We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to book again”
Review of Palazzo Versace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palazzo Versace
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't wait to book again”
Reviewed September 7, 2006

My partner and I stayed here for one night in May 2006. We thought the Hotel was wonderful and had an excellent time. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who went out of their way to help us. Upon check in we were upgraded and personally showed to our room. Breakfast was fantastic, pool area was very clean and relaxing. I am sure we will be booking this hotel again in the future.

  • Liked — The service
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank morty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    429
    242
    123
    129
See reviews for
391
906
60
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2006

I booked a 3 bedroom condominium with a roof spa for one night. On arrival I found the spa, which was the key reason for choosing that particular room, not working and so called for assistance. I wasn't sure if I had done something wrong as the instructions for the spa, in the manual, found on the bench in the kitchen did not resemble the actual control panel of the spa itself. Maintenance found the problem immediately and tried to fix it ,but after going back and forth to the work shop a couple of times found he didn't have the required parts and could only do a repair on a temporary basis.(very temporary as it turned out because another visit was required later in the evening)

Then I found the refrigerator was not cold and would not make ice. The same maintenance guy showed up and made 2 more visits before deciding he would just bring me ice. In all I had roughly 4-5 visits in the first 3 hours of my stay. I had chosen Versace for some R+R, not to meet the engineering staff so I decided to take a nap to distract from this inconvenience and was woken very shortly after by housekeeping staff who had let themselves into the suite and were outside my bedroom door yelling "hello anyone home!" and banging on the door, in what turned out to be an overzealous effort to put chocolate on my pillow. I was furious at being woken but still fairly stunned by the intrusion and could only manage to politely ask them to leave. Then I decided to have a shower and calm down as I had an important event to attend that evening. The shower in the main bedroom though had a mind of its own and in cycles of roughly 2-3 minutes would run normally and then send a brief burst of scalding water through before returning to the previously selected temperature. This was very annoying and quite possibly dangerous if it got any worse. I advised management of these and numerous other minor service problems in a letter of complaint recently and the response I got firstly from an assistant manager and then Sandra Tikal, the General Manager not only contained no apology but actually accused me of lying about some or all of my concerns. I am not exactly sure which issues precisely she is referring to though, as her response was so vague in that regard, as to be pointless. I also advised Sandra that I had read an interview with her where she had stated that complaints from customers, if correctly handled, are a potential opportunity to turn around an unhappy guest and thus retain their business. I feel she is entirely correct in that belief, but would suggest that calling a guest a liar is perhaps not the best method to achieve that outcome.

  • Disliked — service, complaint handling
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
39 Thank isthespahot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 12, 2006

Although the hotel is far from the airport, from Surfers Paradise, and from the theme parks, the hotel makes up for this in many ways. It is an absolutely gorgeous property with staff that have a strong attention to detail and service. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable with huge king sized pillows. The luxurious marble bathrooms are amazing and include a spa tub and separate shower. The delicious breakfast buffet in Cafe Mix includes a huge variety of items and the staff is very attentive. The pool area is beyond beautiful. Across the street, is a very attractive public beach. This is a lovely, wonderful, sophisticated place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 28, 2006

i stayed at the versace for 1 week and thought it is a little over rated and over priced. Service was fantastic and the breakfast and buffet dinner was by no means flawless, however the rooms are a little over done, the views from our SUITE was the busy, noisy, sea world drive. The chocolates every morning on the bed where a nice treat and the versace soaps and shampoos were wonderful. expected more from the indoor pool and the outdoor pool could have been better for a 6 star resort. overall $3000 later, it was no big deal, could of bought a versace dress and bragged about that more.

  • Stayed October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2006

This place was an absolute dream from start to finish. We stayed here for 2 nights after spending 5 nights in Surfers Paradise. It was the PERFECT way to end the holiday and indulge.

From the moment the porters came rushing outside to take our luggage and hold the doors open for us to walk into their opulent foyer, to the moment we left, they looked after us like we were the only 2 people in the entire hotel.

Check In
Room was not early as we were 3 hrs before the normal check in however they took our names and called the cleaners to prioritise our room. We were given a tour of the hotel and within 60 mins, the room was ready.

Room
Absolute luxuary. We had the Superior Suite with a lovely lounge, dining separated from a large bedroom with MASSIVE bed (We have a King at home, this muct have been bigger!) and stunning bathroom. The Spa was large, deep and definately relaxing. The marble vanity was a lovely touch.

The furniture is extremely classy - we felt like we were in a palace (and yes, we do have lovely furniture at home, this was just better!).

OK so the mini bar is ridiculously expensive and we had a tiny, tiny balcony, but who cares?! We spent the entire day in the spa/pool and the nights feasting in their restauramts or relaxing in the comfy lounge room.

Oh, the little extras are also great. Chocolates on a pillow every day, 2 times daily room cleaning/turndown service (I mean seriously - they close the curtains for you at night - are we THAT lazy!!), nice one page letter of things to do the next day and the expected weather forecast.

FACILITIES
The pool area is just fantastic. Many deck chairs surround the pool so there's always space. Covered or sun blessed, its your choice for the entire day. I moved every 2 hrs from chair to chair to get the best sun spot whilst my missus relaxed under a massive palm tree.

Water and lemon served by pool guys was a great touch and pool bar service was great.

Gym was fantastic - used it once, but why? Im not sure! There's no need when you're on hoidays. Indoor Pool and Spa were great too.

FOOD
Oh my God, the buffet was sublime. We dont usually eat at Buffet's due to their reputation but this was better than a 10 course degustation meal! For $70 pp, we gorged ourselves (in a civilised way!) from Bugs, Lobster, Oysters, Mussels, Calamari, Squid, Salads, Cheeses, Pork, Lamb, Roasts, and everything else you can imagine. There was an entire buffet of deserts too - at least 30 different types - it was just fantastic, quality food and lots of it.

We ate at the Marina next door the night before at Omoros Bros which is famous for Seafood with lots of celebs. For $250, we had great fresh seafood and wine etc, but for less than half the prize, the Versace Buffet had everything and more at the same great quality. Oh my god - the Kilpatrick Oysters - I cant stop thinking about the food. OK, enough already!

SERVICE
As you would expect, 6 star service. We were greeted ALL THE TIME and looked after very well.

I would definately include this hotel in your travel plans, even if its for 2 nights.

If there was one minor complaint I would make, it was the large amount of children that made a lot of noise in the pool LATE in the afternoon. After a day with their families, the'd come back and attack the pool!! However, this had nothing to do with the hotel and anyway, they're just kids - who cares! But truth be told, they were kinda loud sometimes!

Ok, thats all.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Zaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
2.4 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,122 reviews
1.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,662 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
4.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,820 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Versace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Versace

Property: Palazzo Versace
Address: 94 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Versace 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and the Gold Coast Broadwater, Palazzo Versace Gold Coast is ‘a destination within a destination’. A waterfront setting, spectacular architecture, Italian furnishings, extraordinary service and an ambience of pure glamour. Palazzo Versace is everything you would expect from the world’s first fully fashion-branded hotel; home to three award winning restaurants, famed day spa, Fitness & Wellbeing Centre, private marina, Versace Boutique and access to Australia’s first Water Salon poolside cabana experience. Housing 200 light-filled rooms in timeless craftsmanship accessorised by Bespoke Versace furnishing and a ‘Juliet’ balcony inviting the Gold Coast sunshine and azure skies to pour in. With a glorious sub-tropical climate; cosmopolitan approach to life; and the beauty of a Renaissance palace, Palazzo Versace creates the perfect holiday and the ultimate escapism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Versace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Versace Main Beach
Palazzo Versace Hotel Main Beach
Hotel Versace
Palazzo Versace Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing