We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel experience with only a few letdowns”
Review of Palazzo Versace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Palazzo Versace
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel experience with only a few letdowns”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was my second time at this hotel and overall it is always an extremely enjoyable experience.
The staff here are always professional and deal with any issues very quickly and with total professionalism! Check in was a breeze however, I was surprised to find that this time round we had to pay $30 for valet parking when it was included in our room price last time we stayed and it was even mentioned in the hotel information in the room that complimentary valet parking is included.
We checked in around lunch time due to a booking at the hotel's SPA at 1pm and were happy to find that our room was ready so could go straight up. I had requested a quiet room and that's what we got. It was a bit of a walk from the lifts but definitely quiet!
SPA treatments were lovely and both my husband and my therapists were wonderful.
The rooms are lovely and include a very large spa bath. Only let downs in the room relate to the television. The sound echoed on most channels and you can't order movies which I thought would have been nice considering you can order room service for things like chocolate fondue strawberries so would have went nicely with a movie however, they do have a DVD player so if you do want to relax with a movie ... bring your own.
I would also like to say a Big Thank You to the staff here for allowing us to receive our buffet breakfast in our room for only a $5.00 room delivery charge. I am 36 weeks pregnant and was feeling very nauseous all morning so couldnt make it downstairs and after a quick call to reception they were happy to allow us to have our buffet breakfast delivered to our room! It was all set up beautifully within 30 mins and I was able to stay in my robe a little longer with my feet up in the room!
Overall ... wonderful stay! Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraceyT5445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    422
    240
    121
    128
See reviews for
383
892
59
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

I have visited Versave several times over the years for functions and dinners and decided to stay a few nights whilst my friend attended a conference at the hotel.

The Hotel is built with great retention to detail and is beautifully maintained so when things are out of place due to a lack of attention to detail then hey really Stan out. An example of this was mismatched lamp shades in bedroom, out of date beverages in mini bar and a couple of maintenance issues in the bathroom. I understand that things break but in a hotel in which they pride themselves on their reputation for excellence, management should be checking these hinges regularly do the guest doesn't experience a poor experience. We advised the hotel we would be arriving late and when we arrived there was no one to greet us, no one to valet our car or retrieve our bags, this simply is not acceptable for a 5 star property. We waited in the foyer for a few minutes before a night auditor appeared after delivering someone's luggage to heir room, seemed this staff member was responsible for all FOH areas at midnight, very poor.

We enjoyed our stay on the whole and the breakfast is really lovely. Rooms very well appointed and generally great service throughout and excellent service recovery when things didn't quit go right. The attention to detail is something that I had high expectations of and in this occassion it did not meet the mark. One thing I will commend them on is managements response to issues and they are truly committed to ensuring your stay is a great one, I just wished these issues were fixed in the daily checks so the guest does receive the service one is paying for.

I would stay again as in all the stay was very comfortable, good service and the housekeeping and room keeping is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Champagne4everyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Champagne4ever,

I would like to offer our sincere apologies for the arrival experience you received during your stay and I completely understand why you would be disappointed...first impressions count!

At your arrival time of midnight our staffing was limited and on this specific evening our night management team were attending to other guests. Even further, it was disheartening for us to learn that there was a combination of oversights in your room and I assure you this is not the standard of guest care we offer at Palazzo Versace.

However I am happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay on the whole and that our talented team of managers were able to offer service recovery. It is important to us that after a disconcerting first encounter we are able to turn your experience around and I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Please contact me directly as I would like to ensure your next stay is an impressive experience... from start to finish!

Best regards,

Nickie Warton
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I with our 2.5yr old daughter decided last minute to have a short break to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We arrived quite late on a Sunday evening, and were warmly greeted by the doorman.

On check-in, and after a brief discussion with the lady behind the desk, my husband decided the room I had initially booked (Lagoon Room) would not be quite roomy enough for the three of us, so asked for a bigger room type.

Efficiently and without fuss, we had a Lagoon Suite made available for our stay, albeit more expensive, well worth the extra room.

Being quite late and having a toddler in tow, we ordered room service, and were very pleasantly surprised by not only the selection, but the quality of the food, as with most hotels room service is usually a let down.

We found all staff to be friendly and professional, even when only in passing.

Breakfast was a treat, real espresso coffee and on one morning we even had the chef make us an omelette.

The pool looks so inviting but unfortunately the weather was too cold during our stay for us to go swimming with our daughter, but we did notice a few brave people taking a very refreshing morning swim.

And as to not miss a detail there was even a little printed note congratulating us on our anniversary. We most certainly will visit again, and would recommend our family and friends to treat themselves to the same!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

When we stayed at the versace we were attending a family wedding and we booked a junior suite overlooking the pool which we used as our operating base. We entertained our family ( children and grand children ) in the suites dining room and the children played in the pool.it was excellent for 12 of us . The other family members were sleeping in a pair of apartments overlooking main beach.

It was a memorable experience and we enjoyed it so much that we stayed on for a few extra days.

First Impressions
The facade is superb, the welcome and sales staff were friendly and helpful.
the facilities are what you expect for a 5 star hotel restauarants afternoon teas etc there is also a major shopping arcade interwoven in the surrounding area
The suite was elegant, luxurious and functional with separate bedroom , sitting room , dining room, superb bathroom and balcony from each overlooking the pool and plage.


Cost
The cost is obviously reflective of the versace brand but with the exchange rate being sightly in our favour at the time it was no more than a top quality hotel in Sydney, Paris or London.

One thing you couldn't buy was the kookaburra who perched on our balacony each morning, or perhaps that was another attention to detail -lol.

Room Tip: If you want the ultimate experience get a junior suite we did so nd
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonesthephone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Jonesthephone,

What a beautiful way to experience Palazzo Versace!! There is nothing quite as special as a wedding and when you are in a setting that has all the beauty, romance and sensationalism of a european palace, it only enhances the experience for you and your loved ones.

I'm happy you found the perfect room type for your stay (this makes an incredible difference) and that you also had a chance to enjoy the facilities and neighbouring boutiques. As noted, our costs do fall into the luxury hotel market but are very competitive on an international scale and we genuinely believe the memories are worth it!

As for that Kookaburra - what a bird of style! We are delighted that you enjoyed the best of Palazzo Versace and it would be a pleasure to personally take care of you on your next stay.

Please contact me directly for any future reservations.

Best regards,

Nickie Warton
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Spending a few days and nights at this iconic hotel during a Family Law conference. I am very taken by the professional attention to detail and 'can do' attitude. Typical dining at a very good standard with local produce. OTT furnishings and artwork (as you would imagine) add to the special and singular feel of the place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pool side ground floor is the essence of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry8850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Barry8850,

Thank you for taking time to write your wonderful review. We believe Palazzo Versace really is a fantastic venue for business and with first class dining options and facilities to match, any conference is a pleasure.

I'm delighted that you were able to experience the best of Palazzo Versace and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next law conference!

Best regards,

Nickie Warton
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

It has been a few years since we have stayed here. The rooms and their furnishings are showing their age and are in desperate need of a re-furb. Every lounge cushion we saw around the pool was filthy with stains, mildew and bird droppings which were not fresh!

On Sunday morning we called for a bucket of ice. There were no machines on the floor. It took ages for the person at the end of the guest relations line to answer the phone. He said he would get it to us straight away. Twenty minutes later, still no ice. Called again, similar wait for guest relations person to answer the phone. A further request made and then it was at least another ten minutes before the bucket of ice arrived. Our request was not a difficult one!

Service at the bar early on Saturday night was not good either. Five staff stood around the bar talking to each other as we sat waiting to order drinks. Ordered the same drink twice and totally different taste on each order. When we queried the waitress, she just shrugged and said it was the same drink.

Staff morale seemed low in all areas.

If you are not familiar with the area - the location is not good and you will need a car or taxi to get to any good restaurants, shops on the Gold Coast.

There are many new hotels at Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach, which are located closer to Pacific Fair shopping centre, Jupiters Casino and many great restaurants. You are spoiled for choice and Versace is not a hotel we would stay at again anytime soon.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a lagoon view room - at least you';; have something to look at other than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelwriter63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear nmclennan,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us at Palazzo Versace.

You have every right to expect a first class experience while you are with us and it seems there are service and product issues that have impacted your stay. We apologise for any service delays and assure you that this is not indicative of our usual service excellence.

Recently we received our AAA Rating (the hotel industry standards report) that gave us a result of 95% for Hotel Quality and Condition. The style of our property is neo-classical and we are in constant soft refurbishment to ensure it delivers a luxury hotel environment. But with your comments, our management team will take a closer review of the areas mentioned to ensure they meet our guests expectations.

Regarding hotel location, many of our guests tell us actually they love being in Main Beach... preferring to be out of the hustle and bustle of Surfers Paradise. Marina Mirage which is next to our property has some of the best shopping and dining experiences on the gold coast. Everything you need for a holiday is here!

As a return guest I believe you have enjoyed your experiences in the past, so much so that you have returned to us. We would love to redesign your next stay so that your opinion of Palazzo Versace is completely turned around. Please contact me directly to discuss your concerns.

Best regards,

Nickie Warton
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Went here on a two night get away. Overall it was an ok experience but we would not go again. A bit pretentious and overpriced for what you get. Location is also no ideal. Very pretty entrance and foyer. The spa and couples massage was very nice...but again it was a very expensive little get away. I guess that's what you expect with Versace though? Would not recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nastia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
2.4 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,043 reviews
1.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,631 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,733 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Southport
4.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Versace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Versace

Property: Palazzo Versace
Address: 94 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Versace 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and the Gold Coast Broadwater, Palazzo Versace Gold Coast is ‘a destination within a destination’. A waterfront setting, spectacular architecture, Italian furnishings, extraordinary service and an ambience of pure glamour. Palazzo Versace is everything you would expect from the world’s first fully fashion-branded hotel; home to three award winning restaurants, famed day spa, Fitness & Wellbeing Centre, private marina, Versace Boutique and access to Australia’s first Water Salon poolside cabana experience. Housing 200 light-filled rooms in timeless craftsmanship accessorised by Bespoke Versace furnishing and a ‘Juliet’ balcony inviting the Gold Coast sunshine and azure skies to pour in. With a glorious sub-tropical climate; cosmopolitan approach to life; and the beauty of a Renaissance palace, Palazzo Versace creates the perfect holiday and the ultimate escapism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Versace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Versace Main Beach
Palazzo Versace Hotel Main Beach
Hotel Versace
Palazzo Versace Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing