We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location costs money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crest Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed here for 8 nights ( four adults ) over new year in a two bed apartment.
Its was very expensive in the scheme of things but you don't know till you try it.
It was not as modern as we expected and a little shabby with dirty carpets that were evident when you walked round to see how filthy your feet got.
Small kitchen and a stupid glass table in the lounge that you kept banging your leg on.
A good size balcony though.
Bathrooms were ok ok the drainage for excess water tended to smell at times.
Ok the apartments are managed but would not stay again as we have had better and for less.
We battled to catch two big cockroaches that appeared whilst there.
The mix off dishes was a mishmash with only three cereal bowls and an oddity of plates and glasses.
We were given one toilet roll per bathroom and if we wanted more had to pay for them which was ridiculous considering how much you pay.
Also, one sachet of dishwasher tablet. tight or what!
You have to clean all dishes and put them away or get charged $50 for not doing this and on checking out there is a charge every 30 minutes if you overrun.
The management were friendly enough and appreciate they have a business to run it put us off.
One other thing was the swimming pool ( which was very good ) and people walking inside meant the flooring and lifts were often very wet and slippery and of course one of us found out when we slipped over one day
But, the bonus was location to the beach and of course Tedder Avenue.
And perhaps it was just our apartment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macfod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
952SeanB952, Front Office Manager at The Crest Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We apologise that we didn't meet with your high expectations. We actually achieved a customer satisfaction rating of 94.4% for the month of January 2014 on Tripadvisor, which far exceeded the average for all Main Beach accommodation, so we were disappointed to read that you had some negative aspects during your visit. We appreciate your feedback, as we are committed to providing the best possible experiences for our guests. We would like to take this opportunity to respond to a few of your comments, as we were not made aware of your issues during your stay. The apartment you described as 'shabby' entered our holiday pool of apartments back in October 30 2013, and we consider it to be modern and beautifully furnished. Many guests have actually complimented this same apartment on TripAdvisor, and some have requested repeat stays in this same apartment. You mentioned we were 'very expensive' - despite this being the most expensive time of the year we actively monitor our competitors and adjust our tariffs accordingly in order to compete. We will never be priced above our market, we actually aim for a price point just below competitors. We keep our tariffs down by offering a complimentary starting kit in our fully self contained apartments - including dishwashing liquid and powder, laundry powder and toilet rolls. If required, we do offer very reasonably priced replacements however most people do a grocery shop when they are here for longer stays. Your comment "on checking out there is a charge every 30 minutes if you overrun" is absolutely incorrect. We sincerely apologise if your carpets were dirty but hope that you and future guests understand that Christmas and New Year periods are incredibly busy and it is not always logistically possible to steam clean carpets between guests departing and arriving on the same day. We also would like to say that it is standard practice across the Gold Coast for high rise buildings to undergo quarterly pest control measures. Thank you for your feedback - we did arrange for an additional visit to occur in this particular apartment upon reading your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 223 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place stay with family for Holidays, nice view of beach and staff is very helpful and excellent service.lots of places look around. We love the most is every thing is very close to crest apartment.If any family looking to staying Gold Coast we personally advise Tt go there and have fun take benefits of close nice shops and nice restaurants

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Psingh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
952SeanB952, Front Office Manager at The Crest Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

I'm glad to hear that you had a most enjoyable experience staying with your family at The Crest Apartments in Main Beach. The location is excellent, with the patrolled surf beach just at the end of the street and the beautiful shops and award-winning restaurants of Tedder Avenue just out our back gate - we are very well positioned. Thank you for personally advising others to stay with us, we could not ask for a better recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have stayed at The Crest numerous times & loved it!
The first stay we had was in a 2 bedroom unit which i couldn't fault at all
Our subsequent stays have been in a 1 bedroom unit.
The first stay was on Level 6 & the unit was just lovely.
Our 2nd stay was on Level 4 & the unit was beautiful .. only complaint was the bed was too hard so we were moved to Level 6 with no hassle at all.
Management is just lovely & happy to help.
All rooms have been very clean & tidy
Facilities are also great
Love the option of an indoor & outdoor pool so you can swim in all seasons & in poor weather
There is also lovely views from all apartments .. we have always had an ocean view from the balcony :)
Personally we love staying at Main Beach as it so close to everything but quieter than other parts of the Gold Coast.
We can't wait for our next visit! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMANDA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
952SeanB952, Front Office Manager at The Crest Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Having stayed in four different apartments you are well qualified to review The Crest! And, thank you for including your photos. The apartment you have photographed has since been refurbished and has been further enhanced with a new leather lounge. You will have to come back to visit soon and check out our other improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We had such a great stay. The staff are and nice and helpful. Nothing to complain about!! Apartment was clean and had all the utensils we needed!
100% positive experience...
Not to far to walk to restaurants!
The pool was awesome.
Would definalty recommend it to anyone!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Charspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
952SeanB952, Public Relations Manager at The Crest Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

"100% positive experience" - we loved reading that! Thank you for your kind praise and we do hope to welcome you back at The Crest Apartments next time you are back on the Gold Coast. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the Crest over the Christmas/New Year period (2013/14) our apartment 2bed room/2 bathroomon the 17th floor - beautiful north easterly views.
The rooms were of a high standard, very comfortable. The pools and gardens were immaculate.
The location is terrific, walk to the patrolled beach and Tedder Avenue just out the back gate.
Staff/management were extremely friendly and helpful.
The only critisism I have is that the apartment we stayed in really needed blockout window coverings - it was extremely hot in the morning with sun searing in .
Main Beach is a great area to stay so quiet!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yenschy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
952SeanB952, Front Office Manager at The Crest Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We were so pleased to read that you had a relaxing break over the Christmas and New Year period and thank you for recommending us to others. We will pass your compliments along to our staff who maintain the pools and garden, and to our staff on the front desk who you identified as being friendly and helpful. We pride ourselves on being customer focused and will certainly investigate more suitable window furnishing options for the particular apartment you stayed in. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in November 2013, 2 bdrm, 2 bthrm apartment, very clean, excellent accommodation, great facilities, friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location, so close to Main Beach for a early morning dip and superb choice of restaurants on Tedder Ave. Full kitchen was very well equipped. Over all a great place to stay, we were a family of four adults and appreciated the spacious apartment.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
952SeanB952, Front Office Manager at The Crest Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We were pleased to read Julie that you and your family had a wonderful holiday with us at The Crest Apartments. Thank you for mentioning the spacious size of our Two Bedroom Apartments - many families are happily surprised by the size of the 98m2 and 108m2 apartments, the second bathroom with bath, the full laundry and kitchen facilities. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at the crest on several occasions July-Oct & December 2013 for lengthy stays & were never disappointed. Great management & very accommodating. On each occasion the rooms (both 1 Bdr & 2 Bdr) were of a high standard & the facilities & grounds were immaculately presented. The location was perfect, so close the pristine surf beach & beautiful eateries & shops only a 3 minute walk. Really quiet.Doesn't get much better than that.
Thanks Sean & Rachel for being so hospitable & making our stay a more than pleasurable one.

Room Tip: Ask the friendly staff & they will give you options to suit your preferences. We had both north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
0.2 mi away
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Xanadu Holiday Resort
#1 of 18 in Main Beach
655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oscar On Main
Oscar On Main
#3 of 18 in Main Beach
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
0.1 mi away
Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach
0.2 mi away
Pacific Views Resort
Pacific Views Resort
#7 of 18 in Main Beach
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crest Apartments

Address: 15-21 Breaker Street, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range: $106 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crest Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a selection of Fully Self Contained 1,2 Bedroom Apartments & 3 Bedroom Penthouse Apartments, the Crest Main Beach Apartments are ideally located between the Broadwater and the beach. The Crest Main Beach offers a host of luxury indoor and outdoor facilities including full size tennis, heated indoor and heated outdoor pools, sauna, 2 spa pools, gymnasium and games room for the kids. Our Luxury Apartments offer you an opportunity to stay & take advantage of the Main Beach lifestyle at a price you can afford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crest Apartments Hotel Main Beach
The Crest Apartments Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing