We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort.”
Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea World Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family resort.”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Very nice. Located centrally to everything 40 mins away from Coollangatta Domestic Airport. Lots of things to do free dolphin interaction for stayers of more than two nights. Seashore restaurant is great for seafood lovers or if your a buffet kind of family otherwise might be a tad expensive. Very friendly service. Shopping centre very close with McDonalds for the kids.
Despite the cost I would say its great experience for the whole family. I would very much recommend its just - bring lots of money cause everything is expensive (ie. one show bag $29.95, one in-house movie $15).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ardeegomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Ardeegomez,
As you mention we do have a themed buffet in our Shoreline Restaurant which changes daily. We do offer an alternative menu in our Lobby Bar and also our Japanese Teppanyaki Restaurant Hatsuhana has a great menu with many different options too. I am pleased to hear that you received very friendly service from our team here at Resort.
Bikash Randhawa, General Manager Sea World Resort and Water Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,712
    1,506
    626
    240
    175
See reviews for
3,341
263
15
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with my mum and kids in September 2012. We bought the internet deal for 1 night which included Seaworld entry the day we arrived and the day we left. Checkin was easy, staff polite and helpful. Room was not huge but very comfortable and we were only there for 1 night. Amazing value as to buy the tickets for just one day would have cost $270 so much better value to stay for $298. Room was spotless and we had a great view of the kids water playground and the light show in the evening. Room service was good value and nice food. We ordered breakfast as well which was a great start to the day. Take your kids here and you will not see them all day !!! Would stay again without doubt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singlewith2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear singlewith2kids,
It’s great to hear that you thought your package was great value. We have some excellent deals currently that include entry to the parks. Happy kids = happy Mum!
Bikash Randhawa, General Manager Sea World Resort and Water Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Loved our stay here. Booked on Cudo deal which was a real bargain...on accomodation, entry to seaworld, and dining at the Shoreline Restuarant! Definately look out for these!! We have 2 kids, 3 and 6, and it was perfectly suited to them. They loved the pool and waterslide area within the resort. The light show at 8pm with the water fountains looked so much fun, but they were so exhausted by the days activities we didn't make it! The staff were really friendly, and our room, a studio room in the Bay wing (we did upgrade from the original resort room) was new, quiet and serviced daily. It had a small kitchenette (microwave, bar fridge, bowls/plates and cutlery) which was handy (but no toaster!). We had two double beds which was a bit squishy but we managed. I requested a ground floor room, this was good as I didn't have to worry about my 3 year old climbing the balcony. And they could run around outside with me watching.
Loved the Shoreline Restaurant- buffet every night with a different theme. Food was really good and as it was a family enviroment, I could relax without worrying too much about the kids, well, being kids!
Really convenient being right next to seaworld, could just walk home when we were tired. And we could get in right at the entry time and beat the crowds for a while.
If the Cudo deal comes up again will definately be returning!!

Room Tip: Bay wing studio room was quiet and had a small kitchenette, which was handy.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelgator123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Jacinta P,
Thank you for your post. Our Cudo deal was definitely an excellent bargain. It’s great to hear that your family enjoyed our safe and friendly environment. I hope you managed to buy the deal again this week! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the future.
Bikash Randhawa, General Manager Sea World Resort and Water Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Was hoping to book family (of 6) holiday outside of peak periods using 2 vouchers bought on cudo. Just so happens the only family rooms available cost an extra $200 on top of price paid, no further availability of the "standard room" until after vouchers runout. I know the vouchers were popular, but just because something is refurbished, which hopefully all should be on that way, making them the norm. Sounds like extortion to me, now have to go through cudo to get money back. Disappointed, almost as much as the kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Family-Ashlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hello Family Ashlee
I understand our Online Sales Manager has messaged you direct to contact her regarding redeeming your Cudo vouchers, so please check your Trip Advisor messages or call the resort. We pride ourselves on no one needing to get refunded as long as they have some flexibility with dates so we'll do our utmost to ensure you get to use your vouchers. Your family will have a fantastic time and we look forward to welcoming you to the resort soon.
Kind regards
Bikash Randhawa
Sea World Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Seaworld Resort seems to get mixed reports on trip advisor and I guess it depends on the room you receive. We stayed in a studio room and were very happy with its quality and comfort. Everyone was helpful and we had a great time. My son absolutely loved everything -especially the fact you could walk into Seaworld or even better- get on at your own monorail stop.

We had the stay and play package, so though we only had one night we were able to go into Seaworld from when we checked in at lunchtime on the first day. They made the ticket valid for 2 days. So this was excellent value for us because we didn't go to any other theme park so didn't have a combined ticket.

We didn't have the breakfast but took the cheap option of buying boxes of cereal and milk from the hotel shop. They also had other supplies like bread.

We would definitely go here again and with our package we consider it good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear limlib,
Thank you for taking to the time to share your experiences here on Tripadvisor. It’s great to hear that you and your son enjoyed your time at the Resort at that you considered your stay to be of good value. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Bikash Randhawa, General Manager Sea World Resort and Water Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed with the Cudo deal for 5 nights in a family room. You have access to Sea World in the package which was great, unfortunately the monorail only came every 20 mins, makes it hard to entertain littlies for a long time. Would be better at shorter time intervals.

We loved Sea World, having characters at 9am for the kids to meet in the foyer is great! Staff were ok. Housekeeping were awesome, we had such a lovely lady clean our room everyday. She even placed our kids teddies on their beds everyday once she made the bed. Its always the little things.

The only HUGE downside was not being able to take a toaster or other cooking facilities into the room. The fine was $1800 if you were caught with any other items. They offer a deal to eat in their restaurant for breakfast and dinner which we thought was pretty good, however one visit for dinner and we vowed never to return. It was terrible to say the least, all on offer for kids was nuggets n chips, the vegetables were cold and the other food had been sitting for such a long time it did not look appealing at all! It cost us close to $100 just for two adults. If they improved the cooking facilities so you are able to have breakfast at least or even a few bbq areas where you could cook a few sausages etc would improve the resort in a big way.

Probably won't rush back, better off staying at a fully equipped apartment down the road and getting some VIP passes from Myfun for the parks. Overall, a little disappointed :(

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Michelle H,
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that the children enjoyed their time at the Resort. I just wanted to reply to a couple of your points. The fine is if you set off the fire alarm, not if you are ‘caught’ with cooking equipment, this is a charge given to us from the Fire Service if they have to attend possible false alarms. We are in fact a Resort Hotel and do not advertise ourselves as having self catering facilities. In saying that I am very disappointed to hear that your experience in the Shoreline Restaurant was not up to our usual standard. I have highlighted this to the team for the future enjoyment of our guests. We have just introduced discounted meal deals for our in house guests as we are aware of the ever increasing pressure on families budgets when they are on holiday. We always like to hear feedback from our guests so thank you once again.
Bikash Randhawa, General Manager Sea World Resort and Water Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel is walking distance to sea world which is awesome! The monorail comes straight to the front door and takes you around the park. Which is a lot of fun as we have 3 little girls. As far as the rooms go, I would say are average! Unfortunately we have to travel during the school holidays and I feel the price that was charged for 4 nights was very expensive for what we received! $2700.00 yes $2700.00 for 4 nights! Sure we had 2 inter-conecting rooms but this did not include breakfast :( . We travel a fair bit overseas and I would have to say that travel in Australia is so expensive that its no wonder we travel,overseas! The resort itself has great facilities for kids, ESP the pools! The movies however in the room cost $15.95 each!! Again cost is excessive !! Overseas it's about $6.00 -$8.00 the restaurant was average too ! I ordered Caesar salad which was so so!! I guess all in all the hotel is average and the cost is high!! Can't say I'd rush back anytime soon!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solarmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear solarmaster,
It’s disappointing to hear that you wouldn’t rush back to the Resort. It is very difficult for us to be able to compete with overseas Resorts. Particularly with the Australian dollar being so strong at the moment. It’s good to hear that your family enjoyed the pools and being so close to Sea World, which is a great family experience.
Bikash Randhawa, General Manager Sea World Resort and Water Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
2.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
2.5 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
6.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Property: Sea World Resort
Address: Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea World Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on a journey of discovery and adventure at the award-winning Sea World Resort. There's so much to explore including an aquatic adventure playground, cuddles with your favourite Nickelodeon characters including the awesome new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and a fun filled Kid's Club. Go on a behind the scenes sneak peek of a dolphin training session with Sea World Resort's exclusive Dolphin Discovery Presentation, free when you stay two nights or more. It's a wonderful experience the kids will never forget. Then join everyone's favourite sponge and his nautical friends in your own underwater adventure at the amazing 'SpongeBob SplashBash' aquatic adventure zone. Your kids will adore the bright and colourful water-play areas themed around SpongeBob SquarePants, Patrick, and Squidward, plus a few jellyfish of course. And just try and keep the kids away from the spectacular nightly light show at the musical water fountain. Home to four restaurants and two bar areas, you'll never have to leave the comfort of the Resort. Dine on at the Shoreline Restaurant and experience an amazing new menu that features live interactive cooking, and enjoy delicious Japanese cuisine at Hatsuhana, all family friendly of course. Plus, spoil the kids with an evening in the Resort's newly upgraded Kids' Club with specially designed Nickelodeon activities and programs that they'll love. Sea World Resort is perfect for your family with direct monorail access to Sea World and family friendly service all with Gold Coast beaches and famous theme parks on your doorstep, not to mention free WIFI around the entire hotel and free in-room broadband. The Resort also offers a host of seasonal water sports, plus massage, beauty and a gym. What will you discover today at Sea World Resort, the heart of fun and adventure? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Hotel Main Beach
Nara Resort Sea World
Sea World Main Beach
Sea World Resort Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing