We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic resort, family had the best Christmas ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea World Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic resort, family had the best Christmas ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

My family - husband and two sons aged 9 and 11 decided to spend 7 days at the Seaworld Resort which included a VIP pass to unlimited visits to Seaworld, Movie World and Wet and Wild. We arrived a couple of days before Christmas and you could see that the Resort was starting to get busy. Our room was terrific with a view of the water as well as the pool area. The room had comfortable twin beds and was just the right size for us. The bathroom does need to be updated and the water flow in the shower was a mere trickle! We loved the little balcony, it was lovely to have a coffee and sit outside in the mornings. It was so cool to be able to walk in and out of the resort Into Sea World. We spent Christmas Day at the resort as everywhere else was closed. We had the best day! Santa even walked around to say hi and gave the kids candy canes. It did take a while for the cafe to open but when it did we had delicious cocktails and salt and pepper squid and finish and chips - a great Aussie Christmas feast!!! The boys spent all day playing on the awesome slide and swimming in the pool. This facility was wonderful, the lifesavers did a great job and were very friendly. One night we had room service which was reasonably priced but not very impressive. The dinner buffet was ok, also nothing to rave on about, definitely quantity but not all quality. I would recommend hiring a car and trying some of the great local restaurants. Overall we had a wonderful experience, the staff were always helpful and there seems to be talk in my household of spending next Christmas there again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redhat2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear redhat2405,
Thank you for your post and for spending Christmas here with your family. We hope that we can welcome you back the same time next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,646
    1,440
    607
    236
    165
See reviews for
3,204
249
14
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Currently staying at Sea World Resort on the Gold Coast. While the staff are very good and helpful, it is extremely disappointing that after three days the main water park slide has remained closed due to a torn shade cloth which ripped in a storm on Monday. A pretty poor excuse to shut the whole thing down and why does it take three days (nearly four now) to replace some shade cloth at a major theme park?? Also, when we went to go through the guest entrance to the water park from the resort today we found a big chain and padlock on it - no sign or helpful information, just a big chain and lock. So friendly!! Again, just poor for a resort of this standard. Also, the whole water park was closed all day today because it was sprinkling for a while first thing this morning. I think it is just a good excuse to save some money by telling the water park staff not to come in for the day. It is disappointing to spend the money and come to these theme parks only to find multiple facilities "closed" for such weak reasons.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Steven1702,
As you were aware the whole of the East Coast endured heavy rain and wind from the tail end of Cyclone Oswald. Because we are so close to the Ocean, we took a real battering over the Australia Day weekend. We sustained a lot of damage around the park and as you mention particularly to some large shade sail structures. It made some areas too dangerous to open for a couple of days following this as some of the large structures were unsafe and had to be repaired straightaway. I apologise that this caused disruption to your holiday, it was certainly not for us to 'save some money' as mentioned in your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My family won 3 nights at the Sea World resort, courtesy of the Cairns Airport. I looked on tripadvisor before we came and was a little nervous as many people had written negative reivews. How anyone could write a negative review about this resort is beyond me. They must be fusspots of the year. Yes it is "out of the way" but if you're going to spend a few days at the Seaworld theme park, it's just sooooo convenient being able to come home when the children get wet playing and change clothes. The children eat breakfast in the restaurant for their ages, so you pay $8 for an 8yo. We did hire a car for approx $45 a day as airport transfers were going to cost us over $50 each way from the Gold Coast airport, so that allowed us to drive to Movie World and have some dinner at other parts of the Gold Coast. Really really really family friendly. We would definitely PAY to come here again! Great rooms, dry your beach towels on the balcony, wifi, only "complaint" is one day they gave us 3 towels, not 4. Other than that, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Nicole T,
Thank you for your review. Congratulations on winning your stay here at the Resort! It's wonderful to hear that you would like to bring your family back to stay with us. Apologies for not replacing all of your towels as mentioned above.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

After reading some of the reviews it was much better than we expected. How anyone can give Sea World resort a negative comment is beyond us. We had the most fantastic time and the kids (10 & 8) had a ball in the water park and at the 8pm water park light show. We did the 5 night CUDO deal and upgraded to a Studio with kitchenette so we could have breakfast on a budget before our big days at the theme parks. We also made our own lunches to take with us. We used the restaurants in the evening and found them to be quite cost effective with plenty of variety. One highlight you shouldn't miss is the early morning Dolphin show catered for resort guests only. The staff were friendly throughout and couldn't do enough for us. I'm amazed at some of the negative responses because we could not fault Sea World resort. We'll be back next year without doubt.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden wing which had a marina outlook and a small childrens park. It was very peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Ian D,
Thank you so much for your review. It is so good to hear about your wonderful guest experience with us. Our Cudo deal does prove very popular! We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
204 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed 4 nights.Check in quick and pleasant. Rooms OK, not fantastic, need a decent clean around the edges, nice comfortable bed. On returning home at 9pm 1 day to find no one had serviced our room, we went down to reception, and they sent someone up with clean towels, no apology either, very poor service.
Kids area is great, this is the attraction to stay here, nothing else. Food very expensive, $30 for breakfast, far too expensive. No deals on in January they told us, so we ate offsite for all meals. When we booked over the phone in November we were told there are always deals on, so someone is wrong. For that, they didn't get our $$$
If you have a car, there are local restaurants less than 5 minutes down the road, much cheaper. As this resort is along way from town, you do need a car, though we did see a bus stop not far away, not sure on service though. We stayed 4 nights here then moved into town for another 4 nights, which I would suggest doing.
Characters do come into lobby each morning which is great.
Good to be able to go by monorail into the Seaworld Park next door, I would suggest they let guests staying here, entry into the park at least half to 1 hour before public. From our room we could see the staff over there start early, so it's not as if they are not there. Would be nice.
Not to go on rides etc. just to get in.

Room Tip: Depending if you want a lot of noise or not, get room close or furtherest away from pool area. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank male4sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I booked a twin double room (not renovated) for one night for two adults and two children as part of the stay and play deal. The room was perfectly adequate for a one night stay, I would upgrade to a larger renovated room for an extended stay. We used the meal deal for dinner (seafood buffet) and breakfast. This was great value as the buffet was great quality; fresh seafood including oysters and bugs. Breakfast was good, the kids loved the pancake machines. The real value here was the inclusion of two days access to sea world with the room price! It worked out to cheaper to stay at the resort with sea world access than to purchase tickets alone! Our stay was dampened (literally) by horrid weather from the ex cyclone, however we still saw great sea lion and dolphin shows, enjoyed the polar bears and got some rides in. The piano man in the lobby on Saturday night was fantastic. The kids were a little disappointed that the resorts water park was closed but we still enjoyed our stay. All in all it was a great value and enjoyable stay as a family visiting sea world.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mell77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Mell77,
That certainly was a terrible weekend of weather and I am sorry that you had to experience it during your holiday, it must have been very frustrating. Thank you for your kind comments about our Resort. We hope that you get the chance to return during sunnier times to experience the facilities in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was a great place to stay for the family as it was tied in with the Sea World Park, the room was pretty nice, not the best though, but the view from our balcony out to the water park/pool and the sea was amazing! The room was clean and comfortable, but outside where the walk area was leading out to the reception seemed dark and damp and dirty looking. However the staff was great and the dress up characters waiting in the lobby was a great greeting and farewell when we left.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank brendanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear brendanbob,
Thank you for your post. We are pleased to hear that your family enjoyed their time at our Resort and meeting the Nickelodeon characters in the Lobby. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
2.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 11 in Mermaid Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
2.5 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#14 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
2.6 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Property: Sea World Resort
Address: Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea World Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on a journey of discovery and adventure at the award-winning Sea World Resort. There's so much to explore including an aquatic adventure playground, cuddles with your favourite Nickelodeon characters including the awesome new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and a fun filled Kid's Club. Go on a behind the scenes sneak peek of a dolphin training session with Sea World Resort's exclusive Dolphin Discovery Presentation, free when you stay two nights or more. It's a wonderful experience the kids will never forget. Then join everyone's favourite sponge and his nautical friends in your own underwater adventure at the amazing 'SpongeBob SplashBash' aquatic adventure zone. Your kids will adore the bright and colourful water-play areas themed around SpongeBob SquarePants, Patrick, and Squidward, plus a few jellyfish of course. And just try and keep the kids away from the spectacular nightly light show at the musical water fountain. Home to four restaurants and two bar areas, you'll never have to leave the comfort of the Resort. Dine on at the Shoreline Restaurant and experience an amazing new menu that features live interactive cooking, and enjoy delicious Japanese cuisine at Hatsuhana, all family friendly of course. Plus, spoil the kids with an evening in the Resort's newly upgraded Kids' Club with specially designed Nickelodeon activities and programs that they'll love. Sea World Resort is perfect for your family with direct monorail access to Sea World and family friendly service all with Gold Coast beaches and famous theme parks on your doorstep, not to mention free WIFI around the entire hotel and free in-room broadband. The Resort also offers a host of seasonal water sports, plus massage, beauty and a gym. What will you discover today at Sea World Resort, the heart of fun and adventure? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Hotel Main Beach
Nara Resort Sea World
Sea World Main Beach
Sea World Resort Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing