We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated, but feels half done”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel several times in the past few years, and while the bedroom renovations have been money well spent, it still feels half done. The bathrooms haven't been brought up to a better standard - spa baths feel dated.

The rest of the hotel just isn't up to international resort standard for the price point of the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pokerfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Senior Reviewer

Thank you for staying here at Sheraton Mirage for your recent business trip to the Gold Coast.

The response to our $26m refurbishment has, for the most part, been exceptionally positive, and your thoughts and feedback are noted and also very much appreciated.

We hope you will return when your travel plans next bring you back to the Gold Coast, and thank you for your past support.

Warm regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,342 - 1,348 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed for six nights at the start of march on booking I requested a king bed only to be given a room with two doubles on check in. The room itself was nice but nothing overly amazing, The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom clean Housekeeping did an amazing job everyday we stayed. We found that there was not a lot separating guests from visitors as you did not need a key to access any part of the hotel expect for your room door! When trying to sleep of a night I was woken on and off by people talking in the corridor as the doors are paper thin and every noise clearly heard. Car park was full all weekend making it hard to find a free space as you don't get a space allocated first in best dressed. Pool was lovely and pool bar opened offering food and drinks making it easy to stay there all day. We had a really nice holiday and we would go back and stay again but only at a special rate don't think full price is worth paying.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ran2630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Ran

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mirage for your recent visit to the Gold Coast, and for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. The detail you have included is appreciated, and your feedback will be well utilised in our ongoing review of resort operations.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you both back in the future.

Warm wishes
Mark

PS I have recently returned from a trip to Hobart to visit friends and loved being back in your city, further to my time there at the then Sheraton Hobart in the early 90s. Hobart and that SE corner of Tassie is truly a most beautiful part of Australia (and the World)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Disappointing.

Stayed for 3 days. The Foyer area and vista across the resort is very nice, in fact this is the main drawcard of the Hotel. My room was average size with a comfortable bed and a very small
bathroom. Pleasant outlook over the lagoon, but when you opened the windows to look out the
wooden railings outside were filthy and in need of a clean.
The buffet breakfast offers a large range of standard fare for $42! Unfortunately I encountered a rather rude staff member in this Section, which riled me enough to write to Management, and
todate I have still not received the courtesy of a reply. I noticed another solo traveller from
Switzerzland complained on Trip Adviser about the Restaurant service, and the Manger did not
reply until 4 months later. There appears to be a lot of Maintenace work going on around the
Hotel, scaffolding on the big windows, marble floor being torn up in 2 different areas, and the
lagoon is in need of a repaint. Furniture in my room was chipped, and in the hallway there was a very mouldy smell of damp carpet. ( Maybe that's why the aircon was on freezing.)
The young staff are friendly but inexperienced, and again like another reviewer, could not mix a
good cocktail. But across the road at the Versace they sure can.
This is not a 5 Star establishment. As a solo traveller who paid $275 a night I was disappointed.

Room Tip: I think to ask which are the larger rooms, and by the lagoon looked nice. Ocean side and corner cat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Candy

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay via this post on TripAdvisor. I am contacting you as the manager with responsibility for Food and Beverage here in the resort.

We apologise for failing to provide you with the five star experience we aim to extend to each and every one of our guests, and also for the lack of response, thus far, to your communication to Management. In following up with our Executive Assistant, and in reviewing my own correspondence, I do not believe we have received your communication in either the office of our General Manager, or the Food & Beverage Office. Accordingly, I would appreciate if you could contact Sharon Hartridge here at the resort (07 5591 0873) so we can obtain more details, and follow up and respond to you in a timely manner.

Our sincere apologies again for your disappointment with your stay here at Sheraton Mirage. We look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards
Peter

Peter Elakis
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

- fantastic room. spacious, mordern, large window with comfy rectangle chair. super comfortable bed, bathroom spacious with spa bath.
- staff extremely friendly and helpful
- large pool with bar located inside and hotel steps within beach.
- restauarnt food / breakfast was AMAZING. delicious!
- would definately return.
- only critisicm would be no complimentary internet/wifi access in rooms. spa experience was gd but a little rushed, they could improve service there. as we experienced bad wthr would be good if they created an entertainment room with fuseball, pingpong, cards table etc
- other than that, extremely satisfied with stay & would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: we had a garden view room on top level (3rd floor) with a spa. it was very spacious, modern & th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mons11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Hi Mons

Thanks so much for posting on your recent stay with your partner. We are delighted you enjoyed your Spa Studio accommodation, and the resort overall, for this Gold Coast break. Your insights and feedback – which is being shared with The Golden Door Spa & Health Club – are really appreciated, and we look forward to your return….hopefully before too long….and hopefully during sunnier weather.

Warm wishes
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel we where excited. The conceirge was very friendly and helpful. Check in was very efficient we arrived early to maximise our stay was told check in was at 3. Went back to reception at five to three and told our room was still not ready. We did receive two complimentary drinks for our hassle though. Fifteen minutes later we received a phone call to say our room was ready. After collecting our key we entered our room a corner spa room on the second floor it was very spacious and decorated beautifully. Was very disappointed though when I went to the window to check our view and saw a huge skip bin full of rubbish. This is not one of the 3 views mentioned on the website. We went out for dinner and when we got back to our room there was no turn down service done (our friends staying with us received one). Decided to have a spa since we had paid extra to have one and was very disappointed there was only 3 jets and in my opinion they were not positioned for optimium benefits ie in your back. After a good night sleep we went down for the buffet breakfast which is one of the best I have come across. The staff at breakfast were great and very attentative. Late checkout of 12 allowed us to not feel rushed and we could enjoy our breakfast. Pool area is great with plenty of sun beds. Would come back again but would not bother with a spa room and make sure I get a better view.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M2clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Contributor

Thank you for coming to stay with us here at Sheraton Mirage, and for posting your first TripAdvisor review on our resort. The time you took to complete an in room comment card is also appreciated.

We are pleased you positively reviewed many aspects of your stay, however, do sincerely regret your disappointment with your room allocation. Our Spa Studio Rooms are located throughout the resort, and when the hotel is completely full – which was the situation during your overnight visit – it is necessary to utilise the small number of Spa Studio Rooms which, I agree, are not in a preferred location. As outlined on our website, this category of room is characterized by its room features ie oversized and with spa, not on the actual view. Notwithstanding that, I completely understand your comments and your disappointment and regret that this has impacted so negatively on your stay that you felt your experience was not a five star one.

For future reference, our categories which are characterized by their view or aspect are Ocean Premium or Ocean for ocean views, Lagoon for ground level accommodation onto a water feature, and Garden Terrace being ground level onto grass.

Our team here looks forward to your return visit, and we thank you again for the time you have taken to review your first Sheraton Mirage stay and provide the gift of feedback. Your guest profile has been updated with regards this visit (including your request for turndown service), and be assured, we will do everything possible to ensure a memorable five star experience when you return.

With warm regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Great location and fantastic food and service.
Rooms and bathroom very spacious.
Highly recommend will be back for sure.
Close to shopping centre where you can purchase all your needs.
The carpark needs a bit more signage but otherwise this place is hard to fault.
Beach was closed due to weather but the pool did the job, water was about 29º
Good local shops cafes/ restaurants nearby in Tedder street which is a good break from the busy cavill Avenue in the heart of surfers.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Gerry

Thank you for choosing our beautiful resort for your recent visit to the Coast, and for your five star review. This is so appreciated, and we hope to see you back on a return stay sometime soon.

Warmly
Mark

PS We are currently reviewing plans for an upgrade of our Carpark, including signage. Apologies for any challenges this caused you during your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We spent a VERY wet weekend at the Sheraton Mirage at Main Beach on the Gold Coast. Now you woule expect a wet weekend on the beach to be a real let down but it was probably the most relaxing weekend we have had for some time. Although the beach has been storm damaged the walking path along the beach is in great shape and great for taking the family for a bicycle ride or a long stroll. The new fitout of the rooms is a nice update as the hotel was starting to get a bit old. As usual the personal service was excellent and food is always good. Despite the rain we ventured to the pool for a rain swim and it was beautifully heated to 29 Deg C. I can't believe that they had the pool bar open in that weather but it was great fun sitting in the warm water under cover at the bar.... This place is worth a second look for a well located getaway.

Room Tip: It can be a long walk to the outer rooms but if that is not an issue these have the best outlooks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby_Sole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Bobby

Thank you to you both for coming to stay at Sheraton Mirage, and for your review on this experience. We are glad you had a lovely stay, despite the rainy weather (the sun is currently shining here on the Gold Coast!), and our Oasis Pool Bar team members especially appreciated your comments.

We look forward with pleasure to your next visit.

Warm regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,033 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,370 reviews
2.4 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,114 reviews
1.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,781 reviews
4.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast

Address: 71 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range: $203 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by sparkling lagoons and tropical gardens. The Gold Coast's only five star resort to offer an absolute beachfront location. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Resort And Spa
Sheraton Mirage Hotel Main Beach
Sheraton Main Beach
Main Beach Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing