grunt at a family as she walked away from them, your staff were rude to my family and barely cracked a smile at any child. We tried to get information about the kids club and your staff member ignored us. There was no information about anything in the rooms and to ask staff was a challenge. Seriously where is the Australian spirit? It isn't at this resort. A smile goes a long way and your staff should learn to smile...at least at the kids. The staff seem flustered and everything was too much trouble for them.

We had a refurbished room which was nice however it was not cleaned properly at all with cobwebs and spiders in the cupboard.

The water slide at the water park still wasn't working properly and kept breaking down. People were paying to enter the water park purely to use the slide and no one told them it had stopped working. I know one lady wanted to get her money back and I doubt very much that would've happened!

Entry into resort....easy for anyone. Anyone can walk in and use the pool area.

Take this resort and put it in another country I say. For a family resort, you have a lot to learn about children and families, customer service and just plain being nice!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelmumlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,047 reviews
2.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,803 reviews
4.4 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,697 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
3.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Address: Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Price Range: $134 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea World Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on a journey of discovery and adventure at the award-winning Sea World Resort. There's so much to explore including an aquatic adventure playground, cuddles with your favourite Nickelodeon characters including the awesome new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and a fun filled Kid's Club. Go on a behind the scenes sneak peek of a dolphin training session with Sea World Resort's exclusive Dolphin Discovery Presentation, free when you stay two nights or more. It's a wonderful experience the kids will never forget. Then join everyone's favourite sponge and his nautical friends in your own underwater adventure at the amazing 'SpongeBob SplashBash' aquatic adventure zone. Your kids will adore the bright and colourful water-play areas themed around SpongeBob SquarePants, Patrick, and Squidward, plus a few jellyfish of course. And just try and keep the kids away from the spectacular nightly light show at the musical water fountain. Home to four restaurants and two bar areas, you'll never have to leave the comfort of the Resort. Dine on at the Shoreline Restaurant and experience an amazing new menu that features live interactive cooking, and enjoy delicious Japanese cuisine at Hatsuhana, all family friendly of course. Plus, spoil the kids with an evening in the Resort's newly upgraded Kids' Club with specially designed Nickelodeon activities and programs that they'll love. Sea World Resort is perfect for your family with direct monorail access to Sea World and family friendly service all with Gold Coast beaches and famous theme parks on your doorstep, not to mention free WIFI around the entire hotel and free in-room broadband. The Resort also offers a host of seasonal water sports, plus massage, beauty and a gym. What will you discover today at Sea World Resort, the heart of fun and adventure? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Hotel Main Beach
Nara Resort Sea World
Sea World Main Beach
Sea World Resort Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing