We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience”
Review of Palazzo Versace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Versace
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Reviewed April 24, 2010

OK so most people know about this hotel as it is currently (but not for long) the ONLY Versace hotel in the world (a second will soon be gracing the ever expanding Dubai shortly).

Lets not beat around the bush, the rooms are expensive. And, for the Gold Coast, where there are more and more serviced apartment blocks springing up, with modern facilities and decor, this hotel may not be for everyone.

At Palazzo Versace the entry level rooms are without balconies and the views may not live up to expectations. The entry level rooms are just that - standard rooms. However, the decor in the rooms is anything but your usual hotel trimmings. The marble floors & Versace products from floor to ceiling really make you feel you are living in the lap of luxury. The bathroom is opulent and the separate shower and VERY large spa bath are great.

Obviously the more you pay, the more you get. The rooms do go up in size and facilities with 72 condominium suites providing a much larger accommodation option equipped with full kitchen facilities as well as a plunge pool or spa.

The hotel has 3 award winning restaurants which provide great food with exceptional service to boot. One of the best buffet breakfast I have ever experienced. Big ticks for the made to order omelettes and pancakes.

The Palazzo Versace breakfast has an enormous range of options all of which are fresh and tasty - we've all been to hotels that had half a mushroom, some spaghetti and a hash brown stuck in the scrambled egg that has been left out so long it has a crust like a meringue - well not at Palazzo Versace (but of course you'd expect it to be fantastic).

Vie Bar & Restaurant is a great place which we have dined at a number of times. The view from the outdoor deck is fantastic. The food is modern Australian with a well designed menu full of options for most dinners. They know how to prepare & present food to the highest quality with the eye fillet steak cooked to perfection every time we have ordered it. They have an extensive wine list that would impress any sommelier, as well as a broad range of alternate drinks such as assorted local & imported beers and well made cocktails.

The pool is beautiful, designed to look like a small intimate beach on an island somewhere. The turn down service each night, with complimentary chocolates and Versace bath products is lovely. The staff are helpful and look after your every whim. They will take care of dinner and spa reservations, taxis and chauffeured cars and assist you with any plans you may wish to make during your stay.

During our stay we came back to our room one night and found we had been treated to a plate with hand pipped 'Happy Birthday' and beautiful chocolates and strawberries as we advised on booking it was a special occasion. This is what you pay extra for - the staff are friendly and attentive and although your every need is met they manage to do it without you even noticing - seamless and effortless making the stay relaxing and much less pretentious than most would think.

When staying at the hotel you do not need to leave for anything - and why would you want to. Casually stroll downstairs after six and you will find the lobby filled with candles and a pianist, a lovely casual and relaxed atmosphere perfect for pre or post dinner drinks or late night hot chocolates (always a favourite) .

While it is quite hard on the hip pocket, I believe you should stay here at least once. It is a unique hotel, so even the rarity alone is worth the try. You would be hard pressed finding a more luxurious & professionally run hotel in Australia. Go on, give it a try!

What to wear: A lot of people will be put off with the grandeur of this hotel. However, in our experience, the is little to no evidence of the pretentiousness that can be found even in hotels of lesser quality. Dress however you like, but do take note that a lot of people do dress well there, especially if you are attending one of their restaurants.

How much: Basic rooms start at around the $475 - $550 per night mark, depending on the season. Condominiums start at $1200 and go to $1900 per night. If you are feeling extra wealthy you could always go for the Imperial Suite which fetches $3000 - $4000 per night.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xVMNx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Management Representative at Palazzo Versace, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2010

Dear xVMNx,

Thank you for your positive and detailed review. I see that you have travelled extensively and it is great to read that our experience is hard to beat in Australia.

Everybody deserves a great start to the day and our fanatstic buffet breakfast will ensure that! I will pass on your feedback to our Executive Chef and am sure that the kitchen team will be delighted.

Our lagoon pool could be renamed as an intimate beach - afterall, our sand does come from the Gold Coast's famous beaches!

I agree, that you do not need to leave for anything when staying here - we are the place to be!!

We look forward to your return.

Regards,

Richard Pacheco
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,825 - 1,831 of 2,042 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2010

It was really beautiful staying in the Palazzo Versace. The service was Execllent, and the rooms were amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shazdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Management Representative at Palazzo Versace, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2010

Dear Shazdog,

Thank you for your positive review after a beautiful, excellent and amazing experience at Palazzo Versace.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Regards,

Richard Pacheco
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

The concierge staff at Palazzo are the best I have ever experienced for efficiency and professionalism. They are the face of the hotel as they are the first peoople you meet and they never fail to impress (after 4 visits). The reception staf were efficient and the hotel has to be rated 100% for cleanliness. The rooms are as expected, turn down service great, but erratic in timing. I have stayed recently in many 4/5 star hotels and find it hard to beat Palazzo - if you have a problem, it can always be fixed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnjoylifeQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Management Representative at Palazzo Versace, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2010

Dear EnjoylifeQueensland,

Thank you for your positive review and for the cool title - "Service, luxury & style".

After a number of stays at the hotel, it is great to read that our experience is hard to beat!

I will pass your feedback onto the Chief Concierge and Executive Houskeeper - I am sure that the respective teams will be delighted!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Our family had a wonderful stay at the Palazzo Versace on the Gold Coast. Everything was perfect from the first call to Reservations to book the room to the spacious and luxurious lagoon rooms, service from all the staff at every level who were friendly helpful and always calm and eager to please. With beautiful days the adults only pool area with oversized day beds with deep mattresses, as well as the option to hide away in your own cabana made for long leisurely days. Finally the menu of food drinks and cocktails had something for everyone to enjoy.

The sophisticated, luxurious and elegant surroundings of the Hotel allow for both families and couples to enjoy the experience.

The location of the Hotel provides walking distance to Marina Mirage where designer retailers await as well as fabulous restaurants and cafes where you can watch the world go by and dream of owning one of the magnificent cruisers that lie in wait.

For families, the Gold Coast is home to world famous Amusement Parks, spectacular Golf Courses, the Casino and choice of nightlife for all ages.

We will definitely be going back. A perfect venue for a special occasion or business conference.

Jeromine Alpe
Managing Director
Bureau Consulting Group

Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
2  Thank TripReviewerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Sweeping through the foyer of the world's first Palazzo Versace you are instantly surrounded by opulent luxury from all sides. Throughout the hotel there is a clever mix of traditional European style with splashes of vibrant colour and design which you would expect of one of the best design houses on the face of the earth.

Bedrooms offer refined style and comforts you would expect from a world class luxury hotel. Parque wooden floors throughout and marble bathrooms of a good size complete with large tub with jets. Tv, Dvd, music and wireless internet. Comfy bed with a pillow menu. Most of the suites also have a fold out sofabed suitable for small adults or kids. There is also a choice of aspect with many rooms. The lucky ones will request a pool or marina view whilst other rooms face above the circular entrance or across to the beach.

Foodies have a choice of a superb more formal restaurant, a more casual but funky marina-side restaurant or brassierie styled restaurant in the foyer. Food and wine list in all is superb. Prices are average for quality restaurants.

There is also a small gym connected to the Spa and indoor pool area as well as an enourmous outdoor pool complete with small sandy beach and toys for the kids.

As well as the bedrooms, the hotel offers apartments ideal for longer stays and families and have several meeting room possibilities.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flex_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

I was there for 4 nights on the easter break and the hotel is not only beautiful, the staff and the service is exceptional. Great food and cocktails by the pool.The best hotel I've been in Australia. Their marina restuarante "Vie" is fantastic. Even though its a family friendly Hotel, it was great for my boyfriend and I on a romantic getaway. Plus, there is free valet parking in the Hotel for our cars.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rambo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Booked a Lagoon Room which was pricier but we liked the look of it on the web page.

Got there a bit early - 12.15. "Check-in Andy" said he'd let us know when the room was ready so we went off for a meal. 1.15 no response so phoned: Andy said room still not ready. 1.45 we went back to the hotel and I asked Andy if room was ready: sorry no. Me slightly put out and when I asked why room still not ready was told in no mean terms that check-in is 2.00pm. Brilliant customer relations: especially as we were told by the concierge that the hotel was half empty.

That said: we enjoyed the hotel for the next couple of days. The rooms are reasonably good although lack the "gobsmacked" feeling of ....say... The club Nikko in Hong Kong or some of the lovely Tuscan hotels. The king bed was fine but I'm wondering why there was only one spare pillow? I know we could have phoned up housekeeping to get another one but we did worry that maybe checkin Andy had blacklisted us or that the Versace dungarees might wear out before she got there. I forgot my toothbrush and housekeeping was in like Flynn with an extremely good toothbrush.... but ...oddly... no toothpaste.

There are a lack of lifts. The Lagoon Room we were eventually given was south of reception and the lovely lady who walked us there had to carry me on her back for the last 200 metres: no problem for her she said, but I skinned my knees when she fell down for the third time.

The outside pool is excellent. About 60 metres long and a good depth for laps. Round the pool are something fabulous..... beds.... single beds..... king size beds with surrounding curtains for privacy. Chilled water and glasses were at various points which was tremendous. No famous people were there that day (apart from me (and of course check-in Andy)) but that wasn't a problem because we had a pretty blonde lady who promenaded every half an hour past our "bed". She changed costumes three times in one day which I was most appreciative of. Wife wasn't so accepting but she knows fine that a 25 year old isn't going to go for a pathetic 60 year old even although he does own a Ferrari and a chateau in France.

Breakfast was excellent. There was another Versace black clothed male who tried to give us the table 2 metres from the busy reception area but we're experienced hoteliers so politely feigned deafness and chose our own table 3 metres from the buffet rather than the 2 kilometres away he was trying to put us.

The Interactive Breakfast at the Watermark was far superior but this wasn't too bad because we loved the way that "pretty blonde lady" spent at least 2 minutes at each station in the hope that famous people like me were watching..... fat chance.... I was too busy getting stuck into the egg thingy.

All in all:

If you've got heaps of munt and don't really care about top class service then stay at Versace because it's a nice place and you may see famous old....old, old, old, old pop star people like me... and, obviously, Andy the jobsworth.

Would we go back?

Yup: it's really nice but it's a shame that some of the most self important people there seem to be the people who should be looking after you.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank icmcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
2.4 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,488 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,382 reviews
4.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,799 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Versace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Versace

Address: 94 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range: $267 - $1,191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Versace 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and the Gold Coast Broadwater, Palazzo Versace Gold Coast is ‘a destination within a destination’. A waterfront setting, spectacular architecture, Italian furnishings, extraordinary service and an ambience of pure glamour. Palazzo Versace is everything you would expect from the world’s first fully fashion-branded hotel; home to three award winning restaurants, famed day spa, Fitness & Wellbeing Centre, private marina, Versace Boutique and access to Australia’s first Water Salon poolside cabana experience. Housing 200 light-filled rooms in timeless craftsmanship accessorised by Bespoke Versace furnishing and a ‘Juliet’ balcony inviting the Gold Coast sunshine and azure skies to pour in. With a glorious sub-tropical climate; cosmopolitan approach to life; and the beauty of a Renaissance palace, Palazzo Versace creates the perfect holiday and the ultimate escapism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Versace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Versace Main Beach
Palazzo Versace Hotel Main Beach
Hotel Versace
Palazzo Versace Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing