We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I spent four nights here in a villa with my husband and two kids. The villas were a good walk to the main resort/reception but also made for a very peaceful stay. The villas are nice and spacious, plenty of room with balcony (no view) and two bathrooms. However the villas are in need of renovation particularly for the price you pay per night, you do expect modern amenities. The bathrooms and kitchen need an upgrade. The kitchen didn't have a lot of utensils to cook with and when you have two kids under two and can't get out you do rely on a kitchen having reasonable cooking facilities. Housekeeping were great and friendly, the villa was always spotless, reception and concierge also very friendly. We asked concierge if they knew of a restaurant that was child friendly and their recommendation was fantastic. The pool area is lovely and big, also some grassed area which makes a nice change from concrete. Easy access to the beach and Marina Mirage. Buffet breakfast was also delicious, and room service very prompt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Kaz

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mirage for your family holiday, and for the time you have taken to post in detail on your experience. We’re delighted you had a peaceful break, and appreciate your insights and comments.

And I am pleased to advise that further to our hotel renewal, we will be working with our villa owners regarding the upgrade of their apartments over the next year.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back when you next return to the beautiful Gold Coast.

Warmly
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    450
    124
    42
    35
See reviews for
370
513
52
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My Mum and daughter decided they would take me for High Tea as my birthday treat.

They thought it be a beautiful day out and something special to celebrate my special day. How wrong they were. They both were upset but didnt say anything when paying the bill as they didnt want to spoil the day any further for me by making a scene.

The room was baron it was like eating in a basic Cafe . No flowers, pictures, candles, not even a table cloth. For the Sheraton I would have expected more. The atmosphere was cold. The food platter was minimal and the coffee luke warm. Very over priced we thought for what was on the platter. Once served nobody came near us to see if we wanted anything more and yet we were the only ones in there.

We arrived at 11am, our platter came out 11.15am, and we were out of there by 12pm. We made light of it by making a joke between us but really we all were let down.

For us we wouldnt go again. A disappointing experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Lesley

Thank you for taking the time to post on your recent experience in our Pearls Bar. I sincerely apologise that your High Tea experience did not meet expectations.

I am also in receipt of your e-mail as sent to our Pearls Bar Manager and will correspond with you directly.

Peter

(Peter Elakis, Food & Beverage Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay. From the moment you get to the resort your amazed with the service. The resort is beautiful. Great location great restraunts. The seafood buffet is well worth it! Drink prices are a little expensive but not excessive. The staff are great the rooms are a very generous size and very well equipped. The pool is fantastic and beach is only a few feet away. Only down side was I asked for a room close to all facilities due to me being disabled and that request wasn't meet. Still a great place :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiddy446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer

We all loved your post on your stay this month….thank you! And for choosing Sheraton Mirage! It was good to know you enjoyed all of the features of our resort, and the service from our associates. Apologies though for us not fulfilling your request regarding your room location. If you could contact my Assistant Sharon Hartridge here at the resort it would enable us to update your profile to ensure an appropriate room allocation for any future visits.

With warm wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
511 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stopped here early September, booked an ‘Ocean Room’ direct with the hotel.
Our room was nice, tastefully finished off a with quality feel to it. Happy with the room, everything was clean and tidy, bed was comfy and big also.
I have to admit that we were a little disappointed with the view as we booked an Ocean Room we were expecting an ocean panorama where as it was really a garden view with ocean glimpses to one side, yes you could see the ocean but not really worth the extra. I imagine the Ocean Premium Rooms may be the ones with the ‘proper’ ocean view.
Didn’t try the breakfast as it wasn’t included in our rate. We only wanted a small breakfast so the hotel one wasn’t going to be value for money, there are plenty of nice places for a cheaper breakfast over the road at Marina Mirage which is where we went.
Heated pool is good, nice temperature and there a decent amount of loungers around. Pool bar is good if a little expensive for some things, but I guess you’re paying for location and convenience! Being so close to the beach is good, but whether you’d use it when the facilities are so good I don’t think the locality to the beach really matters.
Happy with our stay here and would/will stop again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yorkie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Top Contributor

Thank you for coming to stay here at Sheraton Mirage for your recent visit down to the Coast. It was good to know you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate you taking the time to post photos and a review on your experience. And you are right, our Ocean Premium category (level 3 rooms) does enjoy a more expansive view of the Pacific Ocean than our Ocean (level 2) category, the latter which we offer as another option - at the same rate - to our guaranteed ground level Lagoon and Garden Terrace accommodation.

Looking forward to your return visit.

Warmest wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a great 3 night stay at the Sheraton Mirage last week. As I was travelling on short notice with my wife and 2 young children it was a quick search to find a good deal for a room that would take us all. Got a good deal for a Mirage Resort 2 double bed room and although not perfect it was just what we needed. The food in the main restaurant was very good as expected and they were very accommodating of kids.
The location was awesome being right next door to Sea World and out of Surfers Paradise so it felt really quiet. Plus the Marina Mirage was very handy for food options (the Max Bremmer chocolate shop was visited daily).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWS73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Senior Reviewer

We appreciate your positive post on your recent stay here at Sheraton Mirage with your family. Mirage Gold Coast Resort was created as the first fully integrated resort in Australia offering hotel and apartment accommodation, shopping, restaurants, and health club, and whilst that was now 25 years ago this month, these features – including Marina Mirage and our renowned Terraces Restaurant - continue to be appreciated and enjoyed by our guests as has been your experience.

Thank you for choosing our beautifully renewed resort for your short notice visit to the Gold Coast, and for taking the time to post on your experience.

Warm regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I swapped from the beautiful Marriott in Surfers to give this a try as they had recently upgraded the restaurant and rooms.
The rooms are small and the noise from the corridor outside was awful at the weekend. To cap it off a bridesmaid from a wedding in the hotel decided to shout out rape/help in the middle of the night. Security were despatched after 2 calls I made to reception and 10 minutes of screaming with my kids terrified at the noise coming from the room opposite us. it turns out she was a nutter and the security guard escorted the guy involved from the hotel. This was 1am.
I am staggered that no member of management offered apologies to us. Upon check out on Monday morning I voiced my dissatisfaction and all I was told that"Yeah I just have been reading about this in the log" My kids were terrified and we had a disturbed night sleep in their hotel and they just couldn't be bothered to check we were ok after this incident.
I would say if you come here to drink loads pass out and have a breakfast and swim in the morning you will perhaps not notice the bad service(waited 15 minutes in bar for waiter to come over on Sunday afternoon) and have a good time. However if you have kids and think it is a convenient location to Seaworld you will be sorely disappointed. In fact a friend and her family met us in the bar for a drink, they work in the travel agency industry and I don't think they will be recommending. The service is poor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Contributor

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mirage for your April visit to the Gold Coast, and for the time you have taken to recently post on your experience.

We are all disappointed and concerned your stay was significantly marred by the middle of the night incident regarding another guest. It was a most unfortunate situation and whilst our Night Manager and Security Officer attended as a priority and were able to resolve quickly, we extend our sincere regrets for the distress this caused to you all, and especially your children.

Your feedback regarding your experience in Terraces (given on departure), and the comments you have included in your post, are all noted and have been shared with our Food & Beverage Manager to ensure these uncharacteristic service lapses do not recur. The comment you made on the size of our rooms was perplexing, and I am pleased to be able to advise that at a minimum size of 43 square metres (the size of the Mirage Twin Room you occupied), Sheraton Mirage entry level rooms are the largest of all of the 5 star hotels here on the Gold Coast.

Many thanks again for posting on your stay, and for choosing Sheraton Mirage.

warmly
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed there for a week-long training. Very relaxing place, lots of pools and waterworks (photos says it all) and in just a few steps further is one of the best beaches I have ever set my foot on. Not very close to downtown buzz but on a walkable distance. Food was fantastic but it might not have been a good stay for those who were on personal trip and after of quite relaxation during that week due to our training. Still one of my top places to stay should I be back in GC again, for holiday next time! Customer service was also great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elykoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Reviewer

We appreciate your post on your recent week long training stay, and you “Highly Recommending” our resort. And our team was delighted to read your comment on our service and our food. Looking forward to welcoming you back for a leisure stay next time you are travelling to the Gold Coast.

Warm wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
1.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
2.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,499 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
4.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast

Property: Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Address: 71 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by sparkling lagoons and tropical gardens. The Gold Coast's only five star resort to offer an absolute beachfront location. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Resort And Spa
Sheraton Mirage Hotel Main Beach
Sheraton Main Beach
Main Beach Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing