We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel in the world”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I love staying at the Sheraton Marina Resort and Spa The staff are so friendly and could not help you enought.The shopping, resturants,and lots of attracting like Duffy down under or the tall ships and just a short walk from the hotel is a great atraction Sea World what a gret day out and so close to the hotel and their is so much to do at the hotel sit in the pool if you like have a great spa treatment or just a quite drink by the pool and best of all the hotel is right on the beach if you want to go for a dip in the sea or a surf. The hotel is so close to main beach and so many good resturants and bars.

Room Tip: Corner siuts are large and sunny and you can open the windows for the smell of the see air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hi Christine

Thank you for your wonderful post and description. We are delighted you are back with us, and so appreciate such a positive review and the continuing support you and your family extend to our hotel, and to Starwood.

Wishing you all a wonderful Festive and Holiday Season, and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in 2013.

With warm regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    462
    131
    43
    35
See reviews for
386
524
53
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

It was probably 25 years ago (back in the 80's) we were here last, apart from a on-off dinner some years ago. Unlike so much glitz and tack of the 80's the Sheraton Mirage I feel was well above that and does not pass as an edifice to that 'interesting' era.
Aesthetically every aspect of the property is lovely and the very tasteful refurbishment project has added a contemproary freshness to this resort. The bed and pillow quality were exemplarary, and why shouldn't they be. A hotel room is largely for sleeping in.
From check-in to house-keeping to food and beverage service, staff demeanour and courtesy were splendid, and with a characteristic amiability that Aussies possess.
Our food and beverage experiences were most pleasnt, what one would expect from a resort such as this. The dinner and breakfast buffets are quite laid-on and exhaustive, and yet creative: spoilt for choice.
Can't wait for another little getaway.

Room Tip: As for room choice, it's courses for horses. Facing the roadside, some noise when windows open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Jason,

Thank you for returning after your stay in the early days of our beautiful resort. We appreciate you coming back and the time you have taken to post on your experience, and especially your positive comments on our wonderful associates. It’s a very exciting time for all of us with the completion of our resort renewal (we are glad you like the changes), the 25th Birthday of Sheraton Mirage, and also the 75th Birthday of Sheraton.

We too look forward to your quick return, and send our thanks again for your lovely post.

With warm appreciation
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I booked this amazing resort knowing very little of what we were in for. On arrival the bell desk staff were courteous, friendly and helpful. The check-in process was really smooth and the young lady that looked after us was delightful and very passionate. As the potter led us to the room we were exposed to the true majesty that is Sheraton mirage, from the gorgeous pools to the lovely ground, all I can say was I was floored. From the round to the surrounds this truly was a great experience and the highlight of our holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sodabaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear TA Reviewer

We are honoured you chose to post your first Trip Advisor review on our resort, and we very much appreciate you sharing your extremely positive experience. Our team here at Sheraton Mirage is so fortunate to be involved with such a beautifully located and designed resort – recently enhanced with a $26m renewal – and we are delighted you feel that it is a special place to holiday,as it is certainly a special place to work for all of us.

Looking forward to your return…hopefully sooner rather than later.

With warm regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Like the previous person I arrived early and my room wasn't ready! I was told after pre check in someone would call me.
Nobody called and two hours later I return to the desk only to find out it ready. (Poor follow up skills). I didn't find the desk staff great. Then for a drink by the pool and I felt I didn't belong there and was investigated by staff before aloud a drink. They also had a oyster bar runned by a crazy and less than friendly old man and we were treated rudely after requesting a drink. The breakfast wasn't great and the staff have u lining up like cattle before being ubrouptly seated. Not impressed!!! The rooms are lovely and the cleaners and hall staff are wonderfull, as for the others they could be retrained by the cleaners.. Stay again??? The property is amazing and worth the money but some staff put me off!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandmanfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear TA Contributor

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Sheraton Mirage earlier this month, and for taking the time to post on your experience. We are delighted you liked your newly refurbished accommodation, and the service from our Room Attendants. It was extremely disappointing however to learn of the lack of follow up from our Front Office team, and your negative experience in Terraces and the Oyster Bar.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your experience and for our failure to extend our usual warm, friendly and professional service right throughout the resort. The feedback you have provided is appreciated and very beneficial as our departmental managers work with their teams to ensure your experience does not recur.

We all hope you will return and give us the opportunity to ensure for you on that occasion a completely enjoyable and more typical Sheraton Mirage guest experience.

With warm regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I arrived before the check in time so we didn't expect our room to be ready, as we pulled up to the valet parking we where told to come back at 3pm ( check in time ) by Gede ( I think was his name ) I asked if I could park the car then maybe have some lunch and if they could give me a ring when the room was ready. I was told " Thats not how it works" and told to come back at 3pm. Not off to a good start.
We went back at 3pm to check in but a bus pulled up just before us so check in was chaos. Jessica checked us in and the double bed that was requested was not available and we where told about this when we booked ( we where not told ).
The resort is very nice with a great layout and plenty to do. Reminded me more of Fiji then a Gold Coast resort because of the large pool area and the size of the resort also being directly on the beach was a bonus.
A couple other problems we come across are, when we went to move our beds together their was a large amount of bugs garbage and anything else you could think of under the bed.The breakfast did not have much variety. Hilton or Sofitel still has the best breakfast by far.
Overall very nice resort,if you don't mind staying out of the heart of the Gold Coast. The staff that I dealt with could do with some people skills. 4 star resort maybe 4.5. Not worth the price, I would not recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Try another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oodavski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Senior Reviewer

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent trip down to the Coast with your wife. The time you have taken to post is appreciated.

It was very disappointing though to learn of your experience on arrival, and in relation to your room, and I extend my personal apologies that this was your experience.

The comments made to you on arrival are the complete opposite to how we usually welcome and look after our guests, and our Front Office Manager is sharing your feedback and counselling this team member further to the arrival experience you have described. The situation with your room is also extremely concerning and I regret the lack of attention to detail and adherence to our standards in the preparation of your accommodation, and also that this room was not quality checked prior to being released for allocation.

If you choose to stay with us again be assured we would do all possible to ensure for you and your wife a 5 star stay, and one which is exceptionally enjoyable and comfortable with a high level of warm and professional service.

warmly
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

With Living on the Gold Coast I was a bit hesitant when my husband arranged a stay for us 2 and our child at the Sheraton Mirage for 3 nights. But when inside the complex you don't need to venture out and the beach this end of the strip is so peaceful and quiet, I honestly felt I could have been on some exotic holiday not so close to home.
Ate at Terraces Restaurant for breakfast and dinner and both were fantastic. Ordered from the pool bar for lunch, reasonable menu and prices with surprisingly large servings.One hint if you have children and are a Starwood Preferred Guest member ask about their daily child food deal. It is absolutely worth it and saved us alot of $$. Pool bar staff funny and great with kids.
Rooms have been refurbed and are well appointed. Huge king bed and the child's rollaway was safe, roomy and comfortable. Our daughter felt very spoiled when noticing her own toiletries displayed at the end of her own bed, a lovely thoughtful touch by the room staff.
Only disappointment was the bar upstairs lacked in appeal. It was a nice place to sit for a drink but after dark it was boring and nothing happening, it needs to be more inviting. Maybe offer a happy hour or bar snacks, music etc. Even a bit of sports tv would keep the men entertained, which would keep them drinking, more$ for the hotel. It just lacked atmosphere.
That is my only minor negative point, but overall excellent stay and I would return and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Meg

Each and every one of us here at Sheraton Mirage appreciates the wonderful support which Gold Coasters extend to our resort, including you!

Thanks so much for coming to stay with your family, and for taking the time to post such a positive review regarding your experience. We are delighted you so enjoyed your time here, and look forward to welcoming you all back to our beautifully renewed resort as guest or patrons before too long.

In the meantime I am sharing your insights and suggestions re Pearls Bar with our Food and Beverage Manager and his team. Thank you for this gift of feedback.

Warmly
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I organised a 5 day conference here and it was amazing from the service, to the room, to the dining experiences. We were definately well looked after. Thank you to all the Staff at the Sheraton for ensuring our conference was a success. Concierge went above and beyond with all of our transfers. Nothing was a bother with all of our requests. The ocean view room I stayed in was beautiful, waking up every morning to the sound of the ocean was so very relaxing. The chef was amazing as he created a special menu for our farewell dinner and our guests were amazed at how wonderful all the food tasted. Thank You Sheraton for making our stay.

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bijou_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Senior Contributor

Thank you from all of our team for your exceptionally positive post on your 5 day conference here at Sheraton Mirage.

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience, and look forward to welcoming and working with you again.

Warmly
Mark

PS Our Executive Chef was particularly delighted to read your comments on the Farewell Dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
1.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
2.4 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
4.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
4.3 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast

Property: Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Address: 71 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by sparkling lagoons and tropical gardens. The Gold Coast's only five star resort to offer an absolute beachfront location. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Resort And Spa
Sheraton Mirage Hotel Main Beach
Sheraton Main Beach
Main Beach Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing