We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent experience-not to be missed!”

Gold Coast Canal Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.26*
and up
Gold Coast Broadwater Cruise Including Morning Tea or Lunch
Ranked #5 of 34 Tours in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover the beauty of the Gold Coast canals aboard our 1965 timber vessel. This relaxing 2 hour cruise is the perfect way to enjoy the Gold Coast's waterways and peek into the magnificent homes and lifestyles of the rich and famous whose homes line the canals. Cruise through these man-made canals and discover what is known as the 'Venice of Australia' with a Broadwater Canal system larger than the waterways of Venice and Amsterdam combined. During this 2 hour cruise we will explore the three islands Chevron, Cronin and Macintosh. View the ever-changing Surfers Paradise skyline and travel to Marina Mirage Queensland's finest waterfront shopping and dining resort, Palazzo Versace Australia's only 6 star Hotel and the Sea World Resort and Water Park. With informative commentary the skipper will share some of the history of the Gold Coast, profile some of Australia's rich list and give an insight to some of the Gold Coast's well known identities, so sit back, relax and enjoy the extensive views of the coast skyline. The best way to discover Surfers on the water.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“An excellent experience-not to be missed!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you do one thing on the Gold Coast, do this cruise! You will not be disappointed. This husband and wife-operated river cruise has been one of the highlights of our stay here. Steve and Rhonda are charming and helpful people who take pride in giving friendly, personal service. We spent a fabulous 2 hours on Steve's lovely boat which has a great deal of character and history. His commentary was lively, interesting and humorous; his knowledge is impressive and..... the Devonshire tea was scrumptious! If you want to share some good news, tell others- it is so good.....amazing value for money :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadwatercruises, Owner at Gold Coast Canal Cruises, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi David S, Thank you for your VERY kind review. We could not be more happier to be a highlight on your trip to the Gold Coast and we will continue to take pride in what we do. Kind regards, Steve and Rhonda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    19
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice trip for a sunny winter day”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lovely way to spend 2 hours sitting in warm sunshine during winter. Took my elderly parents along and they enjoyed the Interesting commentary and finding out about celebrity homes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadwatercruises, Owner at Gold Coast Canal Cruises, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi Natalie A, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you and your parents found our commentary interesting and enjoyed the fruits of our sunny weather on a Broadwater Canal Cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Well spent 2 hrs of guided tour around the place, the tour guide showed great enthusiasm in explaining everything around the place, not to mention complimentary great fresh scones and coffee and tea, would definitely recommend it for things to do in Surfers Paradise QLD.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TATAMATA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadwatercruises, Owner at Gold Coast Canal Cruises, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi TATAMATA, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed all our cruise has to offer right down to the scones. A big thank you for your review and to recommending Broadwater Canal Cruises on your Gold Coast 'to do' list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Run by a really friendly & nice guy. Informative commentary & interesting sites on a charming boat. A great way and relaxing way to spend a couple of hours. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lyndsey0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't let this family business be squeezed out by the consortiums.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This family run cruise is great value and the commentary is second to none. Local knowledge and humor combine to make this cruise very enjoyable. Top deck is the place to be but venture below to help yourself to tea, coffe and homemade Devonshire tea! This operator appears to be being squeezed out by larger players so support small business and cruise with Broadwater Canal Cruises. Not to be mistaken for Wyndham cruises.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Coralie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Coast Canal Cruises also viewed

Gold Coast, Queensland
 
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Gold Coast Canal Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing