We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, great location and views - it just needs a good clean!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carrington Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carrington Court
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great location and views - it just needs a good clean!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The overall 'average' rating I've given these apartments isn't fair because some things were fantastic and some things were terrible so I've had to even them out. The view from the balcony and the superb location between the beach and the restaurants made up for the one major and a couple of niggly little problems with the accommodation.

The major problem was the cleanliness. There had been a major turnover of occupants in the apartments on the day we arrived and I was told that the cleaning staff were frantically trying to get all the rooms done before the next lot of holiday-makers arrived. I wish they'd been given a bit more time because our unit was pretty dirty. Plates, cups, crockery and saucepans had all been put back into cupboards and drawers by the previous occupants without being washed. Gross. And they'd left their hair-covered soap in the manky soap holder in the shower recess. Ewww. When I mentioned this to the manager at check-out, he apologised and said if I'd brought it to his attention sooner, he'd have sent the cleaning staff back. Fair enough.

My niggly little complaints were things like very worn furniture, towels so full of fabric softener that they didn't absorb water, stained (but clean) sheets, and mismatched, chipped crockery and glassware.. None of this really mattered, though, as we spent all day every day at the theme parks and the kids swam in the heated pool every evening. Everything in the unit worked and I thought the price was very reasonable, given the time of year.

On the huge plus side, I watched whales every morning from the balcony (hooray for a marine mammal experience minus the sea-sickness!), the beach is just over the road and there are restaurants for every taste and budget and small supermarkets within easy walking distance. The security basement parking was easy and convenient and they provide trolleys so you can ferry all your stuff from the car to your apartment in one trip. The manager was genuinely welcoming, helpful and apologetic about the poor standard of cleanliness.

Room Tip: Our east-facing room had brilliant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Thank you to Eddie and Tracey for another fantastic stay.
This was our second stay with them and again didn't disappoint. We bought some friends up to stay as well this year and they loved their apartment and the awesome location.

We will definitely be back for another visit next year and hope to have the same great apartment as this visit.

I would recommend staying here to anybody.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We love staying at Carrington Court and would love to do so at least twice a year if we could. This is our third stay at Carrington Court and as always we were very happy. The appartment is clean and very comfortable. The views from the appartment are stunning and all you need to do is cross the road to get to the beach. Management (Ed and Tracy) are always very helpful and friendly. There is a 711, subway and cafe down stairs. Tedder Street is only a short walk away and there are loads of good resturants there. We are already planning our next holiday to Carrington Court!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakers Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

I was very lucky in finding a vacancy here on the gold coast for the first week of January after a last minute decision to take the family on a quick getaway. When booking, I was told the apartment had an ocean view, but sometimes this means leaning dangerously over a balcony.

When we got there, I was absolutely amazed at the wall to wall windows and balcony which faced the beach - and uninterrupted ocean views up and down the coastline. The apartment was very spacious, light and airy, and the five of us were very comfortable - quickly relaxing into the 'Queenslander' lifestyle!

We walked across the road to a patrolled beach, walked down the beach to Surfers Paradise for Market Night, and were within 20 mins drive to all major theme parks (and a few shopping outlets).

Off street secure parking was provided, and the managers were very friendly, helpful and had lots of information. The rates were also very reasonable, considering the time of year.

Really, the only negative comment I have is that we had to leave!!

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view, can't beat it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mumluvshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
94 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We booked here for the heated pool, which wasn't heated after all. Very disappointing! Stressed owner killed our holiday vibe on arrival with tales of her own family + wishing the holidays would be over. I had to clean the fridge before unpacking into it, and wash all the cutlery and some plates and pans before using.The sliding doors, both verandah and some indoor were very tough to move.Mattress protector stains we noticed when leaving totally freaked us out! The view is lovely and the cafe on the corner was nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11Cab11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in flat #30 level 9 and had a very good time. First of all the location. Opposite the beach, this flat has a nice view ( 40%) and is high enough so very quiet. It also has aircon ( not all of them have). The building is a few roads away from Tedder av the main restaurant strip in Main Beach and 20-30 mins gentle walk to SeaWorld. Just perfect spot.
I can only comment on our flat as I know they are all differrent. We had a 2 bed, 2 baths unit. It was very comfortable, modern and the kitchen was well equipped , you could cook properly if you wanted. You also had plenty of nice touches such as tupperwares and plastic cutlery for the kids. There was also a sandwich press, basically all you could need on holidays. Rooms were comfortable and the 2 MD bedroom had a bunk bed and a single so plenty of space to sleep 5. We did not try the pool nor the Tennis but they were looking great and inviting. The management of the property was extreemely helpful and really pleasant. We just had the best stay and most of all we did not break the bank. Highly recomend

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bambasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Awesome view and location. Shame the apartment was dated, dirty and really hot and stuffy with NO AIR-CONDITIONING. The apartment is slighty side on to the beach so the cool breezes blow across the balcony and not into the unit. Had to keep doors open at night for airflow which would be fine but for the road noise. 9 floors up but it was quite noisy. Sliding doors were rusty and hard to open. You clean your own kitchen utensils which is fine but we had to clean everything before we used it because things like frypans were so greasy! Also the colander was rusty, the kitchen utensils were bad, there were no tongs and no egg flip! We loved the location but this place needs some maintenance, air-conditioning, new kitchen utensils and checking of cleanliness. We wouldn't stay again :(

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justwannabeskiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Main Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maldives Resort
Maldives Resort
#4 of 5 in Main Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Views Resort
Pacific Views Resort
#7 of 18 in Main Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Xanadu Holiday Resort
#1 of 18 in Main Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
0.2 mi away
Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington Court

Property: Carrington Court
Address: Carrington Court 3576 Main Beach Pde, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carrington Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carrington Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Court Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing