We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Worst” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Versace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palazzo Versace
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Worst”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

First of all let me start by saying I once rated the Versace as my number 1 hotel out of all hotels I've stayed in the world. After last week it quickly changed.
From check in - I was advised that it would cost me $30 for valet, I thought it was a bit expensive so did it myself, I can live with that. I asked to leave my car out the front for a couple of minutes while I check in, the guy gave me some attitude and advised how busy they can be, I had 2 young children with me and I wanted to get them into the room ASAP. So he agreed to let me leave the car ( for a couple of minutes )

A brief summary - Our microwave and port a cot weren't in the room when we checked in, we had no power in our room, our rooms didn't get made up until after 4pm the next day, I had been wearing a singlet the entire time as its hot and most of my time was spent by the pool, on my third day I was refused breakfast as I was wearing a singlet, it hadn't been an issue for the first 2 days but the lady on a power trip felt the need to be quiet rude to me. I should mention we were the only people at breakfast as it was 6:30 am. I left and went to McDonalds. I understand a dress code but tell me politetly on check in not on my last day in front of my family.

The breakfast was average at best, the delivery of food if it wasn't forgotten in the first place took over 45 minutes. On checkin out I asked the bell boy to help me with my bags, he did so although made me feel bad about it, he pushed the trolley to my car and put all my bags on the ground and walked back to the hotel leaving me to pack the car myself.

Versace has 5 star prices with 2 star service, the staff treat customers like they are inferior. I've been staying at Versace for a few years, my family stay there and some friends stay, I will not return and I've advised friends and family not to waste the money.

Dont waste your money, the rooms are dated and small, the service has dropped significantly. The Versace is no longer the superior hotel of choice, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    404
    230
    111
    124
See reviews for
370
860
54
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Firstly we arrived to this wonderful hotel to be welcomed back, each and everytime we arrive to this wonderful hotel we are greeted warmly by the amazing team at Versace.There are many hotels in Australia but their is only one Versace hotel,the leader of them all. The hotel facilities for our stay has everything you need for a luxurious amazing holiday.The food and service each time we dine is exceptional,the staff go out of their way to make you feel special.We have been to this hotel several times through the year but what we are most impressed with is it's consistency and generous warmth each staff member has to offer.Service begins with a smile and every staff member we have dealt with always greets us with a smile and go the extra mile to make sure you have a fabulous stay each time.Versace team have become a part of our holiday life and always make us feel welcome.Rob&Rosie Powell

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Rosie and Rob

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for Palazzo Versace- It is greatly appreciated!

It is always incredibly special to hear from/and welcome back our return guests (our extended Versace family)- and to hear that each stay is as memorable as the last, as this is what helps makes our jobs so rewarding.

Rosie & Rob, we look forward to seeing you both many more times in 2014 and beyond.

Warm Regards

Leah Rasmussen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Amazing hotel. But for the amount I spent I was expecting more.. Food was ordinary. Need more variety for sure. The cost is high due to its brand value not the service or the hotel itself. Service was awesome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PuriW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

It's been a dream of mine to stay here for a few years- so booked in for husband's birthday, he flying from London and me in from NYC-- Husbands plane was delayed by a day so here began the nightmare... although our stay was fully pre-paid I was not allowed to check in before coming up with $500 cash or equivalent (H had our corporate card and I did not want hold to be taken on debit cards). Unlike the Four Seasons Sydney where staff are genuinely helpful and there to please, many of Versace staff act as if you are infringing their privacy to be in the place. Anyway, once in the room; WIFI as promised was NOT complimentary (beware the websites that clearly say it is in this property!) It even still says this in their in-room compendium & they will not honour it!) and after paying, it was intermittent then slow to use, disappearing completely for hours on end, we even changed rooms for this, and with help from a manager towards the end of our stay, we finally go some continuity happening, by then I had missed some vital work information. Breakfast buffet was dull and a bunfight to get eggs cooked personally. Spa facilities tiny and room amenities over perfumed! Nice deep bath. Please understand: I love to do things fancy and elegant but this just felt like living in a Barbie doll's house, picture-perfect yet nothing genuine or comfortable about it. Don't put yourself through it if feeling relaxed and looked after is your aim.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IslandAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Don't get me wrong, this is a very beautiful place. But for the money, we would have expected more. Service and food is OK. I have had better. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. I will highlight that their beds are some of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. Would I go back? Maybe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Palazzo Versace earlier and we have to admit that although we really enjoyed our stay our overall experience was not quite what we were expecting. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are specious but are starting to look a bit tired, the technologic appliances in the room are vintage 2004, the services was ok but the staff didn't go the extra mile as you would expect from a five star luxury hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Christian R

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your you stay at Palazzo Versace.

I am happy to announce that since your review in May, we have refurbished most of our rooms and updated much of our equipment - and I'm sure you would be delighted with the results.

Regarding your service experience, I was disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations on this occasion and I would love the opportunity to discuss your stay further to better understand what areas you felt we could improve in.

I can be reached via email at grm@palazzoversace.com.au.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards

Leah Rasmussen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Whilst the room we had was wonderful, had everything we needed, clean and tidy and the hotel was lovely, we felt that for a 5 star (self rated 6 star) there was a lot lacking on the service side that would have been unacceptable for even a 2 star hotel.
On saying this, we had a memorable time and would go back.
Check in was slow and the reception desks weren't obviously the reception area. 2 receptionists on with about 6 groups waiting. Receptionists were polite and helpful, but on checking in and checking out they seemed to not know the process or what was happening so had to keep going out the back to check things. We stayed 4 nights and each night the bar staff ranged from being rude/moody to slow and acting like they just didn't want to be there.
Breakfast each morning had everything and more that we could want, but the coffee would take at least 30 minutes to come out and on 2 mornings just didn't arrive even though we asked a couple of times.
4 of us had the Cabana package which was terrific, $140 included wine and other things plus the food menu was resonably priced for pool service, good staff out there and a wonderful experience which we will be back for.
Room service was SLOW and one night didn't turn up at all.
Paper in the morning was forgotten once.
We had a suite at $500 a night that was well set up, had everything we needed and good value Compendium in the room would have been great.

Room Tip: Get the suite with seperate sitting area if you are staying a few nights to get the full feel of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandMWeekendsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
2.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
1.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,548 reviews
4.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,094 reviews
4.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Versace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Versace

Property: Palazzo Versace
Address: 94 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Versace 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and the Gold Coast Broadwater, Palazzo Versace Gold Coast is ‘a destination within a destination’. A waterfront setting, spectacular architecture, Italian furnishings, extraordinary service and an ambience of pure glamour. Palazzo Versace is everything you would expect from the world’s first fully fashion-branded hotel; home to three award winning restaurants, famed day spa, Fitness & Wellbeing Centre, private marina, Versace Boutique and access to Australia’s first Water Salon poolside cabana experience. Housing 200 light-filled rooms in timeless craftsmanship accessorised by Bespoke Versace furnishing and a ‘Juliet’ balcony inviting the Gold Coast sunshine and azure skies to pour in. With a glorious sub-tropical climate; cosmopolitan approach to life; and the beauty of a Renaissance palace, Palazzo Versace creates the perfect holiday and the ultimate escapism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Versace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Versace Main Beach
Palazzo Versace Hotel Main Beach
Hotel Versace
Palazzo Versace Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing