We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Family Cruise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Coast Canal Cruises

Gold Coast Canal Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.40*
and up
Gold Coast Broadwater Cruise Including Morning Tea or Lunch
Ranked #6 of 34 Tours in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover the beauty of the Gold Coast canals aboard our 1965 timber vessel. This relaxing 2 hour cruise is the perfect way to enjoy the Gold Coast's waterways and peek into the magnificent homes and lifestyles of the rich and famous whose homes line the canals. Cruise through these man-made canals and discover what is known as the 'Venice of Australia' with a Broadwater Canal system larger than the waterways of Venice and Amsterdam combined. During this 2 hour cruise we will explore the three islands Chevron, Cronin and Macintosh. View the ever-changing Surfers Paradise skyline and travel to Marina Mirage Queensland's finest waterfront shopping and dining resort, Palazzo Versace Australia's only 6 star Hotel and the Sea World Resort and Water Park. With informative commentary the skipper will share some of the history of the Gold Coast, profile some of Australia's rich list and give an insight to some of the Gold Coast's well known identities, so sit back, relax and enjoy the extensive views of the coast skyline. The best way to discover Surfers on the water.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
wards river
1 review
“A Perfect Family Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Our family hired a holiday house with a jetty on one of the Gold Coast canals. We wanted something different - a boat to pick us up and deliver us back to our jetty. We were fortunate enough to call Steve. Nothing was too much trouble, Steve made a canal cruise the most enjoyable experience. We were able to take our own drinks and nibbles, relax, listen to some fascinating information and the kids were even able to steer the boat. We thoroughly recommend and thank Steve for a perfect afternoon.
Dianne and Darby

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dianddarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadwatercruises, Owner at Gold Coast Canal Cruises, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi dianddarb, Thank you for a beautiful review. We could not be happier to be different and following this something that you ALL enjoyed. 'Perfect' as you so put it. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    19
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coomera, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

A big thank you to skipper Steve. My mother (who is on holiday from London), my 2 boys and I went on the morning cruise today. We had wonderful weather, a peaceful, relaxing cruise with a very informative commentary. We managed to see dolphins feeding, and caught the sun on the upper boat deck. Scones with jam and cream were yummy, thank you again for a great day, a great value trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 33maddy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadwatercruises, Owner at Gold Coast Canal Cruises, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi 33maddy1973, Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy to hear of your special day out and that we were able to provide a sense of serenity; what more could we ask for. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great cruising around the canals with fantastic commentary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had a wonderful cruise with interesting, informative and amusing commentary from Steve the skipper! Best value for money with a personal touch - would highly recommend this cruise.
Debbie & Walter from Melbourne

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Value Gold Coast Canal Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

A week ago we experienced a family run business canal cruise that was just perfect and included perfect weather too!

Captain Steve with his wife Rhonda run a value-packed, delightful, cruise on Broadwater and the Gold Coast canals, just perfect for individuals, couples, families and small groups.

Steve personalised the tour with friendly, funny and expert commentary on the voyage around the canals and you will be astonished at his knowledge of both past and present real estate prices and amazed at the many stories he has to tell about the neighbourhood.

"Jindalee" is a classic wooden boat providing a leisurely, quiet, relaxed cruise complete with self-serve Devonshire Tea along the way.

What we really liked was the friendly and welcoming way in which Steve conducts his tours.

For a full 2 hours on the water and an experience that will remain with you for many years, check out Cap'n Steve and "Jindalee".

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadwatercruises, Owner at Gold Coast Canal Cruises, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi, Warren L, Thank you for a very complimentary review. We are glad to hear of your complete experience and what more could we ask but to be an experience that remains with you; Just beautiful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great couple of hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

A trip out for a group of us on the coast for a reunion. Steve was a great skipper and very knowledgable about the canals and the people who lived there. We all enjoyed the outing. Free scones and jam and a cup of tea didn't go astray. I liked the wooden boat and the genuine people. Nothing plastic there. Well done.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kasper G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadwatercruises, Owner at Gold Coast Canal Cruises, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi, Kasper G, Thank you for a lovely review. We are glad to hear of your pleasant time with us and of your fondness for our timber vessel. We pride ourselves on what it is said to be; authentic and could not be happier to have conveyed this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Coast Canal Cruises also viewed

Gold Coast, Queensland
 

Been to Gold Coast Canal Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing