We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Palazzo Versace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Palazzo Versace
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was supposed to be a special break for my birthday. I booked through an agent (still $450 a night) but called the hotel direct beforehand to ask for a quiet room away from lifts and roads as I'm a very light sleeper. On arrival, I was allocated a room right next to a lift! I asked to be moved which they did....but to a room 15 fet away from a main road! Really noisy. Later in the stay, after many appeals to the front desk, I speak with the Assistant Manager who tells me in the superior rooms, you either get noise from the road, trawlers or the rubbish bins from the Marina Mirage!! There are no superior rooms without significant noise according to the Asst Manager. Get offered a bottle of sparkling wine to help me sleep!

Next day, I uncovered the pool situation. Impossible to get a sun bed after 7.30am unless you pay $50 and even then the majority of beds are in the shade for most of the day. Really tightly packed together too - think sardines, think Benidorm.

However, second day, through lack of sleep during the night, I decide to invest $50 in a Cabana. Booked and confirmed at the front desk. However, next day, turn up only to be told that it wasn't booked after all after a computer fault. Offered more wine ( they seem to offer you alcohol every time you complain - they just don't seem to get that you don't want to get drunk, you just want what you ordered and paid for)

As compensation for the total mess up on rooms and cabana, they offer to clear any extras on my room bill - $200 according to the manager as according to the system, I have allegedly ordered a bottle of Moët whilst sitting talking to him! I tell him he's got that wrong and later he confirms that they had allocated the $152 bill to room 152 in error (see other comments on incorrect charging)

Other bad points - wardrobe 8 inches wide and totally inadequate, no mirror in room, room never made up until past 5pm, no change of sheets, walls thin, too few power points, no wifi in rooms. If this is a 5 star hotel, I'll eat my sun hat! Check in and check out lengthy waits.

Good points - comfy bed and good buffet breakfast.

I have stayed at hotels in many countries but never paid so much for so little, Sheraton Mirage across the road is so much better and cheaper. Staff appear to realise just how lousy the place is and all they do is offer you alcohol to try and forget the whole nasty experience.

I really would recommend those who value comfort and value, rather than just being plied with booze, to go somewhere else. Versace Palazzo is a hotel trading on a name only not service or quality.

Ruined my holiday, my birthday and actually did drive me to tears on the Sunday the whole experience was so terrible.

Never again

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Jackie S

I am very sorry that your recent stay at Palazzo Versace was not the stay that you imagined it would be.

At Palazzo Versace we try to look after our guests as best we can and consistently deliver 5* service. We know that there are high expectations when you choose to stay with us, and we know that the smallest of details can impact a guest’s stay.

I understand that you had requested a quiet room prior to arrival, and our staff had tried to allocate one accordingly. As this was not to your liking we organised another option for you which was one of the quietest rooms we had available in the room category that you had booked.
I apologise if you felt that we were offering you a bottle of champagne to compensate for the ‘bad’ room you received. This was certainly not our intention; we were simply hoping to offer you something special to celebrate your birthday with.

Regarding your experience with booking one of our cabana’s, we do accept full responsibility for the mistake made due to an unforeseen technical issue that we encountered. As it was a magical day on the Gold Coast our pool area was very busy, however as we had made the error we quickly coordinated 2 sun beds that were arranged together and then affixed an umbrella for you and your partner to enjoy.
We understand that this may not have been what you originally requested but we had hoped that you would understand that we truly did wish to make your day special.

Warm Regards

Leah Rasmussen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    422
    240
    121
    128
See reviews for
383
892
59
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Me and my wife had 3 days to get away and Palazzo Versace meant our expectations in all areas especially dining. The dining and restaurant Vie next to the marina was outstanding especially along with a great selection of wines. The staff were excellent and very caring about making sure your trip was there to be enjoyed. The bedding in the rooms were flawless and for 3 nights we had the best sleep in years thank you versace.

Room Tip: High floors are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luba-bj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear luba-bj

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review regarding your recent stay and letting us know how much you enjoyed your dining experience at Vie Restaurant and how rested you felt after your visit.

I do hope that you return soon for more Versace experiences!

Warm Regards

Leah Rasmussen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Mihir in the restaurant always looks after us, and the food is always beautiful. Have stayed twice, once in suite and once in lagoon room and I definitely recommend staying in the Lagoon room, the view itself will make you feel like you're in the middle of the Caribbean. Was a birthday celebration, and we got a little bottle of versace perfume as a gift - a cute surprise. I would definitely stay again for a special occasion.

Room Tip: stay in the lagoon room! has a much better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_travelling_twin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Guest Relations Agent at Palazzo Versace, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear the_travelling_twin

We are absolutely delighted to hear you enjoyed your birthday celebration here with us at Palazzo Versace.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kayla-Jane Mooney
Guest Relations Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ladies and Gentlemen. If this is not the best hotel in Australia then I encourage you to find me one that is. Certainly, with the critics and classers it makes the grade. 6 stars with them. For me though, this establishment is more than just the exquisite rooms, the serene, personalised divine setting; it's more about what the little things were the Versace got right. Contrary to some views the staff are some of the best in Aus. These people have to pass rigourous quality control and it shows. There is no task to big or too menail and they go about their business with soul and decorum. There is mopre nice stuff too like the simply extraordinary attention to detail that they undertake. Their constant fussing over you is incredible. The breakfast to is good. You can ask the chef's for a personalised omelette and they will hapilly oblige. I thought going to a 6 star hotel would be like owning a Rolls Royce. Beautiful but a bit too clinical and I am very happy to say that I was wrong. This place has soul by the spadefulls. Anyone who says otherwise is not aprreciating the true beauty of the place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great here so there's no real 'better room'. A room facing the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hyperspace_175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear hyperspace_175

I like your description of your stay at Palazzo Versace - Epic! What a great title!

Hearing you that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you believe we are one of the best hotels in Australia is very heartwarming and rewarding. We believe that at Palazzo Versace we offer the ultimate in luxury and superior customer service, and we are often perceived as being one of the only 6* hotel's in Australia.

hyperspace_175, we hope to see you return soon!

Warm Regards

Leah Rasmussen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I spoiled ourselves with and indulgent weekend here.This was our second stay at the hotel and it exceeded all our expectations. The atmosphere is quite elengant yet relaxed and very likeable.The food was glorious at Vie and the buffet breakfast was amongst the best I have ever had anywhere in the world.We also sat at the Le Jardin Bar one night and had a couple of drinks - highly recommend to try Mai Tai; Hana (our waitress) was very friendly and professional as you expect in a five star hotel and made our night wonderful.
Overall,this hotel is expensive yes but worth every dollar. I want the best and I can only experience that from Palazzo Versace.

So if your looking to chill and enjoy now you know the place!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Paul U

Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Palazzo Versace.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Leah Rasmussen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Finally a hotel in South East Queensland that welcomes dogs! We've been waiting a long time to spoil our little girl even more than normal, and even though we only stayed one night, we all loved it. She was welcomed by staff from the moment we arrived, and well looked after in the room too with a futon for sleeping, crystal bowls for water and food (all Versace branded of course) and a food treat. It was a long walk though the maze-like corridors to get outside, but we managed that. Restaurants/bars and pool area are off limits to dogs, but we knew that in advance so it wasn't an issue for us. It's an expensive resort, but we thought is was great fun...

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sdc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear sdc69

I am delighted to hear that you and your gorgeous puppy Mrs Flanagan enjoyed our increasingly popular pooch package!

With a dedicated room available for our furry friends, a drool worthy doggie treat menu and all the Versace trimmings - it is a truly special package.

Now there is no need to leave man's best friend home alone.

Warm Regards

Leah Rasmussen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there over the long weekend. A nice place with all round good service.

The good:
1. Rooms are clean and welcoming with that Versace style.
2. Cabanas are awesome. Spend a whole relaxing day by the pool (make sure you book in advance @ $50 for the whole day it is worth it).
3. Buffet breakfast has a wide selection.
4. Complimentary parking (the drive way is tucked away just after the main entrance).

The bad:
1. Next to the door there is a knob that you turn to notify staff "do not disturb" / "Clean the room". It is small and easily missed. If you don't set to "Clean the room", they won't. But no one tells you this when you arrive.
2. No complimentary water. It's a small ask for a 5 star hotel at the rates that they are asking for.
3. Rooms aren't soundproofed as you can hear neighbours coming in and out of their rooms (ours was close to the lifts so not great).

Overall none of the bad things would stop us from revisiting.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear L E

Thank you for choosing Palazzo Versace for your recent stay on the Gold Coast.

At Palazzo Versace we take pride in offering the ultimate in luxury and providing comfortable and clean rooms, a spectacular pool setting and a delicious variety of menu options.

Complimentary parking is included, and valet parking can arranged at a discounted price prior to arrival. Our rooms are serviced and replenished daily unless privacy is requested.

Warm Regards

Leah Rasmussen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
2.4 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,042 reviews
1.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,631 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,733 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Southport
4.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Versace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Versace

Property: Palazzo Versace
Address: 94 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Versace 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and the Gold Coast Broadwater, Palazzo Versace Gold Coast is ‘a destination within a destination’. A waterfront setting, spectacular architecture, Italian furnishings, extraordinary service and an ambience of pure glamour. Palazzo Versace is everything you would expect from the world’s first fully fashion-branded hotel; home to three award winning restaurants, famed day spa, Fitness & Wellbeing Centre, private marina, Versace Boutique and access to Australia’s first Water Salon poolside cabana experience. Housing 200 light-filled rooms in timeless craftsmanship accessorised by Bespoke Versace furnishing and a ‘Juliet’ balcony inviting the Gold Coast sunshine and azure skies to pour in. With a glorious sub-tropical climate; cosmopolitan approach to life; and the beauty of a Renaissance palace, Palazzo Versace creates the perfect holiday and the ultimate escapism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Versace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Versace Main Beach
Palazzo Versace Hotel Main Beach
Hotel Versace
Palazzo Versace Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing