We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip- conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights 3 days for business conference. Breakfast on site was great nice selections available. Conference facilities are very good the food served during the day eg morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea was lovely. Good restaurants for evening meals within walking distance. Nice bar in the lobby area for after work drinks. Plenty of undercover parking. Good experience overall.

Room Tip: I had a garden room on the ground floor which meant I could have the doors open it was away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Hi Susan

It was good to have you with us for your stay in January, and we are so glad you enjoyed our conference facilities and services, and our location and the resort overall.

We look forward to your return, and hope this will be sooner rather than later.

For the moment….many thanks for taking the time to review your Sheraton Mirage experience.

Warmly
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

Enjoyed our stay here on a business conference. Staff were great food was good. Location is excellent. Rooms were recently renovated by the look and were quality and clean. Everything you would expect in a Sheraton. Resort is quite spread out so a lot of walking, but enjoyably so. Easy wheelchair access dispite this and had no issues getting around with a person in a chair.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davemc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Hi Dave

Gold Coasters have been wonderful in their support of our resort since we opened in 1987, and we were delighted to have you with us for your October conference stay. Thank you for reviewing your Sheraton Mirage experience so positively.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back as a patron or guest sometime soon.

With warm regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Went to check in and wow I stood there and took in the view instead, it's the only hotel with beach front access. Do urself a favour and get beach views, we got the lagoon room which was very nice and spaciousnes too though and our 2 yo had plenty of room to play and go look outside at lagoon on doorstep. Bed was oh so comfy. Bath was big enough for her to swim in. Cupboard was also big enough for her to make a bed in it and make it her reading nook. Restaurants and shops near by. Totally rec.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with beach views or lagoon rooms...I think...I was happy with our lagoon on a cur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsandmrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Mrs & Mr J

Thanks so much for your wonderful review and for choosing Sheraton Mirage for what appears to have been quite a special family stay.

We’re delighted you enjoyed your Lagoon accommodation, and agree also that Ocean category (level 2) or Ocean Premium (level 3) accommodation is particularly special with its view across the beach to the beautiful Pacific.

We all hope you will return to us before too long…perhaps for a stay in a beachfront room next time?

Warmly
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by staff who quickly collected our luggage, advised me of how our Car would fit into car park if we removed the Aerial which he did himself, Reception Manager was very friendly and processed us very efficiently, our room was ready early which was a bonus. Pool was in need of repairs to tiles and with a little effort would bring it up to World class standard. Room was clean, beds very comfortable, only complaint was mould on ceilings in Shower. We had a Buffet Dinner which lived up to expectations. Overall we had a most enjoyable time and would definitely come back and hopefully by then the minor issues I mentioned would have been rectified.

Room Tip: Ground Floor Lagoon Rooms have a nice little outdoor area to sit and enjoy the views and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear John

Thank you for your review on your family stay in April.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience, and are pleased to advise our Oasis Pool will be undergoing an upgrade at the end of the month.

Looking forward to welcoming you all back when you are next travelling again to the amazing Gold Coast.

Warmest wishes
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed here for four nights in February this year. I was overall impressed with the hotel, apart from the attitude of the pool bar staff that actually closed early on two occasions when there were in excess of 25 people each day sitting around the pool. It was only when a major international band were around the pool and wanted the bar open that they re-opned. Closing the bar at 3:30pm in the middle of summer is a joke as people want to sit around the pool and have a drink when on holiday..

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Inspired2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying with us in February with your family, and for taking the time to recently post a review on your Sheraton Mirage experience.

Whilst delighted you were impressed with our resort overall, we extend our sincere apologies for your experience at Oasis as a 3.30 pm closure of the Bar is definitely not in keeping with our Summer operating hours. If you could spare a little more time to contact Peter Elakis (our Executive Assistant Manager) on 07 5577 0112, this would be very much appreciated, and would enable Peter to follow up to better understand just what happened over the period of your stay.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family on a return visit, and thank you again for your review and your gift of feedback.

Warmly
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed 10 nights in January school holidays, in a Garden Terrace room for $412/night. This review takes price into consideration and compares with other competitively similar hotels.

HOTEL ENTRANCE / LOBBY

WOW! The grand, ultra-contemporary style indoor-outdoor entrance is striking - like something out of a Vogue photo-shoot. Our expectations were now set quite high for the rest of the experience.

The lobby staff were well trained and up to the standard you come to expect of a Sheraton hotel.

The porters were also well trained but definitely went more of an extra mile than the lobby staff, and came across more authentic with their Queensland [warm & friendly] personality shining through their well trained responses.

ACCOMMODATION

Nothing to write home about - pretty standard 4-5* hotel chain decor, but beginning to get tired at the edges; thumbs up on water pressure in the shower though.

We were 'upsold' the garden terrace when we initially asked for a pool access room but were disappointed with it as it was not a well manicured garden area and was only the size of a small balcony. The pool access rooms were a lot better [nb: they aren't directly into the main pool but rather a little private wading pool that runs around the property] and with the heat, it would have been nice to just dip into the water whilst reading a book ...so I'm not sure how this was the "better option". I tried to change it but they had unsurprisingly sold out.

The cleaners were always smiling and friendly and did a good job at maintaining the rooms.

POOL / POOL BAR

A lovely heated pool with a swim up bar (which sadly had VERY slow service, which you don't expect from a 5 star resort at >$400/night). Staff seemed distracted in their own conversation, and seemed more in tune with Jamaica / Bali time. They were friendly enough though.

The biggest issue with the pool is the early morning Towel Reservation protocol that seemed to take place - unless you were up early enough and happy to join in with this, it was very hard to get seats together. The sad thing is that most of the lounges remained unused for the entire day, but, unlike other 5*s I've stayed in - the pool grounds staff did nothing to enforce their 'no towel reservation' policy.

THE BEACH

Just a few feet away from the pool and you're directly onto a beautiful patrolled sandy surf beach. This is a major plus for the Sheraton Resort.

THE "TERRACE" RESTAURANT

We had the buffet breakfast and buffet dinner in the Terrace restaurant each day. The quality and variety of food available was good - catering for all needs (roasts, salads, soups, fried foods, sushi, fresh seafood incl oysters, salmon, prawns, crabs, sashimi, etc).

Service (with reception to one bubbly young girl) was the worst I'd ever experienced at a hotel in this category: consistently v-e-r-y slow (for example, I didn't receive the wine I ordered on arrival until we finished the meal; I didn't receive the coffee I ordered at breakfast at all) and the staff seemed very unhappy in general. To be honest I felt like they were significantly understaffed and therefore completely overworked, resulting in this poor service level - management really should monitor this more effectively (first and foremost to improve staff satisfaction).

We were also treated as completely new guests every day we were there - it was quite bizarre as a couple of the restaurant desk staff who greeted us there every morning and night for ten nights, would ask us EVERY night (including the last night), if we were staying at the hotel?! (we did find it quite amusing but not in a way that hotel management would like!).

WHAT'S ON

Other than the sub standard levels of service, this was the biggest issue with staying at Sheraton Mirage for us, and is the main reason we would not be back [even if service levels improved].

Given it was the main summer holiday for kids (with accommodation prices reflecting this), there absolutely zip all to do in the evening. As a result there were kids aimlessly wandering around looking completely bored and trying to make up games. It would not have taken very much fore Sheraton to have put on some live entertainment in the evening around by the pool ....just like they did for the private corporate groups staying at the hotel [which meant that half the pool area was closed off on two afternoon, to enable them to construct the party area!!]. On the nights where this private entertaining was happening, it was interesting to see how many families came out by the pool to catch a glimpse of what they were missing - it summed up just how non-eventful Sheraton is for families as soon as the sun goes down! The only places to go in the evening were the bars in the hotel, but these are not at all kid friendly (not even for tweens/teens) and were full of corporate groups making it feel like you were gate-crashing an after hours corporate meeting.

Outside of Sheraton there is also very little to do in the evenings, unless you grab a cab into Surfers. There is a Hogs Breath Cafe in the car-park beside the shopping centre opposite Sheraton but this didn't really appeal to us.

IN SUMMARY

GREAT FOR: corporate stays; people looking for a lazy pool & beach stay without evening entertainment
NOT GREAT FOR: families with under 18s, wanting to be entertained or socialise when the sun goes down.

TIP: go to Tedder Avenue for a great little upmarket village vibe with outdoor dining galore - we all fell in love with the place!

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are great for keeping cool in the hotter months (they access a separate private pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenBewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Jen

Our team appreciates the time you have taken to provide such a detailed and insightful review of your family stay here at Sheraton Mirage in January, and this has been shared with all associates.

Whilst pleased to hear of your positive service experiences, particularly with regards our Porte Cochere associates, we apologise for the service lapses you encountered at the Oasis Pool and Terraces, and for the issues you experienced regarding Pool Lounge availability. We annually review our Peak Season operations and the comments you have provided around areas where we definitely needed to do better have been discussed and carefully reviewed. As a team we will work together to ensure improvements in these areas right throughout the year, including the extremely busy holiday seasons.

We are grateful also for your Room Tip which gives us the opportunity to clarify our Lagoon Room category; this popular accommodation does provides access to an outdoor terrace to sit by the lagoons, however our lagoons are a water feature only here at Sheraton Mirage. and not accessible for swimming or paddling.

Jen, many thanks again for the gift of feedback you have very kindly provided via this TripAdvisor review, and for choosing our resort for your January visit to the Gold Coast. We do hope you all enjoyed very special family time together over your long stay.

With warm regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have stayed here over 20 times and love the location and the renovation is great. Our first night dinner at The Oyster Bar was adequate in terms of food but the two staff allocated to wait on tables, one of whom normally worked poolside, were not able to provide 5 star service. It was a disappointing start to our 5 day stay but following the provision of feedback there was a sincere apology and two free cocktails. Another two free liquers on the last night when cocktails took 30 minutes to get to us so the service overall while friendly was not up to scratch and it wasn't simply a matter of Easter crowds. The standards of the hotel dining seemed to have slipped a bit as well but the stay was relaxing and enjoyable. Will certainly go back but would consider eating elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Anything that you can see the sea from
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RossY415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Ross

Thank you for the time you have taken to post another TripAdvisor review on our resort, together with providing feedback via our on line survey and whilst you were in residence. This is very kind of you and as a valued and regular supporter, your impressions and insights are especially appreciated.

We regret and sincerely apologise for the service lapses you encountered on your most recent visit, and naturally were very concerned to read your comments on our dining standards. Peter Elakis (our Executive Assistant Manager who spoke with you during your stay) is undertaking further follow up with our Executive Chef and with the Food and Beverage team, and we hope you will give our restaurants and bars another chance in the future.

More positively, I am delighted that overall this visit was a relaxing and enjoyable break over Easter.

Ross, we look forward to your return, and thank you both again for your loyalty to our resort, and to Starwood.

With warm regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,000 reviews
2.4 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,316 reviews
4.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,326 reviews
1.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,752 reviews
4.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast

Address: 71 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range: $220 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by sparkling lagoons and tropical gardens. The Gold Coast's only five star resort to offer an absolute beachfront location. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Resort And Spa
Sheraton Mirage Hotel Main Beach
Sheraton Main Beach
Main Beach Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing