We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Provincial Restaurant - CLOSED

Provincial Restaurant
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
188 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Simply Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

This restaurant dished up the best meal we've had while on holiday in Australia. We partook of the Wednesday night Fillet steak and Shiraz promo for $69 a couple. The steak was cooked to our individual requests of blue and rare. It was tender, good temperature with lovely crispy vegetables. A very pleasant Barossa Shiraz to accompany the meal. Friendly and entertaining staff with a very nice ambiance. The menu had a good variety of choices and a very good wine list. I can well recommend this restaurant. Being off season it was steady and relatively quiet considering the number of diners on the night we were there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    30
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We celebrated our 3rd wedding anniversary here last night. The food was exquisite! My barramundi was cooked to perfection. Great prices for food and wine with an extensive selection of each. It was hard to decide what to order, so we'll definitely be back to try more dishes soon. Extensive gluten free options for fellow coeliacs. Extremely warm hospitality. A must visit!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MikiBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
339 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Provincial is a "Pro"!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Invited to a luncheon last week with my friend who lives in Main Beach , Gold Coast. Many cafes near her in the fashionable Tedder Ave . She suggested Provincial Restaurant as our venue , so duly met her there. Plenty of parking available nearby. PR is a newish establishment , now having a good following. Table for 2 at a window seating - great start! Lovely decor/ambience with French , Italian Provencal influence. Not overly busy for lunch but I understand bookings are necessary for evenings ,especially the musical nights. An extensive wine display was evident , but BYO is also available. My friend selected the herb crusted veal on rosti with Florentine spinach and sautéed mushrooms. I opted for the scotch fillet medallions , broccolini with pepper sauce. Both dishes were presented well and delicious! Quaffing , we decided on the waiter's suggestion of a delightful Rose. Definitely a restaurant to revisit / take friends.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BabsGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Consistently Best on Main Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Provincial is consistently the best on Tedder for the last couple of years. We have tried them all and it is great to have international quality dining readily available. We think that we are lucky to have a quality restaurant like Provincial on the Gold Coast.
1. Restaurant and Decor - The restaurant (and bar if you wish) are well located on Tedder and Peak Avenues at Main Beach and has both inside and outside seating (with plastic curtains and heaters if required). The decor is smart casual and modern ( lacking the pretentiousness of some). The furniture is understated and comfortable with relatively generous space.
2. Service - The staff have provided us with exceptional service each of our many visits over the last year. They are courteous, efficient and effective. Damir is an excellent host and his judgement on when and how to assist is terrific. The staff understand food and allergies and they are dealt with correctly without too much fuss.
3. Food - Although French Provincial based, the food has an Australian flavour. The menu is relatively extensive with a wide range of choice and modern twists that make it really interesting. The photos do the food more justice than description but the risottos (rice not over cooked as often is) and steaks (tender and cooked to perfection) are exceptional - though my wife lauds her preferred fish dishes too. The vegetables are also not overdone.
4. Allergies - As noted above, various allergies in the family have been correctly dealt flexibly and without fuss.
5. Wines - a relatively short but interesting list of current release wines - well chosen varieties and winemakers that are not all mainstream. Thankfully special aged bottles may be negotiated with corkage.
6. Value - It is not cheap but in my view is excellent value for the quality restaurant that I think Provincial is!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ascott150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We are regular diners here, we find the food consistently good and the service is exceptional. Dined here last Wednesday. The entrée mussels my wife had and the and lobster bisque I had were just beautiful and the steak mains we had were cooked to perfection.

Always a top wine served with the evening special. This weeks one is particularly good.

Highly recommend this restaurant. After two years of eating here the quality has never dropped off. The hands on owner takes real pride in the place and it shows.





Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Provincial Restaurant also viewed

 
Main Beach, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing