We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Fun”
Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea World Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The exterior of the hotel looks pretty old, and as we were staying for $99 per night (for 4 people, wotif special) we were expecting to be given the older un-refurbished rooms. We were quite pleased with the nice new rooms- very clean and pretty, with the exception of the bathroom, which was a bit old and stuffy. It might be best to bring your own hairdryer as the ones provided are quite cheap and smelt a little funny. But the room itself exceeded our expectations- nice comfy beds, a huge mirror, TV etc. Very happy, especially considering we paid under $25 per person. The resort can get quite noisy, especially during the busier months- we stayed during a quieter period but were still awakened by the room next door.

The dolphin discovery included as part of the stay was short but interesting- not a show with amazing tricks but a something nice to watch in the mornings. Interestingly, they don't check whether you're actually staying there and just let everyone in. The pool is quite nice, and the abundance of cartoon characters near the pool make it great for kids, as well as a nice garden. There's also plenty of parking available which made it quite convenient for us.

Overall, we had a great time and would not hesitate to come back if the deal were available again (though at the normal prices there's probably better options on the Gold Coast).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vondelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear AmyS,
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you got the opportunity to experience one of our refreshed bedrooms and that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We do hope that you get the opportunity to return to the Resort, be it on a wotif special or with other promotions that run throughout the year.
Bikash Randhawa, General Manager Sea World Resort and Water Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,144 - 4,150 of 4,483 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Kids had a great time. Amenities are fabulous. Staff are friendly but a bit slow in responding to requests. I had requested a pool view room but try supposedly "upgraded me" and we were no where the pool, hitch was unconventional when he children wanted snacks I bought with them. Also there is complimentary access to the theme park, even though it is attached.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Pluses:

Deluxe rooms are a great size and are rated to accept four adults.
Microwave and kitchenette in Deluxe room
Exceptionally clean, outstanding housekeeping staff.
Extensive pool/water park includes night time disco light show.
Adjacent to Sea World, monorail at resort door.
Access to dolphin training session in mornings before Seaworld opens (may not be all the time, check before booking)

Drawbacks:

Paper thin doors, I mean REALLY no noise protection from exterior corridor (think screaming kids running past at all hours) and interconnecting doors that block no noise AT ALL! If you are unlucky enough to have someone in the room next door you will hear everything. Next doors crying babies could be in the bed with you!
Huge, busy resort.
Poky massage and beauty treatment area that smelled strongly of incense.
Boring daggy kids club area
Expensive Room rate
Expensive meals and unless you have a car nowhere else to eat.
Very remote to access anything but Seaworld.


If you are a family with kids aged between about 4 and 12 this may be a good choice for you.
Otherwise for the same cost as a room here without meals you would be able to book an upmarket 2 bedroom centrally located apartment AND a hire car to take the family around the attractions (including Seaworld)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is NOT interconnecting unless you don't mind noise. Deluxe rooms are lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3littlepigsgotroppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear 3littlepigsgotroppo,
We do believe there are great benefits to staying over at Sea World Resort as opposed to other options. All guests who stay for two nights or longer get an exclusive Dolphin Discovery Presentation. There are Nickelodeon Character appearances every morning in the Lobby, which the children love. We also have our Splash Bash water play area which has a nightly laser light show for everyone to enjoy. In regards to room noise. I think this is every hotels biggest battle and I apologise if you felt that other rooms disturbed your night’s sleep. I will endeavour to see what other steps we can take to prevent this from happening.
Bikash Randhawa, General Manager Sea World Resort and Water Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Absolutely excellent holiday and resort............everything was perfect, room was excellent for the amount of time spent there, food fantastic, facilities great.........plenty for kids to do.......we were able to hire a car and park it at the resort, visiting sea world before it opened and feeding the animals was a huge plus, able to do dolphin swim when you wanted, plenty of choice for activities and things to do from the resort and through sea world!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed last week for one night with a group. After a mix up with the rooms, the safe did not work and the air con was noisy and temperamental. By comparison to SeaWorld in Florida, it is way below standards and especially at the price of a room. The food was average, with only limited options for a vegetarian. I asked for a bowl of pasta at the buffet dinner and was presented by a rather rude chef who made it seem that it was out of her way to cook me some pasta. (there is a sign saying to go to the chef for pasta orders). Finally, we spent the morning at the pool (waited for the resort water park to open but apparently opens at 11am..) and came back to our rooms half an hour before check out, to find the cleaners had already started!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cam4502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear cam4502,
I have sent you a message to see what room you were in so that I can get the air con and safe checked. It’s upsetting to hear about the lack of customer care taken by the chef in our Restaurant. Please be assured that I will speak to them. We do try and accommodate all food requests be it for vegetarians or food allergy sufferers. I am sorry that we failed to deliver on this occasion. I must also apologise for the Housekeeping department presuming that you had already checked out.
Bikash Randhawa, General Manager Sea World Resort and Water Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

after reading alot of reviews we were a lil worried about staying here.we had a 5 night voucher we bought here in nz ,and paid a lil bit extra to upgrade the room ,so we were quite happy with the room we had .sure it was redecorated and lil dated but still looked okay and to be honest you dont go on holiday to stay in your room.we had 2 double beds so lil small for mum and dad in 1 but 3 yr old loved her bed.think it would be lil crowded with 4 tho.the staff were helpful and we did like walking around the resort .the pool area was the big hit for our girl and the light show ,different pool areas water park and big bucket ,slides,and other areas were awesome on hot days.the cafe was pricey ,but we tried the mcds down the road and really when you all pile in the car, park and buy your food its actually alot easier to get a pizza from the cafe and relax without having to leave the resort.we had a 2 for 1 voucher for the shoreline restaurant for dinner which was good for breakfast as 27.50 pp is a lil steep but for 2 of us and a child under 4 is free so 27.50 for the family was the best and easiest option for us.you have everything you need to keep you going through the day,heaps of fruit,cereals,eggs also cooked to how you want ,pancakes aswell as the rest you would expect from a buffett.dinner mon- thurs is different themes and 55 per head so again 2 for 1 comes in handy.fri-sun however isnt worth it,the seafood is lil bland and waterlogged so tasteless and not really worth the 75pp they charge when really there isnt that much extra seafood when you have the normal priced mon-fri.theres a mcds down the road at the shopping centre aswell as hoggsbreathe and ribs and rumps which for 75pp would be a better dinner option.also remember there are alot of families and young kids aswell so dinner will not be a romantic one as we saw alot of couples leave early ,but when you have kids you know that dinner is either really good ,or grizzly or a nightmare!haha so maybe for couples you may want to go late or into town.we enjoyed the resort as we relaxed after a few days of being in town and shopping ,walking and doing the tourist things.up in the morning ,big brekie down to the pool and chill for the day,take in the dolphin show if you want at seaworld which is a lil walk through the shop ,or catch the monorail which stops there aswell,we had included tickets so just cruised in and out when we wanted to seaworld which we found to be the best for a lil girl who was too lil to do the big rides at dreamworld .its a comfortable resort,clean,sure some bits are dated but they are doing it up,rooms are for sleeping,not living in ,and dinner is good on the mon-thurs ,but fri-sat overated .most important thing is make sure you have a car ,its a fair hike to town and saw so many people walking exhausted to the resort from the shopping centre .all in all its a place where if you relax youll enjoy,but if you let things get to you you wont enjoy it.

Room Tip: if you can upgrade ,do it,make sure you have a good meal deal,2 for 1 would be the best,realise the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kboosdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear kboosdad,
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you felt breakfast was good value and managed to keep your family going all day. It is upsetting to hear however that you didn’t enjoy the Seafood Buffet and I apologise for that. It is usually our most popular night.
We are about a 15 minute walk from Marina Mirage; as you state there are many facilities there for guests to enjoy. It’s great to hear that you children enjoyed the facilities at the Resort and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Bikash Randhawa, General Manager Sea World Resort and Water Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed at Seaworld Nara Resort with the Cudo voucher 5 nights for $800 deal. It has been mostly a dissapointing experience. I had an impression that this place was of the highest quality but the only thing 4 star is the lobby. The room was average with beds that were rather uncomfortable, the sheets didnt get changed, on the balcony paint is peeling with bolts sticking out of the walls, there was also quite a big gap between the wall and the balcony railing that I did not feel safe with my 1 year old near. On our fourth night the lights stopped working, rang reception who said they would get someone to fix it immediately but no one came, we had to ask the maintenance personnel directly to get something done about it. Took an excited five year old to see the light show at the pool area only to be told that there were technical difficulties and it wouldn't be running. That in itself could be excused if it wasn't added to the fact that the only good ride for kids in Seaworld, the vikings revenge flume ride, wasn't working either not once but twice on two separate occasions, another dissapointing moment for the kids. Another issue was the card key would not activate the gate nearest our room and we had to walk all the way around to the next one. There was not enough information available on hand in rooms about the hotel and things going on so you need to either guess or ask reception. It also says no smoking in the rooms, but every time we were on the balcony all we could small was smoke! I really am glad we didnt pay full price. Seaworld itself was only average and not worth the money to have unlimited access to.
I will say though that the sponge bob splash area was very good and the kids both had a lot of fun there during the day. Overall the accommodation was ok, comfortable, great hot water / showers, but did not live up to the reputation that is claimed about Nara resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Matthew S,
It’s disappointing to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations. We never wish for guests to leave our Resort disappointed. There have been a few ride disruptions just recently at Sea World due to the construction of their new and exciting ride. I would always advise our guests to check the website for rides experiencing down time. There are a lot of other attractions at Sea World such as the marine creatures etc. They have also just had some baby penguins born which are wonderful to see waddling around. I am glad that your family enjoyed our Splash Bash area.
Bikash Randhawa, General Manager Sea World Resort and Water Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,000 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,751 reviews
4.4 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Address: Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range: $175 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea World Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on a journey of discovery and adventure at the award-winning Sea World Resort. There's so much to explore including an aquatic adventure playground, cuddles with your favourite Nickelodeon characters including the awesome new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and a fun filled Kid's Club. Go on a behind the scenes sneak peek of a dolphin training session with Sea World Resort's exclusive Dolphin Discovery Presentation, free when you stay two nights or more. It's a wonderful experience the kids will never forget. Then join everyone's favourite sponge and his nautical friends in your own underwater adventure at the amazing 'SpongeBob SplashBash' aquatic adventure zone. Your kids will adore the bright and colourful water-play areas themed around SpongeBob SquarePants, Patrick, and Squidward, plus a few jellyfish of course. And just try and keep the kids away from the spectacular nightly light show at the musical water fountain. Home to four restaurants and two bar areas, you'll never have to leave the comfort of the Resort. Dine on at the Shoreline Restaurant and experience an amazing new menu that features live interactive cooking, and enjoy delicious Japanese cuisine at Hatsuhana, all family friendly of course. Plus, spoil the kids with an evening in the Resort's newly upgraded Kids' Club with specially designed Nickelodeon activities and programs that they'll love. Sea World Resort is perfect for your family with direct monorail access to Sea World and family friendly service all with Gold Coast beaches and famous theme parks on your doorstep, not to mention free WIFI around the entire hotel and free in-room broadband. The Resort also offers a host of seasonal water sports, plus massage, beauty and a gym. What will you discover today at Sea World Resort, the heart of fun and adventure? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Hotel Main Beach
Nara Resort Sea World
Sea World Main Beach
Sea World Resort Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing