We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashmore Palms Holiday Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Ashmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My family went to Ashmore Palms in January 2013 and we had the best time. Having our very own cabin was fantastic. We could park our car right next to our cabin and we were only 100m from the two pools they have. The kids loved going for a swim at the end of every day and us parents liked it too because it wore them out. The laundry facilities were great within the village and everything was only a hop, skip and a jump away. Not to mention, Ashmore Palms Holiday Village is only 15-20mins away from all the theme parks. We all enjoyed our holiday and we will certainly go back again.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin witthin a 2minute distance from pools.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treena76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APHV4214, Public Relations Manager at Ashmore Palms Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Treena76,
Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that you and your family had the best holiday! We also enjoyed hearing that you found you were conveniently located close to Ashmore Palms pools and other facilities, as well as being centrally located to the Gold Coast Theme Parks. Don’t stay away too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Ashmore Palms Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 538 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We just returned from a 1-week stay at Ashmore Palms and despite my initial concern about staying at a holiday resort it turned out to be an excellent choice. The accommodation (Rainforest Retreat Cabin) was more than adequate and well suited to a self-catering family. The daily, morning activites (before the Theme Parks opened) were excellent and kept our 2 young children happily occupied. As many others have stated previously it is very well situated in relation to the Theme Parks and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
My only criticisms relate to the lack of information provided when checking in - i.e. the switch to operate the barbeque is located inside the cabin (not labelled) and the air-conditioner works on a timer button (also not labelled). Both of these issues required a trip to the Reception.
Other than that we had a terrific time and do plan on returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viking100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APHV4214, Public Relations Manager at Ashmore Palms Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Viking100,
Thank you for the time you took to write a review and your very positive comments about Ashmore Palms. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with your Gold Coast accommodation choice. Thanks also for your favourable comments about the free kids’ activities, friendly staff and Ashmore Palms convenient location near the Gold Coast Theme Parks.
In regard to your remarks about information provided in the villa, we sincerely apologise for your inconvenience. As a result of your comments, the cabin labeling is being renewed at the present time. We hope to see you, your family and friends back at Ashmore Palms again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our first time staying with Ashmore Palms, but it will not be our last. We wanted somewhere away from the main Gold Coast overcrowded area. Ashmore Palms is close to the theme parks but you will need a hire car to travel around. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a Palm Cottage which is a middle of the range cabin. For 2 adults and 2 kids it was perfect. We were in a cabin close to the pool. Our kids usually react to the chemicals in swimming pools, but did not with this pool, which was an unexpected bonus. There are shops nearby for supplies and the local taverns were good for meals. Being animal lovers, it was a bit sad to see some of the birds obviously stressed from lack of stimulation stuck in cages with concrete floors and nothing much to entertain themselves apart from a couple of daily treats. Perhaps now that Ashmore Palms is becoming the place to be they can afford to look after them better. That was the only downside to the place. We loved it there, and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Stayed in Palm Cottage cabin 69 which was close to pools and reception.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APHV4214, Public Relations Manager at Ashmore Palms Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are really pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your holiday at Ashmore Palms.
Thank you for your concern about Ashmore Palms’ beautiful birds. To put your mind at ease, much research and effort was put into our decision 25 years ago to have birds as an attraction at Ashmore Palms’. The owners visited numerous collections around the world, attended numerous conferences and decided the best way to develop this attraction.
We are confident that our birds are in perfect condition and have regular veterinary inspections. The bird’s health is our most important consideration. The best quality food is provided, better than in their natural environment (no expense is spared). Fresh food and water is replaced every day, 7-days per week, without exception. Perches are located so the birds can fly and also climb around like in the forest; and it is very important to have concrete floors, well drained for hygiene and perfect cleaning, and also to deter vermin from entering the cages. Birds very rarely walk on the floor of the aviary. Ashmore Palms’ birds have a low mortality rate. Most of our birds have been here over 20 years with some being over 40 years of age.
We look forward to seeing you and your family at Ashmore Palms’ again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I have not been to Queensland since 1988,when I was a youngster. My wife and I and our 4 children arrive home from Ashmore Palms Holiday Village today , we had the best time. The rooms were fantastic, very comfortable and clean. The staff were just awesome, there helpfulness , there manner, and friendliness just superior. I actually said to my wife it's the best holiday I think we have had with the children. I also love the location,only a short drive to theme parks, main beach and of course Surfers Paradise. Oh yes we loved the bird life, especially the children. We love it that much we are back for 7 days in June. Thank you so much for making our holiday so nice. Well Done.
T.C

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APHV4214, Public Relations Manager at Ashmore Palms Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear TC,
Thank you for your awesome review. You have paid us the ultimate compliment by re-booking another holiday. Your words are very encouraging and we will strive to live up to our great reputation. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in June. Take care until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our 6th visit to ashmore palms, was a last minute decision to go to qld and from the very beggining the reception team was soooo very helpful! We love staying there and will always stay there if we can when holidaying on the gold coast! Cannot brag enough about it, we stay in the rainforest retreats and absoloutely love them! Even though this time we were there we got a few bad days due to bad weather we still had a great holiday! So a very special thankyou to Eilane, Rhonda,Jan and the rest of the reception team, and also Frank, was great finally meeeting you after all these years!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank argues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APHV4214, Public Relations Manager at Ashmore Palms Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Julie,
The pleasure is all ours to have you and your lovely family stay with us. You are wonderful ambassadors of Ashmore Palms’ and we consider you as part of our extended family. Don’t stay away too long! …and we look forward to seeing Nan and Pa very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We recently spent 6 nights in a Palm Cottage and in all honesty I think the place is way over rated.

Our cabin looked pretty clean, but when I wiped over the floor it was covered in an icky brown layer.
The beds were really uncomfortable and I was really glad we took our own sheets to cover up the ones supplied.
One thing I found rather gross was that they only allow you to change towels every 4 days, ick....we ended up washing and drying them ourselves, which at $4 to wash and another $4 to dry worked out rather expensive.

Another annoyance was that the pool shut at 8 pm and the laundry at 9 pm so after a day at the theme parks you then had to decide on taking the kids for a swim or doing the laundry or going out for dinner as everything shut so early that all three were not possible.

In regards to the customer service and staff, we found them really helpful over the phone while making ur booking etc, but once we arrived the service was a bit blah, nothing too bad but not what we expected either......

So all in all my opinion is way over rated and we wouldn't plan on staying again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APHV4214, Owner at Ashmore Palms Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Sharon,
Thank you for your review. We were sorry to hear that our service and our product was not to your expectations at Ashmore Palms. We take pride in the quality of our cabin servicing and our linen is always of the best quality available on the Gold Coast. As senior management is always in attendance, we would have welcomed the opportunity to listen at the time. Towel changeovers are normally every 4 days however, we change over towels more often in wet weather, when requested or in case of emergency (readily available in reception).
Company policy is “For the comfort and safety of all our guests, the lagoon pools area closes at 8:00pm”, also to ensure pool patrons do not disturb other guests. The laundries close at 9:00pm for reasons of health, safety and security.
We were shocked to hear that our complete customer service didn’t meet your expectations. We take great pride in our business and we would like to discuss with you some options to satisfy your concerns. We hope that you will take time to communicate with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ashmore Palms Holiday Village was a wonderful place to stay with very helpful and friendly staff. We arrived a bit early after having travelled for more than 24 hours from Europe. Our cabin was not ready, but the staff changed us into another cabin that was already available.
There were a lot of activities for the kids, and we loved both the pool are and the playgrounds.

The only disadvantage was that the kids bedroom fased one of the bird cages, and the birds made quite some noise in the mornings.

Worth mentioning again, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful and dedicated to the work.

Thank you for a great vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APHV4214, Public Relations Manager at Ashmore Palms Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Anna,
Thank you for taking time to write a lovely review about your Gold Coast holiday at Ashmore Palms. It’s great to hear that your children enjoyed the free kids’ activities, the pools and playgrounds. Sorry to hear that they were disturbed by our beautiful birds in the mornings. If you ever plan to holiday in Australia again at Ashmore Palms, may I suggest you request a cabin away from the birds. Thank you for your positive comments about the friendly staff and customer service. Since you travelled from so far, it’s wonderful to be assured that we are good representatives for our country. We hope to see you and your family here again some day. Sending our best regards to the people of Sweden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashmore
1.6 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast
2.0 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
3.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
2.5 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#15 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,422 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Woods Resort
Royal Woods Resort
#1 of 1 in Ashmore
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashmore Palms Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmore Palms Holiday Village

Address: Ashmore Caravan Park 71 Hinde St, Ashmore, Gold Coast, Queensland 4214, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Ashmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ashmore
Price Range: $85 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashmore Palms Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashmore Palms Holiday Village is a family owned and operated holiday village, nestled on almost 15 acres of lush, tropical landscaping on Australia's Gold Coast in Queensland. The Village provides a relaxed, yet central holiday setting. Conveniently located close to the major theme parks and Surfers Paradise, the award-winning village offers a range of self-contained holiday cabin accommodation, popular with families, couples, groups and business travelers. Ashmore Palms has extensive family-friendly facilities and offers free children's activities.Next time you holiday on the Gold Coast, make Ashmore Palms your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashmore Palms Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashmore Palms Holiday Village Hotel Ashmore
Palms Holiday Village Ashmore
Palms Holiday Village Hotel Ashmore
Ashmore Palms Holiday Village Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing