We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great set up, well spent night out.”

Australian Outback Spectacular
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.83*
and up
Australian Outback Spectacular Gold Coast
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Oxenford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A legend is born as entertainment soars to fresh new heights with the introduction of a stunning new show presented by R.M.Williams. Saddle up and join us on a captivating journey to the snow peaked mountains of the high country where enchanted whispers and legendary yarns come alive with the most inspiring stories of the Australian characters never told. Be dazzled like never before by amazing animal stars and the courageous story of Red Dog. See death defying stunts and aerial performances as you hear the brave tale of the Aussie girl sold to the circus at the tender age of 7. Be mesmerised by biggest display of special effects ever seen as you travel the Road to Omeo with Australia's yesteryear ghosts. With all new three course menu and drinks, stirring new musical score and all the comedy, action and drama you've come to expect, prepare yourself for the most breathtaking arena show ever produced under the Australian Outback Spectacular roof. Witness the bravery, beauty and courage of the greatest Australian stories never told... High Country Legends. Only at Australian Outback Spectacular. Don't miss your chance to be among the first to see High Country Legends. Only at Australian Outback Spectacular. Seats are limited. Bookings essential.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“great set up, well spent night out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went there on New Years eve. The service, food and entertainment was very good.
We were all impressed, and my kids are usually very critical.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank zhoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,044
    337
    116
    57
    58
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well organised and informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have been to similar show/meal operations in the past, but it was interesting attending the Outback Spectacular to learn more about Australia's very own horse industry.

Considering that the show, meal and drinks are included in the price, this attraction is reasonable value for money. One should note, however, that there is no difference whatsoever between the children's and the adults' meals. So, in retrospect, I wish that I had simply ordered my teenage a kid's meal -- as she clearly wasn't going to be drinking any beer or wine.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yee-haa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Awesome. In a cowboy atmosphere, take a glass of beer. The diner is good and served with wine, lemonade and beer.
The best is the show. Do not hesitate, go and see!!!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MERE010404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We bought tickets to the Australian Outback without much inkling of it, besides the fact that it is a dinner cum show experience. We bought tickets through our apartment and it cost AU$130 per person including return transfers. *GASPS!* but it was really worth the money as the show was entertaining, the food was pretty decent, drinks were free-flow (including beers and wine!), and everyone gets a free stockman hat as souvenir. As we were there during Christman season, the show and meal was dosed with festive spirit and we do enjoy it. Will I pay the same price to catch the show again? Maybe not. Because we saw other tour booths selling these tickets at a much lesser price, and Movie World sell these last-minute tickets to the show at cheaper rates too!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cloversze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
170 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A good advertisement for Australia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

A great show and pretty good food considering the number of meals served in one go.

Entry and the almost obligatory photo was somewhat chaotic - our group of six lined up for photos and were told they could only handle four in that spot, so we lined up again - a rail and line with the front of line being next would make more sense.

Pretty good gift shop with a slight focus on the iconic Aussie brand "RM Williams" - although a lot of RM gear is now Chinese made too.

Following entry and photos you are in a large pre show hall with limited seating and tables - a bit of a wasted hour or so (depending on when you arrive) - there is some entertainment and a few horses to look at, but all done including a whiz through the gift shop and a beer in the first 15 - 30 minutes at best - then hanging around for the show.

At close to 7.30pm we were all ushered to our seats (some confusion too with seat and row numbering). All good in the end and probably a great view for most if not all, patrons.

The shows starts and the lights are dimmed - very entertaining show with quite a lot of video - full size on the end wall and of course lots of horses and a few other animals too. Started is at your seat for when you arrive, plenty of staff serving etc. Main course is served around 8.30pm and (unless you ask for a vegetarian option) is a big steak - probably eye fillet and cooked medium to well I would guess (the lights are back on at this time but still dimmed). Vegies and mashed potato accompany the steak which was tender (well rested) and reasonably warm. Dessert followed shortly after - overcooked Xmas pudding (seasonal variation I guess) - OK, but not special.

Overall the show was very good with some highlights (I won't spoil them) and some not so exciting bits.

One downside is the seats are in line - so a trip to the rest room means climbing up out of your seat to the walkway behind the seats or shifting the whole row out (probably not viable) - this would be an issue for any older persons not on a row end or not very agile.

Don't go if you are strongly anti horse racing - there is a reasonable focus on horse racing and of course horses as a whole - although I would expect the horses in the show are probably well treated.

A good evening out, plenty of car parking and probably a treat for any overseas visitors who may not be familiar with some of our Aussie ways.

Photos and video not allowed inside.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim_bris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australian Outback Spectacular also viewed

 

Been to Australian Outback Spectacular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing