We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Oscar On Main

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oscar On Main
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stay in Oscar main for 2 weeks it's was fabulous I could hear/see waves from my balcony on 9 th floor it's the best location such it's 1 min walk to the beach and 1 minute walk from Tedder avenue main beach is very exclusif and hight class
Also the one bedroom are very spacious/big very comfortable and very quiet.
Mary & Rebecca were very helpful and gave me 5 star service trought my stay there
I also love the steamroom
I will def return Prob for 6/8 weeks
It's was magical australia is wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchymalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. I agree - the location is fabulous....and I do love the sound of the ocean.
Please remember to tell us you are a return guest when you book so we can offer you a return guest rate - to reward you for your loyalty.
We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    86
    13
    3
    8
See reviews for
163
91
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at Oscar on Main with family and 2 young children. Great spot right near the surf of Main Beach and the Tedder Ave shops and eateries. Large two bedroom apartment with plenty of space and TV's. Served as a base for theme parks, beach and shopping days, all within easy driving distance. Great spot at the best end of the Gold Coast!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillip_stjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
The best end of the Gold Coast!!!
Love that saying.
We do believe that Main Beach and the delights of the northern end are the best. Convenience, transport, quality, variety and general ambience all combine to make Main Beach a quality destination. Oscar is nestled in the heart of it all so please come back again to enjoy some more of what is on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highett, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Gold Coast was in storm mode whilst we were in South Eastern Queensland....however Jessica at Oscar on Main warmly welcomed Ann and me and provided us with clear directions and details for our stay. The apartment(62 on the 18 level) offered ocean views and a cooling breeze, was spacious, clean and well appointed. We found the location ideal - some wonderful retaurants especially the Thai restaurant at the southern end of Tedder Avenue and a delightful coffee shop just around the corner with superb coffee... all within 5 minutes of our accommodation. If we required additional towells, soap or detergent the staff on reception were only too happy to assist. Despite the weather our stay was enjoyable, the wedding we attended was wonderful....all in all Oscar on Main has encouraged us to make this a destination for the future.
Geof

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geof P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
The managers may have changed but the warm welcome is still very much here at Oscar on Main. The beautiful heated indoor pool area is gorgeous any day, but especially pleasant on those stormy weekends. Glad you enjoyed your Oscar experience. Please come back and meet the new team. We would love to have you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were looking for a good option for family accomodation near to Seaworld and other attractions. Oscar on Main is spacious, clean and well positioned. Whilst a couple of blocks back from the Beach we enjoyed terrific ocean views and the slightly quieter streets. There is a handy convenience store and coffee shop just up the road. The outdoor and indoor pools are large enough to have a decent splash too.

Room Tip: Go a few levels up for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mlear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We are located really well for SeaWorld and other theme parks. Although we are a block back from the beach, we do have uninterrupted ocean views. The benefit of being a block back is that we don't get all the traffic, or the salty winds quite so much, so it is more pleasant for everyone.
Glad to hear you made time for a splash.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We like Main Beach and have stayed at other places many times. We tried Ocars this time and enjoyed the experience. Nice spacious apartment. We had a two bedroom. Well fitted out kitchen with lots of stuff not just the basics. Carpark was easy to use and wide slots. The speed of the garage door closing needs to be slowed up as twice we had to go back and re-swipe our to open the doo, once in the rain! We had a couple of minor issues but they were addressed quickly by the team. Bar-b-que and pools areas were fine. View is great as you look over the caravan park so nothing blocking. That was great for New Year when there were local fireworks at balcony level 200m away. We would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a North facing room which had views to the hinterland, the broadwater and the ocean. We prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Lovely to get your comments and feedback so we can improve even further.
Glad you appreciated everything on offer at Oscar on Main and we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

After paying over $500 per night one would expect some sort of service.

We were provided with one roll of toilet paper, one dish washer sachet and no cleaning services at all for the 3 days we were booked.

In fact they will not clean the room nor change the towels unless you have booked for 8 days!!!

We needed to replenish toilet paper etc seeing there was 4 of us and we were charged for the extra toilet paper and the dish washing sachet.When we did order the extra's it took over one hour to receive them after a number of calls!!

There was a charge for the Wi-fi ($39.95 for 3 days) which didn't work properly until I phoned on at least 3 occasions to the provider.

The remote control for the television had no batteries.

Beach Towels: $3 to hire.

There was a sign in the Kitchen saying if you didn't clean your dishes prior to checking out you would be charged for extra cleaning fees.Remember there was ONE dish washing sachet provided!

We travel extensively around the world and the establishments that you remember are the one's that genuinely want to offer you an experience for staying with them.

Would we stay here again....NO..!

Room Tip: Can't complain about the room, good view of beach.High floor obviously best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celebrate2Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manderson05, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
So sorry you were inconvenienced. It certainly wasnot intentional on our part just the demands exceeded the supply. Your accommodation was fully stocked on your arrival and like a holiday house after you have used all the complimentary supply then one is normally expected to purchase your own. It's standard practice in managed apartments such as this.
So often we find children use the batteries in TV remotes for toys and we are happy to provide FREE replacements when requested - courteously.
Beach towels are not provided by the owner so we have them for hire, $3.00 for as long as you stay is a fair and reasonable charge considering the wear and tear and the laundering.

As for doing your dishes - bear in mind our staff are human, not slaves and we expect the apartments to be left the way you would like to find them, not filled to the windowsills with 4 days of dirty dishes and rubbish all over the floor. We are more than happy to give anyone a complimentary sachet for that last load of dishes or a plastic bag for the rubbish to keep everyone happy and lighten the load for our overworked housekeepers. Of course if you had rented a holiday house the same rules apply only they would have charged you for the mess left behind.
A daily service is available at a Hotel, it's part of the price, in holiday apartments the nightly rate is reduced to make holidays more affordable for families who are happy to look after themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed for 9 nights recently. Everything in the apartment and complex was as advertised. Comfortable and large rooms. Clean communal areas. Good location and facilities. Friendly staff. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJD90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manderson05, Front Office Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Property. It sounds as though your stay at Oscar on Main ticked all the boxes. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends and family again. Remember to contact us directly and we will gladly provide you with a special return rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
1.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Xanadu Holiday Resort
#1 of 18 in Main Beach
642 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
0.2 mi away
The Crest Apartments
The Crest Apartments
#6 of 18 in Main Beach
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar On Main

Property: Oscar On Main
Address: 1 Hughes Ave, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oscar On Main 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned and spacious 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments. Oscar on Main captures the spirit and essence of fabulous Main Beach in every facet. Our first class 4.5 star resort is just a short stroll from Australia's famous Gold Coast beaches and many local Gold Coast attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oscar On Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar On Main Hotel Main Beach
Oscar On Main Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing