We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a pretty old property now, built during the excesses of the 80's but it still stands up well with renovations to many areas which keep it all in very good condition. The feature is all the large pool, and water weaving its way through the blocks and rooms.

We went there with kids, lovely pool and water, right on the beach and there was a tennis court also. You have to pay extra to rent this, which as a guest is a bit strange, given that the courts are in just average condition at best.

Food was just ok, there was nothing bad, but also nothing really that stood out. The buffet is expensive and while it is plentiful, it is nothing more than you'd expect in a club. You can buy the kids a "pass" which enables then to eat with you for free, but only in certain places, so watch out for that.

We had two groups of people staying on this weekend, we had a "villa' which had not been renovated, it was ok, but hardly in top condition. Our friends had a newly renovated room, and that was great.

Staff are all good and really do their best - no issue with service at all. All in all - still a great place, and for all his failings, have to thank Mr Skase for a pretty good vision all those years ago.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Mark,

Thank you for posting on your stay here at Sheraton Mirage. Your insights and detailed comments are appreciated by all of our team, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back when you are next planning a beachside getaway.

Warmest wishes
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,460 - 1,466 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for a week and had a great time. Staff were all very courteous and helpfull. Property was very clean and there was always room to lay out by the pool. I get annoyed staying at a top notch hotel where you have to go reserve pool chairs by 8am in order to find a space. Only one restraunt on property other than the pool bar but right across the street connected by a bridge over the street is a very nice shopping center with great shopping and restraunts. Lots of fun!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerrySherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Terry and Sherry

Our team enjoyed and appreciated your post on your recent stay – thank you! We are delighted you had such a great (and fun) time here at our beautiful beachfront resort, and we would love you to return when your travels next bring you back to Australia and hopefully the Gold Coast.

Warm regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Well...I think this Hotel is the only choice when it comes to a Goldcoast getaway, Stay here if
you want a relaxing break away. We found this resort ticked all the right boxes for us...smart, tidy, great location and 60 second walk to the beach, if you are looking for a place to totally chill out this is it!. a short drive/bus trip into surfers or just pop across the road for top class shopping, dinning and great mariner views.
Yes you will pay a little more for this hotel, but when you leave and feel you have had a real holiday... you wont regret it one bit.

Room Tip: We stayed in a lead in room (#2007) with windows that opened out onto a tropical garden setting wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIWIstig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Stig

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mirage, and for taking the time to post so positively on your experience. We love that you describe our resort as the only place to stay on the Gold Coast!

Looking forward to welcoming you back next time you are crossing the Tasman.

Warm wishes
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Arrived late at night , after checking in they escorted us down to the room. I would not have found the room without their help, this is a large spreadout hotel. Food was excellent at breakfast, we ate out most nights. Stack of things to do in the area and don't forget to visit the surf lifesaving club for a cheap meal. Our room was $255AUD per night , but that is what you pay for the region. Rooms and hotel have been recently refurbished, you could still the new carpet. I will return

Room Tip: All rooms are OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilkiaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Contributor,

Thank you for taking the time to post so positively on your stay. Our associates are our resort’s most valuable asset, and as a GM it doesn’t get any better than to read a post heading of “outstanding service”. And yes, we are also incredibly fortunate with our direct beachfront location. We are delighted you will return, and look forward with pleasure to welcoming you back on that occasion.

With warm regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I remember coming here as a kid and was blown away back then (15yrs ago) and now as an adult very much enjoyed my stay! It is a typical 5 star resort, excellent presentation, fantastic new colour scheme and furniture, friendly and prompt service, top quality food, lovely pool area, and large clean rooms. I have stayed in many 5 star resorts and the Sheraton always comes out on top, this resort is no exception. I love the addition of the quirky interior design around certain corners, and lovely artwork throughout the resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leishaclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear TA Reviewer

We love when our young guests return as adults! Thank you for coming back this month and for your post, photos and comments including those about the different design touches which have been incorporated into our recent refurbishment. We’re glad you like them and delighted you so enjoyed your stay here at our beautiful resort.

With warm wishes,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Stunning resort. Loved it, we haven't stayed anywhere that is nearly as nice. Everything down to the sheets on the bed were fantastic. My only regret was not taking my togs as the pool was heated and there was a bar in the pool. We also loved that it was adjacent to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwitasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Tasha

Thank you for your very positive post on your stay here at Sheraton Mirage. We’re delighted you chose our resort, and that you so enjoyed the experience. We liked your photo too. A different aspect across the lagoons not often photographed from that point. Please come back and see us again….and so you can also enjoy our Oasis Pool next time!

Warm regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The view from the lobby has a great WOW factor looking down to the pool and the beach behind it. Only spent 3 days in GC but after each day, we looked forward to relaxing by the pool and the very comfy sized room and bed

Loved the breaky and staff was fantasic. Would love to be back for more

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mightyhawks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mirage for your recent visit to the beautiful Gold Coast, and for posting on your experience. We are delighted our resort was a comfortable and enjoyable base for your time on the Coast, and we hope you come back for a return stay soon!

Warmly
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,042 reviews
2.4 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,488 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,154 reviews
1.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,798 reviews
4.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast

Address: 71 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range: $217 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by sparkling lagoons and tropical gardens. The Gold Coast's only five star resort to offer an absolute beachfront location. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Resort And Spa
Sheraton Mirage Hotel Main Beach
Sheraton Main Beach
Main Beach Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing