We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne Cup Luxury”
Review of Oscar On Main

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oscar On Main
Certificate of Excellence
Caloundra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Melbourne Cup Luxury”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

A large comfortable apartment, great position on the 14th floor overlooking the ocean (and broadwater on the side) and a giant telly with perfect picture made for a memorable stay once more at Oscars. The beds were heavenly and the leather lounges were big and comfy, just right for our lazy stay. Cooking facilities were plentiful, and Tedder Ave was a few steps away, so dining was no problem.
Would like to have better bedlights for reading, but will bring our own next time to make sure. Staff was friendly, professional and helpful as usual.

Room Tip: Talk to staff personally to request choices, rather than just on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manderson05, General Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We just loved having you to stay and look forward to you returning with all your friends, family and loved ones. Remember to access our Website and put in the Return Guest code for the best available rate as our way of saying Thankyou to our repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    86
    13
    3
    8
See reviews for
163
92
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We managed to get a great deal for a one night stay recently between whale watching and visiting Seaworld. Our 2 bedroom apartment on the 16th floor had a great view of the ocean (even if it was over the tourist park - at least there were no tall buildings in front of us). The lady on reception was very nice and quickly rectified a rollaway bed request. Very close walk to eateries at Tedder Avenue, the Southport Surf Club and Yacht Club. Also nearby Marina Mirage and Seaworld. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuenDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manderson05, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Wow, what a Gold Star Guest! We do appreciate the lovely comments and we try to make every guest feel special. Looking forward to having you back here again. On some of our floors there are 3 apartments so all the family can stay together - the more the merrier.

Happy guests are the best recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had 6 children and 4 adults in two 2 bedroom apartments next to each other on the 14th floor. They were extremely helpful on booking and the accommodation was even better than expected. Nothing was too much trouble. The views were great with balconies overlooking the sea and fit everyone very comfortably. The lounge/dining area was spacious with a large television and DVD player. The kitchen area had everything we could have wanted and a separate room with washing machine too.

Tedder Avenue, main beach was a lovely area for families during the day and evening and if we were to return to the Gold Coast, we would absolutely look to come back to Oscar On Main and happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maccabilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, January 10, 2015
Thanks for writing a review. So glad both families had a wonderful stay at Oscar on Main. Please think of us for your next visit to Australia. We would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnum QLD
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our two-bedroomed apartment at Oscar on Main was massive: a large living/dining room with a balcony which joined with one off the main bedroom. Both bedrooms were of generous proportions, and the second bedroom had a small balcony too. Both bathrooms were of a good size and the main bedroom had a large walk-in wardrobe. We found Oscar's to be a quiet block of apartments (29 floors high) and the receptionist was friendly and helpful. There are are two pools, one indoor and one outdoor plus a small gym. Each apartment has an underground parking space. Oscar's is well-situated just off Tedder Avenue which has an excellent range of casual and formal restaurants, and Southport Surf Life Saving Club is about 5 minutes' walk away. I think Main Beach is one of the nicest parts of the Gold Coast: a nice beach, plenty of cafes and restaurants, Sea World is just down the road and there is much less traffic and crowds than you get at Surfers or Broadbeach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacaranda9927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela4217, Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, January 10, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Appreciate it.
So glad you enjoyed your Main Beach experience. We think it is the hidden gem of the coast - a great spot. We love it and we get to live here full time!!!!!
See you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakey, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is my second visit. I have loved every experience. The view is unsurpassed. The service is homely and professional. The rooms are very spacious and luxurious. I can't wait til I get the opportunity to stay again. I will not stay anywhere else while at the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kpw74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manderson05, Front Office Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
It is very humbling for me to read your response and also incredibly nice to know that we are hitting the nail on the head with fulfilling your requirements as a guest.

Thank you for taking the time to review Oscar on Main. It really does mean a lot to us and is very helpful for those who hope to stay with us in the future.

We value your loyalty and will always offer you the best rate possible as a valued, repeat guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Last minute one-night booking - quite expensive for two, but would be amazing value for four. Huge living areas, large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, plenty of cupboard space, well equipped, super clean, east-facing expansive ocean views, large balconies catch morning and afternoon sun. Main Beach location is excellent with great shops, cafes and restaurants along Tedder Ave. For the price to clean up before leaving is a bit much.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the more spectacular the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieSundariV108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manderson05, Front Office Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
It sounds as though you really enjoyed your apartment during your recent stay with us at Oscar on Main. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and I am pleased to hear the apartment had all you expected.

The additional clean fee is quite standard across apartment buildings and applies when guests leave excessive mess that takes the cleaning staff considerably more time to complete. We certainly don't expect that you clean the apartment yourself or anything like that! It is rarely if ever requested from guests as we find the majority of people staying tend not to mind putting rubbish in the bin and popping the dishwasher on. If in doubt, you are always welcome to ask at reception if the fee applies.

Yes the views are quite special from the ocean view apartments! Combined with the convenience of the heart of Main Beach just at the end of the street, we really have the best of both worlds!

I am so glad you enjoyed your brief, spontaneous stay with us! Let's hope you can stay for longer next time as we have some wonderful 5 and 7 night stay rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We spent 3 nights in a 2 bedroom superior apartment and loved every minute of it!
The furnishings were modern and the apartment itself was huge with amazing ocean views!
The location was perfect as I was down for the Gold Coast marathon. I was able to walk to and from the start line and we made the most of the Tedder Avenue cafes and restaurants after the race.
Overall we had a fantastic experience and I will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ads81_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manderson05, Front Office Manager at Oscar On Main, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Wow - We are getting some great feedback from the Gold Coast marathon weekend! Thank you so much for staying with us. I'm pleased we were able to facilitate your needs and I do hope we have the pleasure of continuing to do so in the coming years.

Tedder Avenue has some wonderful restaurants and cafes to relax and unwind and they are all just a few minutes walk from Oscar on Main. It seems we have the best there is to offer when it comes to location - specially in regards to the Gold Coast Marathon!

We look forward to your return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
0.8 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Xanadu Holiday Resort
#1 of 18 in Main Beach
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
0.2 mi away
The Crest Apartments
The Crest Apartments
#5 of 18 in Main Beach
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maldives Resort
Maldives Resort
#4 of 5 in Main Beach
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar On Main

Property: Oscar On Main
Address: 1 Hughes Ave, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oscar On Main 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned and spacious 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments. Oscar on Main captures the spirit and essence of fabulous Main Beach in every facet. Our first class 4.5 star resort is just a short stroll from Australia's famous Gold Coast beaches and many local Gold Coast attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oscar On Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar On Main Hotel Main Beach
Oscar On Main Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing