We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise country”
Review of Paradise Country

Paradise Country
Ranked #4 of 7 things to do in Oxenford
Attraction details
Coomera, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise country”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

for a cheap day , out this is the best fresh air , fun and lots to see and do get away from the city life for a few hours just behind movie world and out back australia paradise country sits in the cool of the bush , running streams and cattle drink billy tea and damper around a camp fire this is truley a wonderfull place sheep and horses and goats and pigs all there opal finding and gold finding the cattle dog nessy rounding up the sheep you can even milk a cow but its the people that run it that are so friendly they took time to talk and answer youe questions you can order a meal for $15 or get something cheaper free tea and coffee with your meal for free again you can try damper and real billy tea for a quite but fun full day you can also buy very good face and hand cream hats and other things from the gift shop go see it you will love there is a place you can sit and eat your own food you brought from home just near the car park but still on the farm its for everyone could even have a birthday there

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 750Bev47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    104
    76
    53
    53
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great day out in a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We visited Paradise Country for the first time ever and had a great day out. Many families nowadays do not get the opportunity for children to get up close and touch farm animals and experience a taste of what happens on an Australian farm. Hidden away behind Movieworld and Outback Spectacular, Paradise Country must be one of the Gold Coasts's best kept secrets. You can buy lunch along with your admission ticket - a choce of BBQ steak, chicken or fish (vegetarian option also) plus salad bar. There was plenty to eat on the day that we went. Although the shows are geared towards the Asian clientele giving very basic information about life on an Australian farm - the good Aussie humour is fun, entertaining and enjoyable for all. Shows included a sheep shearing demonstration, sheep dog handling and rounding up sheep, milking a cow, use of the Australian Cattle Whip, basic horse riding skills, making damper and billy tea. You can also handfeed the sheep, goats, and pigs in the farm animal shed - a must for the children, especially if they have never been able to do this before. Plenty of photo opportunities with a variety of animals including the kangaroos and koalas. Although there was plenty to do and see the pace was relaxed and this can be a bonus with small children and for those who just want to spend time petting and interacting with the animals. The staff were very friendly and helpful and my only negative comment is the lack of Paradise Country merchandise in the shop. There were plenty of Australian souvenirs but nothing specific to Paradise Country. Overall a fantastic day out and if you have children who don't enjoy the hustle and bustle and noise of the big theme parks, they may well enjoy this day in the country.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JOHNSA464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

you will have a chance to see animals like Koala bears, sheep, horses, pigs, kangaroo and more...
Lunch is included for our tickets, it look OK but taste nice :)
We enjoy the show like Stockmen & Sheep Dog Show, Sheep Shearing Show , Ram Parade,
Billy Tea and Stock Horse Arena .

The first time in my life to touch the sheep and try to milking the cows.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank MonkeyAhMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“True Blue Aussie Farm Experience!”
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

We live about 3 hours or so away from the Gold Coast so when ever we go there we love to stay at Sea World Resort and from time to time they have special offers that include tickets to Paradise Country. I must admit the first time we went there we were extremely surprised when we realised that it is in located between Wet'n'Wild and Movie World just behind The Outback Spectacular. It was a great family day out and you don't have to stay all day you can go at your own pace. They have an amazing buffet lunch and you can choose chicken or steak and both are really delicious. Throughout the day they have different shows which are really interesting and filled with typical Aussie humour. In the morning show they show you how to make billy tea & damper which everyone gets to try. They also show you how to milk a cow and shear a sheep. The shows are great fun and they do include the audience which is good for a laugh my kids absolutely loved it because my two sons were included in the sheep shearing show. You can also have your photo taken with a koala and there are plenty of kangaroos, koalas and emus running around to take photos of or to pat and feed. There is also a baby animal petting zoo for the little ones. The kids can also try opal mining or panning for gems which is a lot of fun and if you have a dining plus card from Sea World
Resort you can get a great discount or purchase cheaper tickets with your VIP Gold Pass. Paradise Country is a great Aussie Farm Experience for families and I think more schools should come here so our kids can see first hand what it is really like in the outback.

Helpful?
2 Thank VoucherQueen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Tickets were included in our holiday package - thank god I didn't have to pay to go here. It's basic at best and catered for the Asian market (not that there's anything wrong with that but .....)
Food time comes and the group rushes the salad bar etc and most gone and they don't replace the food. Many of these customers are rude and don't share.
At all of the shows they pick people from the tour groups which is okay but what about the average customer - not much here for them.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Country also viewed

 
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Paradise Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing