We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for relaxing weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel for relaxing weekend away”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Yes it's an 80's hotel with a refurb but a lovely refurb at that. The rooms are a good size, ours had a lagoon lookout with a little table and chairs to sit outside and admire the gardens. Unfortunately the lagoon itself was a disappointing feature as it was worn and not maintained or updated to the same standard as everything else, though maybe this is still to come. The service from all staff from reception to concierge to bar/ restaurant was fantastic and efficient. The pool was a perfect temperature and there were plenty of sun lounges to choose from. The buffet breakfast was great and up there with other 5 star hotels I have stayed at. We had massages at the spa and again they were right up there with the best of massages I have had. We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for my birthday and was pleasantly surprised to open a knock at the door to find a chocolate cake had been delivered, a very thoughtful touch! I like the location, right on the beach and away from Surfers itself. The marina mirage is a very quiet shopping centre across the road and has a Max Brenner chocolate bar (yummm!) and Glass restaurant where we had an amazing seafood dinner. The only areas I thought could be improved were for the lagoon to be maintained to a higher standard, wifi should be free across the whole resort, and as a number of others have commented the food and drink prices were exorbitant (hence my rating of 4 stars, not 5) eg $9.50 for a 1.5 litre bottle of still water, $18.50 for a cocktail

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisaj373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide such valuable insight into your experience. I am pleased to advise that the restoration of the inner lagoon surface is still ahead of us and plans are currently underway to ensure our beautiful lagoons are restored to the their glorious former condition. I will be sure to pass on your very positive feedback to the rest of the resort departments. I will also communicate with the Golden Door your wonderful feedback regarding the massages that you experienced. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again soon.

Warm regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    469
    133
    43
    37
See reviews for
397
534
54
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We've stayed here many times - its one of the few locations on the gold coast where you can get a relaxing resort experience.

Rooms have been recently modernized and h hounds and facilities are all of a great standard.

Staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Restaurant has one of the best buffet breakfasts I've had and the seafood buffet dinner is equally high standard.

Great location with Marina Mirage shopping centre across the road and sea world a 10 minute walk.

Only negatives are very expensive food and beverages and the location on the far northern end of the gold coast so quite a taxi fare fom the airport.

In the '80s this place would have been absolute heaven - it might have aged a bit over the years but still makes for a great weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnecpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I was most pleased to learn that you experienced such a relaxing visit to the resort. In particular, your comments regarding our signature restaurant, Terraces was very much in line with the feedback provided by most guests. Our breakfast has always been a loved aspect of our guest’s stay and it is always nice to wander around the boutiques at Marina Mirage after a great start to the morning. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope you can return during the week for what we think is a different experience again.

Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night only and it was like being "in another world"
The room rate was only $220.00 with full breakfast so it was an absolute bargain in Paradise
The staff were good to us and we will certainly go back this year..very handy to Sea World,Marina Mirage Shops, bus stop at front door into Surfers ,Tweed Heads or Robina, Sanctuary cove via Southport.
Children are accepted with pleasure also. You feel at home in this spacious hotel with ocean views. The buffet is the best on the Coast. loved it.

Room Tip: not a garden view room ,all others would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardiman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I love your comments regarding “Another World” as this is how we feel every day when we have the pleasure of coming to work. Our staff are our greatest asset and so I was pleased to hear your comments about them. Terraces restaurant has always been a very much loved restaurant by guests and locals too. If you are travelling with children be sure to also visit the Southport Parklands for one of the best children’s activity play grounds in Queensland, if not Australia with the large jumping pillow and rock pools. Thanks again for sharing the gift of your feedback with us.

Warm regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just spent our 10th wedding anniversary at Sheraton Mirage. It was lovely and we will be back for sure!! Our room was standard although very large and accommodating room 3045. It over looked lagoon area which is in desperate need of clean and re-tile or resurface?! Very unattractive. Pool area is fabulous water temp is perfect and warm. Bar staff helpful. Pool food is a rip off better eating in room BYO storing in fridge. We went across the road everyday for breaky in the plaza shopping mall. Great shops and yummy food and cafe restaurants to choose from.
I love the Providore deli it was lovely and fresh organic foods. Highly recommend. There was also a lovely family run Itslian restaurant out on the Main Street right near the bridge where you cross over to the Marina shopping complex. All in all I will definitely be back to Sheraton Mirage!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for taking the time to share your views on the resort and also the surrounding areas. There is so much on offer in the neighbourhood. We apologise for the current look of the lagoon surface and to clarify, the bottom surface has deteriorated quite recently and plans are currently underway to restore our signature lagoons to their pristine condition. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort the next time you are in the area.

Yours sincerely,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
5,255 reviews
387 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,872 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Have been many times and this was one of our better times. It didn't start too well as an earlier guest with my name had taken our pre-assigned room but the management resolved it well and all was good.
Although it is still a long walk to the rooms, the carpets seem to have been changed, the lobby and corridors look refreshed and the rooms have everything. I love the pool for an early swim and the breakfast is varied and substantial.
The only downside is that the beach seems to have disappeared but I can't blame the Sheraton for the erosion problems.
It is also well located being close to Seaworld, the Marina and some excellent restaurants at Tedder Street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Ron,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent visit. Thank you also for allowing our team the time to resolve the above mentioned issue to your satisfaction. As you know it is how a hotel responds when there is an issue that truly tests the quality of the establishment. I trust you enjoyed the long drive home and we look forward to seeing you next time you are heading north.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I stay at this hotel for my birthday weekend and there's nothing to fault about this hotel.
I got an amazing room on the ground floor so didn't have to wait for the lift (which did take a while when we had to use it to take us to the Carpark)
Great views.
Close to Seaworld.
Opposite to the marina and fish markets.
I would definitely recommend people to stay at this hotel. In fact we are holding our company conference at this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi Jess,

It was wonderful that you chose to celebrate your Birthday at our resort. Thank you for travelling up from Sydney for this special occasion, and for writing such a glowing review on your stay. We especially liked your description of our amazing location and views which had never been quite described in that way before!

Our team looks forward to welcoming you back for your company conference.

Warm regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I spent 2 nights at this property attending a trade show being held at a nearby hotel. I arrived late afternoon, early evening and the welcome by the front desk was warm and friendly. The porter service was fantastic and I walked with him to my room. Whilst walking he gave me a run down on all the facilities of the resort. The hotel has recently been refurbished and the room was fresh, clean and beautifully presented. It was also huge. I ate in on both nights and the room service was excellent. On both occasions my food was delivered within 15 minutes of placing the order. Although my orders were simple fare, the quality was very good. More importantly it was very hot.
My one complaint of the hotel was the price charged for food and drinks. Although my company was footing the bill, I felt that $30.00 for a basic steak sandwich was just a little too steep, especially when and $8.00 room service fee is added to the bill.

Room Tip: Eat at restaurants outside the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Tones,

We appreciate you choosing to stay at Sheraton Mirage for the trade show you attended at the resort last month, and for the time you have taken to review your experience in such detail.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back when you are next planning a trip to the Gold Coast.

Warmly,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,919 reviews
2.4 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,122 reviews
1.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
4.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,820 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast

Property: Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Address: 71 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by sparkling lagoons and tropical gardens. The Gold Coast's only five star resort to offer an absolute beachfront location. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Resort And Spa
Sheraton Mirage Hotel Main Beach
Sheraton Main Beach
Main Beach Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing