We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beachside holiday, a family favorite.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beachside holiday, a family favorite.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My family of 4 have just returned from another stay at Sheraton Mirage. This is a particular favorite of ours, we love the location, and the general feeling exuded by this hotel. Yes it is 80's architecture, retro in the not too distant future? but that holiday feeling hits you from the moment you walk into the lobby.
The newly refurbished rooms are modern and comfortable, thumbs up to a hotel which offers plunger coffee in the complimentary hot drinks as well as green tea and earl grey. The staff are always helpful, and OMG they smile and acknowledge your existence when passing. It seems like a small thing, but there's nothing like being greeted by a friendly face and that goes from reception to concierge, cleaners, bar staff and those great guys who serve you by the pool.
Yes food and drink there is expensive, but if you have a problem with that go and explore the local eateries, from the Surf Life saving club down road to Marina Mirage and Fisherman's Cove to Peters Fresh fish and chips, all very short walking distance.
We have always found cleanliness excellant here, room requests dealt with, and the rooms are quiet i.e. we have never experienced noise transfer from adjoining rooms.
The pool is great, the kids love swimming up to the bar and placing orders, little amuses the innocent! We adults enjoy the waiter service of a variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks from the friendly pool staff.
This is the only beach front hotel on the coast, walk out past the pool to pristine golden beach which has a Surf Life saver on patrol. There were jelly fish present just recently, so we gave our normal sea swim a miss. Lots of loungers and shaded areas at the pool made this a great spot to read and while away the day.
In terms of cost, we find it comparable with other hotels at this level across the world. Similar to similar we have stayed at in US, Fiji, Bali, Europe, and a lot cheaper than Dubai beach front resorts. We also like that it is only a few hrs from NZ.
We intend to return soon.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room near the pool on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erinst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Erin

We all enjoyed your very detailed review on your most recent stay, and love that our resort has become a “family favourite”. Thank you for your continuing support, and for the time you have taken to post so comprehensively on the resort and the local Main Beach/Spit area.

From our team…..warm wishes to you all for 2013…and looking forward to seeing you back here before too long.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    450
    124
    42
    35
See reviews for
370
513
52
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level Contributor
600 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We attended the seafood buffet at Sheraton at the Spit, the food is amazing, the service is fantastic, the atmosphere is stunning. Great for seafood lovers or just lovers of good food ! Really well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Overlooking the beach for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaile1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Contributor

Thanks you for travelling down from Brisbane to enjoy the Seafood Buffet at our Terraces Restaurant with your friends. The Buffet has been an extremely popular feature of our resort since Opening in 1987, and we are delighted your experience was such a memorable one. Our Executive Chef and F&B Manager and their teams particularly appreciated your very positive post!

Please come back again soon….perhaps for an overnight stay as well next time?

Warm regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed last week from mon to fri in a ocean view king suite. Stunning ocean view, our room had a very large living and dining area separate to our bedroom We had a empty fridge which was handy so we could stock up with our own things and a mini bar fridge as well packed with everything you could want to drink and some nice little snacks as well. The first night we were there we went out for a while and when we returned to our room we had a complimentary bottle of Pinot noir white wine and a box of coconut and chocolate cookies that were so yummy! As well as six bottles of mount franklin everyday which was perfect as my bf and I were in the sun a lot swimming or walking along the coast. The buffet breakfast is the best! Massive selection everything you could want. $42 a head I've read reviews about the price, just ensure when you book you make sure it's included in your room rate. I personally woke up every morning and couldn't wait to get my freshly cooked poached eggs and I have to mention the massive piece of fresh honeycomb with fresh honey just dripping off it, it was total heaven so nice I loved it. The pool area was nice and spread out and the banana cocktail from the pool bar were addictive I had one everyday I was there some days two, must try. Buffet dinner was very nice, I'm not the biggest fan of seafood, my partner is and said it was all very nice and fresh and they had plenty of other sorts of meat for people like me who don't like seafood all that much. The dessert at the dinner buffet was the best desert I've ever had it was heaven. My room had a lovely view over the ocean and a large spa bath. The hotel was well maintained and the staff were ALL very nice and friendly especially Alice from the front desk and Phillip the concierge. Can't wait to go back we both had a ball. Thanks Sheraton for a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Contributor

Thank you for coming to stay with your partner during the Holiday Season. Our team was overwhelmed by your wonderfully positive review, and we are all delighted you enjoyed and were comfortable in your Ocean Suite, and that you particularly liked our famous buffet breakfast and the addictive Banana Cocktails out at Oasis! We loved your photos as well.

Alice and Phillip – respectively one of our new team members and one of our most long standing ones – will be very pleased also to receive your special recognition which is on its way to them today.

It was our pleasure to look after you both and ensure a wonderful beachside stay, and we look forward to your return.

With warm appreciation from us all

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
556 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was our final stop on our Eastern Australia trip and after a quick change of rooms we ended up in a spa room on level 3 only a short walk from the central area.
I am being slightly generous in awarding 5 stars but the staff were on the ball and just so helpful. The rooms are not well lit for a woman to make up and the room clean leaves something to be desired. However from the superb breakfast to the evening BBQ we enjoyed our food here. The manager proved very helpful when we spoke to him and special commendation to Jack at the front desk for handling the change of room so well. Finally as we left so early they prepared an excellent breakfast box ready at 5.30 am. If we ever return to the area, we will go back to this hote.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian_uk12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Top Contributor

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mirage as your preferred accommodation for the final leg of your Australian trip. It was my pleasure to meet and assist you during your stay, and we all appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience via this post. And be assured your praise is being passed onto Jack who was so helpful to you with your change of room.

We wish you both a wonderful 2013, and look forward to your return visit when you are next travelling our way.

Warmly
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Good appointed rooms though he resort is beginning to date. Suggest eating elsewhere. Food is averag and significantly overpriced for what it is. Found the service particularly in the restaurant to be very underwhelming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Adam,

Thank you for staying with us here at Sheraton Mirage with your family earlier this month.

We appreciate also you taking the time to post on your experience. Our Executive Chef and F&B Manager will be sharing your comments with their teams, and we are sorry that you obviously did not experience on this occasion our usual high quality of food and service.

Wishing you all the very best of everything for this New Year ahead.

Warmly
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We checked in as a family for a 4 night stay at the Mirage and could not find one fault. This resort is truly amazing. As you walk into the lobby you look out over sparkling lagoons, swimming pools, and then the beach right behind. This resort is truly just relaxation heaven. We can not put in to words what an amazing time we had. The swimming pool is heaven.. warm, large, with a swim up bar, lounges.. What more could you ask for! The resort has the most relaxing atmosphere and is just a tropical haven on the Gold Coast..The resort is all connected by bridges over beautiful lagoons and is filled with palm trees giving it the most beautiul, relaxing vibe, you could be in Fiji, or Tahiti! The rooms are amazing and the new renovations the resort has had are incredible. Have stayed at many hotels and would have to say this is one of the best and this even beats the Versace Hotel across the road. This is also the only resort on the Gold Coast right on the beach and you can walk out of the resort right onto the sand... Amazing. Overall our stay was sbsolutely impeccable we can not wait to be back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Dan

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mirage for your family visit to the Gold Coast…and Happy New Year to you all!

We were delighted to know how much you enjoyed our resort, and our recent renewal, and we are very grateful for your exceptionally positive post. What a great way for all of us here at the resort to begin the week.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back in the hopefully not too distant future.

With warm appreciation from our team,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The recent refurbishments have transformed this hotel. No more garrish 80's...its is really absolutely beautiful. We stayed with 2 adults and 2 kids and had 2 Mirage Resort rooms on the ground floor (garden views)
Firstly let me make a comparison to the Marriott which is also a popular family resort which I have enjoyed in the past. The rooms are definitely better at the Sheraton Mirage, the staff are DEFINITELY better, and most importantly the food is much better. Not that I didn't enjoy the Marriott but I would hesitate to go to the Marriott when I could go to the Mirage. The only aspect of the Marriott the kids liked better was the water slide, and the beach pool is good for little kids, BUT you have to fight for a pool lounge every day which we never had to do at the Mirage.
The Mirage pool is also very nice with a swim up bar, and there is a kids pool.
We also enjoyed being able to go to the Health Club & Spa to do laps. The location on the beach is superb and with access right into the Marina Mirage we didn't need to get into our car. There is a great selection of restaurants and boutiques and also many day tours depart from Marina Mirage. We took a Jetski and found the local boat ramp ideal.
I would like to comment on the fantastic staff at Mirage...from the moment we arrived they were exceptional. The concierge, Mick, helped us locate a suitable & safe place to park the Jetski and was extremely friendly throughout our stay...exceptional service!!
The buffet breakfast was very good, the dinner was also good but it is the same every night so dinner options in the resort are limited. Of course with access via an overpass into Marina Mirage there were many options and we enjoyed several dinners at Marina Mirage.
The poolside meals were of excellent quality. We didn't try room service.
We took advantage of all of the Starwood offers that made our stay very economical. The 3 recommendations I would make are
1/ Join the Starwood Preferred Guest Program (free to join)...after our 6 night stay we have earnt enough points to redeem toward our next trip and it has reduced 4 of our nightly rates to only 90US (bargain)
2/ if you are travelling with kids then at check in you can purchase the SPG kids program. ($22 per child per day) Kids are issued with a wristband which they wear for the duration of their stay. This offers them free breakfast, lunch and dinner in terraces restaurant or lunch can also be beside the pool. Adults need to be present to order but we found at the poolside we didn't actually have to order ourselves. Kids also get unlimited soft drinks and juice at restaurants and the swim up bar at no charge and they get an ice cream from the swim up bar everyday. Kids were in heaven!
3/ Consider joining Star Privelege, there is a charge for 12months membership (about $300) but it gives you 50% off meals when 2 adults are dining & 15% of drinks. You get a number of vouchers including room upgrades and group dining for 8 adults at 50%. We will easily get our value as we intend to return at Easter and again in December. The card can be used at all participating Starwood hotels so we also got 50% off our meals at the Sheraton Noosa on a recent trip to Noosa (we didnt stay at the sheraton noosa though, just visited for lunch)

During our stay we inspected a few different room types. I wasnt very impressed with the Villas which are privately owned so they didn't benefit from the recent refurbishments of the hotel rooms. The lead in rooms are lovely but I would request a room closer to the pool rather than overlooking Seaworld Drive. We used a voucher to upgrade to ground floor garden room which allowed us to sit in the gardens. As we had a few friends in the resort this was great. One night we got takeaway Pizza and sat on the lawn while the kids played. I didnt see the Ocean view rooms but I have previously stayed in the Lagoon Rooms which are divine but lack privacy a bit.
I also inspected the Mirage Resort Suite which is excellent value , basically you get a standard hotel room and an extra room with a lounge & dining area (no kitchen facilities though) Theses rooms start at about $450 which is pretty good value, they can also be joined via interconnecting doors to another bedroom. I would prefer this option to a villa if I required the space. But having said all that the standard rooms really are nice enough that you don't feel the need to upgrade.
The Garden Suite or Ocean View Suite would be the pick but a quite pricey and essentially the same as the Mirage Resort suite but with a better view.
I would highly recommend the Sheraton Mirage Resort because it is beautiful, superbly located, has excellent service, easy access to shops & restaurants, is beachfront and the food is good. What more could you want!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Contributor

Your detailed and very positive review is so appreciated. As is your mention of Michael who has been copied on your wonderful post and will be recognised within his department for your special commendation and mention for his exceptional service. A special thanks for this recognition for this most valued member of our team.

And your recommendation of both Starwood Preferred Guest (and the SPG Kids Pass) and Star Privilege Membership is spot on for guests and patrons who visit Starwood Hotels regularly. We couldn’t have put it better ourselves!

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back at Easter.

Warm regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
1.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
2.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
4.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast

Property: Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Address: 71 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by sparkling lagoons and tropical gardens. The Gold Coast's only five star resort to offer an absolute beachfront location. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Resort And Spa
Sheraton Mirage Hotel Main Beach
Sheraton Main Beach
Main Beach Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing