We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tacky & Overrated!!”
Review of Palazzo Versace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Versace
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Reviewed August 8, 2008

This is a truly pathetic excuse for a luxury hotel! Upon our arrival we were ignored for more than 20 minutes despite the fact that there was only one other person checking in at the time and plenty of staff standing around doing nothing- you would think one of them could have at least acknowledged us whilst we were waiting for the one and only staff person serving at the reception desk.

When we finally checked in- my fiance and I were taken to our room only to discover that our request for a king bed was ignored. They took us to a room with two small beds- what a joke! Seeing as though the hotel staff did not have the initiative to question this when she could clearly see that we were a couple...we had to ask to be moved to a more suitable room.

The hotel has a valet service. However later in the afternoon when we had to get some items out of our car, they clearly couldn't find our car keys as we were left sitting in the reception area for close to half an hour- we thought may be they had forgotten about us?

Overall- the food was average, the room was ok and the service was poor & unprofessional and I would never go back there again. We have stayed at far better hotels that were less expensive. Perhaps some people just get caught up in the whole 'Versace' hype. But at the end of the day, this hotel should not rely on a brand name to market themselves as a world class leading hotel, because it certainly is not. It is all a facade and I would consider the hotel to be rather tacky and an embarrassment.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jayjay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,907 - 1,913 of 2,046 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2008

From the moment you walk in it's 5 star luxury. The air conditioning is scented with Versace signature oils that you smell before you even walk in. It's all very grand. A few minor things; the bathroom has no cupboard or drawers so cosmetics, hairdryer, toiletries etc are either on show on bathroom benchtop or in the wardrobe or bed side cabinets. The robe is a small cupboard with a small drawer at the bottom. It had very little room for 2 adults and all our things. Thought that a bit strange. Otherwise all perfect. Worth the money - absolutely. You're in another world staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank KMPAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

We as a family of 2 adults and 2 young children had a 1 night stay in a Superior suite. If we did stay again I would probably choose the Lagoon view room, location would probably be quieter as our suite faced the Mariner mirage and was a little noisy. Room was very nice and staff were extremely friendly. We spent half day by the pool which is fantastic for the kids. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast, probably the best we have ever had.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lov2getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

my husband and i stayed at palazzzo versace from 21 may to 1 june, best hotel ever visited we stayed 11 nights and had the time best time ever the staff were very freindly and helpful, buffet breakfast was 5 star and had everything you could imagine. we will definitley go again only with children next time also cannot wait for dubai palazzo versace to be finished and to go and stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ssjgohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We were there on our honeymoon...I loved the hotel :)

The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated..everything was "Versace".

The lobby was so romantic at night..they used tealights and lamps which gave the place a very warm touch.

Be sure to try the inroom spa packages. I personally chose the marshmallow bath and it was above my expectations.

The staff were very friendly and helpful...

  • Stayed: June 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nouf4476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2008

First impressions based on the marketing material and website were great. Granted, the last hotel we stayed at was the St Regis Grand in Rome and we were spoilt rotten, but all the same, I wasn't expecting too much from Palazzo Versace.

Arriving at check-in, we waited for what seemed an eternity while a stream of hotel staff walked each guest to a nearby lift. When it was our turn, we were handed the necessary forms and a key, and told to " walk that way". After five minutes of walking around in circles, we found a staff member who pointed in another direction and we managed to find our room.

Sleeping was impossible. There is an entertainment unit that weighs a ton and cannot be moved. Inside that is a fridge that cannot be unplugged due to size of the unit, but rattled and clunked on and off every ten minutes or so for the entire night. And the bathroom layout - there is no privacy between that and the sleeping area, so if you're going on your first romantic weekend away, be prepared to get to know your date very well. Walls are also paper thin so we could hear the guests next door partying all night.

Valet - be prepared to wait in excess of 20 mins.

Food - outstanding. Great restaurants, bar food exceptional, HOWEVER when it comes to the Breakfast buffett - forget it. Expect to be left standing around waiting for a table forever.

Overall experience -we were made to feel like cattle, and at $550plus per night, it wasn't pleasant!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Travelwithme123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Me and my partner stayed here for 1 night for our 2 year anniversary. We booked a lagoon view room with a balcony which was beautiful. We had a prompt check in, we were escorted to our room as was our luggage. The room was amazing and very big for a hotel room. It had a beautiful 2 person spa in the marble bathroom, a luxurious king bed and a view over the lagoon and a glimpse of the broadwater. The hotel was absolutely fantastic and definately well spent. Especially since we had valet parking included as well as a full buffet breakfast for two and you don't even need to pay for any drinks. The location is good next to seaworld and just a walk accross the path and you're at a shopping centre with cafe's, shops and boutiques like louis vuitton and hermes. Also inside the hotel there is the versace store which is amazing (don't take the credit cards in there). you really get treated like royalty when you stay here. The only downside was we tried to make a reservation for dinner in the hotel a week before we arrived and it was all booked out. We ended up having room service sitting on the balcony with great food without paying a premium for the name of the hotel. You have not stayed in a 5 star hotel till you have stayed here!!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank luke_brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
2.4 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,500 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,389 reviews
4.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,802 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Versace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Versace

Address: 94 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Price Range: $265 - $1,248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Versace 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and the Gold Coast Broadwater, Palazzo Versace Gold Coast is ‘a destination within a destination’. A waterfront setting, spectacular architecture, Italian furnishings, extraordinary service and an ambience of pure glamour. Palazzo Versace is everything you would expect from the world’s first fully fashion-branded hotel; home to three award winning restaurants, famed day spa, Fitness & Wellbeing Centre, private marina, Versace Boutique and access to Australia’s first Water Salon poolside cabana experience. Housing 200 light-filled rooms in timeless craftsmanship accessorised by Bespoke Versace furnishing and a ‘Juliet’ balcony inviting the Gold Coast sunshine and azure skies to pour in. With a glorious sub-tropical climate; cosmopolitan approach to life; and the beauty of a Renaissance palace, Palazzo Versace creates the perfect holiday and the ultimate escapism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Versace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Versace Main Beach
Palazzo Versace Hotel Main Beach
Hotel Versace
Palazzo Versace Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing