We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Oscar On Main

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oscar On Main
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Loved our apartment. So spacious and has everything you could ever want. It was very clean, modern, and had great views. Great location, short walk to beach. The only thing i could say against our stay is that Wi Fi should be free. Most places we have stayed at has this free these days. Otherwise that an awesome weekend away at main beach .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherelwalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay and loved your apartment and location.
We are currently installing some upgrade equipment and plan to offer free wifi to guests in the very near future so it is coming. So happy we helped you have an awesome weekend!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 347 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

Oscar you are beautiful - the first thing that stunned me was the beautiful gardens - fit for a Princess. Then the building itself, the architecture, the finish, the people - all A+++
Location, right on the sea but just far enough back to hear a soft swishing of the waves which were soothing and peacefull. Both The Southport club and Yacht Club on the doorstep, the beach, the safe swimming. The restaurants such a choice and so close - who needs a car.
Little wonder Oscaronmain wraps it up in its name "Oscar 1st class" Main Beach because it is!
Congratulations to all those who have been before us - the designer, the builder, the developer - you hit the mark - Well Done. Happy are those who can experience this true gift to the people. A big thankyou to the management also.

Room Tip: Any room will do because every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dogsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We love Oscars and Main Beach as well. We chose this building and the location as our home and our business and our life because we love it here. Truly a hidden gem on the coast.
So glad you found us and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to making your next stay a memorable quality experience. Don't forget to quote the return guest code when booking so you get the loyalty discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from celebrating my birthday with a weekend stay at Oscar on Main. We had a truly wonderful time & I could not fault our stay in any way. Oscar on Main is a great place to stay. The staff are incredibly friendly, welcoming & helpful. We stayed in a 1-bedroomed unit & it was clean, comfortable & very well equipped & had stunning ocean views. Oscar on Main is very well situated with everything close by so you can put your car in its underground park & leave it there.

In summary, this is our new favourite place to stay & I don't see any reason to go elsewhere. If you choose to stay there you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peninaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

We love being your 'new favourite place to stay'. Thank you so much for your kind words. It does make us feel rewarded for all the hard work we do to make sure we make your stay a pleasant one.
Don't forget to tell us next time you book that you are a returning guest so we can reward your loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here recently for 4 days. Have stayed at other places in the area in the past, but now will only stay at Oscars! Friendly managers, lovely gardens and a fabulous view. The apartments are very clean with all the necessary items required for a comfortable stay. Close to great restaurants at Tedder Avenue. Really can't fault anything about our stay, will certainly be back!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rastus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

We appreciate your review and lovely comments. Glad to hear we looked after you so well. We love Main Beach and of course, we chose Oscar on Main as our home so lovely to see others enjoying it too. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We recently stayed for three days at Oscar on main. We came to see the whales on their migration north and were not disappointed. Our unit was south east facing and was just perfect for us, my 86 year old parents were with us and they really enjoyed Oscar as well. Main beach really is the quiet jewel on the coast and the local facilities on Tedder avenue are more than ample. A very courteous management team made our stay really enjoyable, thank you.
Oh and the weather was just perfect July winter days 25c.

Ron

Room Tip: Maybe a north/east facing room in winter. We stayed on 11th floor and views were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thanks Ron. Glad we were able to ensure that you and your parents had a wonderful 3 days together, enjoying all the delights Main Beach has to offer.
It has been a wonderful start to the whale season, with many sightings. Guests have watched them frolic from the balconies of the apartments on a few occasions as well. The whaling season lasts until November so you have plenty of time to come back and see them again.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Oscar on Main was great location being right beside Tedder Street shops and restaurants and one street back from Main Beach. Also able to walk across bridge to Southport and down to Southport yacht club. Nicely appointed apartment building and beautiful views from 27th floor especially with lovely balconies put from lounge and bedrooms. Spacious apartment and well designed. Host very hospitable. Would recommend highly to anyone wanting a holiday break in Surfers Paradise.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hughesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Awesome review - thanks
Glad you made the most of the views from the balconies and exploring the locale.
I think Main Beach beats Surfers Paradise any day so definitely come back here again.
At least the weather was warmer than in NZ for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was our third visit to Main Beach and after checking reviews and recommendations we considered Oscar on Main. We were attracted to the heated indoor pool for the kids. We were very pleased with our stay, friendly managers from our first contact. The building is immaculate. The kids were excited to find the room had plenty of toys, games and DVDs to keep them busy. It's perfectly located near the beach and Tedder Avenue. We had 3 BBQ dinners in the lovely grounds. We will certainly head back to Oscar next time we visit the Gold Coast.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank GreatAdventures2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are vey proud of what we have achieved since we have been here. For you to rate the building as 'immaculate' makes all our hard work worthwhile.
Lovely to have you all here. It was a pleasure to host such a delightful family.
We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
3.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
0.1 mi away
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Xanadu Holiday Resort
#1 of 18 in Main Beach
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
0.2 mi away
The Crest Apartments
The Crest Apartments
#5 of 18 in Main Beach
224 reviews
4 mi away
Bel Air on Broadbeach
Bel Air on Broadbeach
#2 of 51 in Broadbeach
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar On Main

Address: 1 Hughes Ave, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range: $102 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oscar On Main 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned and spacious 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments. Oscar on Main captures the spirit and essence of fabulous Main Beach in every facet. Our first class 4.5 star resort is just a short stroll from Australia's famous Gold Coast beaches and many local Gold Coast attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oscar On Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar On Main Hotel Main Beach
Oscar On Main Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing