We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Meriton on Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Super friendly and efficient staff, smiles and helpfullness all the time.
Studio with ocean view @ really good prices with a huge verandah and wonderful views.
Starbucks coffee a few minutes walk away, the Casino and Pacific Fair just across the road.
Large fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer, dryer, iron, a teapot (very important), big TV, wonderfully comfortable bed, clean linen and nice toiletries.
Total value for money and can't wait to go back. :)

Room Tip: Corner studio has a bigger balcony, small gym but good for a quick workout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 70 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is a very well priced hotel. Our room was tired and sparsly furnished. The lampshades were broken, but the bed was pretty comfortable.
The best part of this hotel was the view over the broadwater of Southport and beyond. This very is very special.
The dryer was average and old, the kettle was plastic, not enough toilet paper. It just lacks something. It's very basic. The 2nd bedroom is not airconditioned and the window are unable to be opened. Something to consider if staying in warmer months. The room we stayed in needs a make-over. It's all a bit blah.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We booked the Meriton on Main Beach apartment based on a combination of price, location and reviews.

The apartment was a three bedroom on the 11th floor of a reasonably modern looking block a very short distance from the shops and restaurants of Main Beach (Tedder Avenue).

The area appeared to be quite up-market with more than it's fair share of high marque cars and well healed clients in the coffee shops and restaurants.

The apartment itself was spacious, with three bedrooms, one en-suite, a large lounge, separate dining area, fully fitted kitchen and separate laundry room with washing machine and tumble dryer. A good sized TV, surround sound, DVD and VHS players were also provided.

The kitchen was equipped with full sized hob, oven, microwave, electric cooking pan, etc.

The only reason I've not given the full 5 stars would be that there were some very minor issues with the apartment, namely a few areas where there was un-repaired damage to window sills and signs of damp (possibly down to inadequate ventilation in the laundry room), but overall we were very pleased with the comfort and facilities in the apartment and wouldn't hesitate to book the apartment again.

Surfer's Paradise is a short (3km) walk or drive from the apartment, which offers a wider selection of shops, restaurants to suit all budgets and a more vibrant night life, but if you're looking for somewhere close to the action but with a bit more of an upmarket feel and quieter nights, then Main Beach is definitely the place to be.

In addition to the apartment you have use of the swimming pool, sauna, hot tub, tennis courts (with rackets and balls available) and gymnasium.

Parking is provided for 1 car per apartment via a secure underground garage, with access to both the garage and lifts restricted to those with electronic keys. Access to the apartment floors is also via electronic key.

Room Tip: The three bed apartments afford fabulous views 11/62 for example offered stunning views both inland...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smurf4568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

After looking around for a two bedder on the Gold Coast for Easter we selected Meriton on Main. From the moment we arrived I was glad we did. We were very happy with our 14th floor apartment. Beautiful view of Southport area in the spit (between Australia Fair and Seaworld) and also ocean glimpses. The apartment was spacious and the kitchen was incredibly well resourced. We had no trouble finding just about every utensil you could think of. The apartment was not styled straight out of a recent magazine but there were two big bathrooms, a great balcony and another smaller off the master, the beds were very comfortable and there was a big lounge. There is an indoor pool, outdoor pool, spa and sauna. Walking distance to the beach. $10 cab to Surfers. But why stay in Surfers when down the road is this much nicer relaxing pretty area! (Not to mention the much better accom price!) My expectations were well and truly exceeded here. We had a wonderful long easter weekend and will be back.

Room Tip: We were in Room 79 on the 14th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 7 nights at the Meriton and wish we could come back every year. Location and views are fantastic and so are the friendly helpful guys downstairs. In fact the service from the guys was excellent. Overall a fantastic place to stay!

Room Tip: Get one with a view. Also, you must realise this is not a hotel, be prepared to buy you own loo pape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Have stayed there many times and it was good to see the place finally getting a bit of a makeover.
The guys running it are really helpful and always go out of their way.
Location is fantastic - near the beach / surf club + Tedder avenue

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davejlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

My husband and I have stayed in these apartments on a number of occassions and never have any complaints. All the apartments both 2 bedroom and 3 have been lovely. We especially love the apartments overlooking the Broadwater just perfect for gazing at with a glass of wine. Greg and Ian the caretakers are fantastic and nothing is ever too much trouble for them. The facilities are fantastic and their prices very reasonable. I would recommend these apartments to anyone wanting a great time on the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Childs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
3.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Xanadu Holiday Resort
#1 of 18 in Main Beach
651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maldives Resort
Maldives Resort
#4 of 5 in Main Beach
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oscar On Main
Oscar On Main
#3 of 18 in Main Beach
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meriton on Main Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meriton on Main Beach

Address: Meriton Apartments 29 Woodroffe Ave, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range: $118 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meriton on Main Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated off Main Beach's famous Tedder Avenue, The Meriton on Main Beach offers holiday apartments to comfortably accomodate yourself and your family's stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Meriton on Main Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meriton On Main Beach Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing