We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Resort !!”
Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea World Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Westernaustralia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb Resort !!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at Seaworld Resort with our son and his very young family. right from the moment we drew up in the car the staff were so polite and attentive. The check in was easy and the staff very friendly. the resort is spotlessly clean and bright. The gardens are very well kept and the water play area for children and adults is very good indeed.
They serve the best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. The room we had was in the garden wing with two Queen size beds in it. The bathroom had a shower over the bath and toiletries and fresh towels each day were provided and also there was a hair dryer. Our room was on the ground floor and very quiet considering the Hotel was full with families.
The access into Sea World was an absolute bonus for us as we are passionate about Dolphins. Something that they offer more than most Hotels is free parking which is to be commended by them, most Hotels charge you parking and this adds significantly to the cost of a holiday. If you are travelling as a couple or with children Sea World is excellent.

Room Tip: If travelling with young children I would ask if you could have a studio room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,794
    1,555
    644
    244
    180
See reviews for
3,474
274
15
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This "resort" is really in need of an overhaul. It looks like it's not had anything done to it since 1976.

We were unfortunate to receive rooms that sounded like a helicopter due to vibrations coming from the bathroom door when it were closed, due to the air exhaust in the bathroom. The maintenance guy said he couldn't do anything, and the reception wouldn't give us any other room, as they "didn't have any other available". Will not stay there ever again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iampivot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel itself is quite average and the walls are very thin. Its mildly enjoyable to visit as an adult but the kids definitely enjoy the water park and the proximity to sea world makes it very convenient. Its a 15 minute walk or 2 minute drive down to some good restaurants at marina mirage. The dining at the resort was a little pricey so the options down the road were really good. Thankfully the room had a decent view of the broadwater, without that, the experience would have been less enjoyable. If planning to visit sea world i'd stay here with the admission packages, I wouldn't stay here if not planning to visit sea world.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raatzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the years but were disappointed in the room. It seriously needs an upgrade, the beds are old, the furnishings haven't changed in the last 16 years and the food is still way over priced. The check in desk is seriously under staffed with queues of people lined up for service on the morning we checked out. The new water playground is amazing, maybe that money would have been better spent on the rooms. We only stayed here because of the ticket deal to seaworld. Unfortunately most of the attractions were closed the day we went. This resort needs the owners to address all the problems that people have continually written about and the managers need to implement more staff and cheaper food prices. I feel Seaworld resort is only catering to its Japanese visitors and locals are being forgotten about.

Room Tip: Ask if any rooms have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nedkellie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This resort caters for families in lots of ways. From the Sponge Bob light show to the treasure hunt around the resort. Unfortunetly due to it being winter, we could not take advantage of the pool. Got a great two for one breakfast deal and really enjoyed the food.
Only 3 hitches, long walk to our room from reception, long wait for check out and the father yelling at his kids to have breakfast in the next room to ours. But can't really blame that on the resort.

Room Tip: As for a room close to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyhelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time here! The resteraunt was fantastic the staff were friendly. Our kids loves the pool and loved getting a picture taken with character such as patrick from sponge bob each morning.
I had a lovely massage there.

In the room the beds were comfortable and the water pressure fantastic.

The only thing that I think could have been improved was the information book in the room. There wasn't many details about anything and we had to either search online or ask the conserge for things such as when the pool was open or where to wash our clothes.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austmumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, NSW
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Loved the Lagoon pools and Spongebob water park on arrival to cool off as it was an unusually warm day in may. Studio room with kitchenette was great, as too expensive to eat dinner in reaturant or cafe but did enjoy buffet breakfast meal deal on Mother's Day morning. Room was clean and comfortable but had little sleep due to party at next door coast guard building and babies in rooms either side. McDonald's at Marina Mirage down the road good for the children's dinner but no-where close by after 6pm to buy fish & chips for adults. Main Beach restaurants were way to expensive for our families. If you book a studio room take something to heat up in microwave to save fuss.
Main purpose for staying at resort was deal included for cheap entry and easy access to Seaworld. It was great to come and go and not have to lug stuff around Seaw orld all day.

Room Tip: Rooms on side closest to resort are apparently quieter BYO food if you're on a tight budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,946 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
2.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,641 reviews
5.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,797 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Property: Sea World Resort
Address: Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea World Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on a journey of discovery and adventure at the award-winning Sea World Resort. There's so much to explore including an aquatic adventure playground, cuddles with your favourite Nickelodeon characters including the awesome new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and a fun filled Kid's Club. Go on a behind the scenes sneak peek of a dolphin training session with Sea World Resort's exclusive Dolphin Discovery Presentation, free when you stay two nights or more. It's a wonderful experience the kids will never forget. Then join everyone's favourite sponge and his nautical friends in your own underwater adventure at the amazing 'SpongeBob SplashBash' aquatic adventure zone. Your kids will adore the bright and colourful water-play areas themed around SpongeBob SquarePants, Patrick, and Squidward, plus a few jellyfish of course. And just try and keep the kids away from the spectacular nightly light show at the musical water fountain. Home to four restaurants and two bar areas, you'll never have to leave the comfort of the Resort. Dine on at the Shoreline Restaurant and experience an amazing new menu that features live interactive cooking, and enjoy delicious Japanese cuisine at Hatsuhana, all family friendly of course. Plus, spoil the kids with an evening in the Resort's newly upgraded Kids' Club with specially designed Nickelodeon activities and programs that they'll love. Sea World Resort is perfect for your family with direct monorail access to Sea World and family friendly service all with Gold Coast beaches and famous theme parks on your doorstep, not to mention free WIFI around the entire hotel and free in-room broadband. The Resort also offers a host of seasonal water sports, plus massage, beauty and a gym. What will you discover today at Sea World Resort, the heart of fun and adventure? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Hotel Main Beach
Nara Resort Sea World
Sea World Main Beach
Sea World Resort Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing