We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Location”
Review of Oscar On Main

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oscar On Main
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our family have stayed at this location for the last few years, and rate it highly. As a family with a 4yo daughter, having good facilities for kids is important. Oscars ticks all the boxes. The indoor heated pool (& outdoor), small shallow spa that was really warm and my daughter loved as her own private pool (it was usually empty of people), playground i block away on the foreshore, beach 1 block away, and lovely shopping strip app 40m walk all combined to make this a great spot.

Dont be decieved by the gold coast location either. Main beack is quiet little nook hidden at the nothern end of the coast, with a more upmarket feel. Traffic is qenerally quiet and relaxed in the surrounding street. Buses regularly pass through if you have no car and need to travel to Southport where the main supermarkets are.

Oscars is a lovely building. Ensure you enquire as to fitout of your room. Different rooms have markedly different furnishings and fitout, with the one building containing variuos different room layouts. The staff were kind enough to send photos of our room prior to arrival, whuch was lovely. Did not want to spend our annual 3 week holiday in a place that disappointed us. Oscars certainly passes the test and we would be happy to return again and again.

Room Tip: For longer stays, ask for a room photo to ensure you will be happy. No flyscreen doors, so lock the...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Thanks for your lovely review. We work hard to please our guests and enhance the reputation of Oscar on Main so ti is wonderful when guests appreciate the extra steps we take to ensure you get what you want and expect. We looked at many locations before settling on Main Beach,
It is definitely more upmarket, stylish and the 'hidden gem' at the top end of the coast. Perfect location. We love it and we are glad you love it too. See you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Oscar On Main
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 338 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here and we love this building with its close proximity to the beach and the shops and restaurants on Tedder Avenue. The managers, David and Angela, and reception staff, Sonya, welcome guests well and were very helpful throughout our stay.
Oscar on Main is a very well kept building always clean an tidy as are the ground floor facilities that include indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a tennis court, gymnasium and guest lounge with a well stocked library. The underground and above ground car parks are well kept and very useful. All apartments have excellent well equipped kitchen facilities.
The reception area has a well stocked series of information leaflets giving details on the many tours, excursions, cruises and other places to visit at the Gold Coast - Australia's tourism capital.
We hope to come again

Room Tip: There are one bedroom apartments on the lower floors and two and three bedroom apartments on the hig...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you Paul for your kind words. It has been lovely having you and your family come and enjoy everything Oscar on Main has on offer. I am glad we have lived up to your expectations and hope to be your 'home away from home' for next year's winter in Greece. Safe travels back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Great location, close to Tedder Ave. Spacious rooms. Awesome views. Friendly, helpful staff. No extra charge for parking. Have stayed in several Main Beach apartments but this is definitely my favourite.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thanks OzJude. Really appreciate you taking the time to review us and for the great comments.
We are happy to be your favourite Main Beach destination and look forward to welcoming you back to Oscar on Main.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Oscar on Main was a great destination for a small family. The apartments are very large and well proportioned with 2 full sized bathrooms and walk in wardrobes,king bed, aircon, large kitchen. The pool and BBQ facilities are very useful and clean. I would make one very minor recommendation about fitting the kitchen out so you can do some proper dinner cooking, like a decent fry pan etc (apt 31 on level 8). The middle levels looking over the caravan park north east toward the ocean provide an amazing view looking at trees and beach - not other buildings. Thank you the staff, they were very helpful and welcoming. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Choose the north east corner between level 8 and 15, high enough that you are away from the noise bu...
Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Rupert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thanks for taking the time Rupert B to give us some great feedback. I am so sorry the frypan was not to your liking. I have added it to my next order of kitchenware to get another bigger frypan. I wish you had mentioned it while you were here as I would have been happy to get you something straight away. I do appreciate you giving us the feedback though because if we don't know we cant fix it. I am so glad you plan on returning - don't forget to get that loyalty discount when you book next time. We would love to see you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

A very comfortable stay at Oscar, the unit (14) is huge including good quality beds and king size in the main bedroom made for a good sleep. Overlooking the pool and gardens was ideal with such well cared for grounds and beautiful lush tropical gardens, having a preference for a lower apartment out of the winds and heights.

The location was great having everything within 50m, good food, great coffee and of course the patrolled beach.

Thank you to management and staff for a great holiday due to your welcome and assistance when required.

C

Room Tip: The higher you are the winds can restrict you from using the balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay at Oscar. That apartment has just been tastefully renovated with a new lounge suite and other soft furnishings so I ma glad you enjoyed your stay there. I loved the tropical garden out look from that apartment. It does feel like you are living in a tree house, whilst still enjoying the sea breezes, as you are still facing the ocean.
Please come back again and enjoy the delights of our lovely resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Beautiful room with a beautiful view! Couldn't have stayed at a more amazing place. The hotel was a 5 minute walk from the beach, and a few minutes walk away from some cafes and a convenience centre. The room had 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with an amazing view of the beach from the 19th floor. The staff were really great and were only too happy to help when we needed assistance with anything. Would definitely recommend to others!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thanks Karina C
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Oscar on Main. Always happy to welcome some Kiwis to our beautiful resort. Next time you book, don't forget to tell us you are a returning guest and get the promo code for your loyalty discount. We would love to see you on your next holiday here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Firstly I would like to congratulate the whole team at Oscar on Main. A special thanks to both Sonya and Angela. From the moment you check in you really start to feel special. The staff are energetic, helpful polite people that make sure your stay is one you will remember and never forget. I loved the location. Its a simple 2 min walk to the beach and 15 min drive to all the action. The views are to die for. The apartment was very well furnished. The beds were very comfortable and both bathrooms had plenty of room. The balcony was a great size, so that afternoon drinks could be enjoyed taking in the spectacular views.. I totally recommend this resort too every one. You wont be disappointed. I hope to get back to the Oscar on Main soon for another amazing holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajcullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thanks Your kind words make all our hard work worth it. We love to exceed the expectations of our guests. We would welcome the opportunity to make sure your next holiday is just as amazing!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
1.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,724 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
0.1 mi away
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Xanadu Holiday Resort
#1 of 18 in Main Beach
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maldives Resort
Maldives Resort
#4 of 5 in Main Beach
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar On Main

Address: 1 Hughes Ave, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range: $117 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oscar On Main 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned and spacious 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments. Oscar on Main captures the spirit and essence of fabulous Main Beach in every facet. Our first class 4.5 star resort is just a short stroll from Australia's famous Gold Coast beaches and many local Gold Coast attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oscar On Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar On Main Hotel Main Beach
Oscar On Main Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing