We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a full day of action”

Warner Bros. Movie World
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.80*
and up
Gold Coast Theme Park Pass: Movie World, Sea World and Wet n Wild
Ranked #3 of 7 things to do in Oxenford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Become lost in a world of fantasy and fun, meet your favourite stars and super-heroes and experience the exhilaration of world-class adventure rides and movie attractions at Warner Bros. Movie World. Get ready for the most thrilling battle of your life on Justice League 3D - The Ride, an epic 3D interactive ride experience like nothing you've ever seen before. Grab your laser blaster and join Superman, Batman and an army of Super Heroes in a 3D battle against millions of evil alien spores. Your mission is to fight side-by-side with the Justice League and save the citizens of Earth. While the battle rages, your transportation pod will keep track of your alien stun score so you'll know how many you've alienated. This epic battle between good and evil is about to begin and we need YOU! Experience fun and thrills of a galactic proportion on the GREEN LANTERN coaster as you take on the steepest drop in the world. This amazing new ride is truly in a league of its own! Plus, don't miss the high voltage thrill on 'Arkham Asylum', and there are more thills to come on the awesome Batwing Spaceshot and the adrenalin pumping Superman Escape. Sit back and experience the multi-million dollar live action stunt show Hollywood Stunt Driver, a world class stunt show. And the Kids will love the colourful Kids' WB! Fun Zone - a magical cartoon world filled with rides and all your favourite Looney Tunes characters for the young and the young at heart! Don't miss the magical parade where you can see all on your favourite characters on Movie World's famous Main Street. Enjoy plenty of live action throughout the day with a huge variety of live shows and character appearances the whole family will love. Experience Hollywood on the Gold Coast in true star style at Warner Bros. Movie World!
Albion Park
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not a full day of action”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Hard to spend a full day here unless you want to go on the same 3 rides all day.
The superman ride is great. But waiting such a long time for a 20 second ride isn't. Not good for old people, young people, over weight people or people with a disability.

Wide west ride is fun for the family.

This place hasn't changed much in 15 years. Looney Tune land doesn't have much for the kids. It used to have a carrot boat ride which was good.

The car show is great. The rest of them are very poor.

The staff and actors as characters are great and very friendly.

Food is expensive but you can get all you can eat buffet for $25 which tastes good and kills some time in the day.

I would go to dream world, sea world, currumbin and Australia Zoo before thinking of coming here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mykaphobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,218
    1,354
    888
    351
    263
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We loved this park. We went on the off-season so sadly Scooby Doo was closed. We were a but gutted as this is a highlight ride especially for our shorter wee girl who wasn't tall enough for many of the harder-core rides. But there are still several rides that a shorter child can do, including the Road Runner rollercoaster in the kids' area which is actually quite a good ride!

We went on Friday in June and expected few queues, but unfortunately it appears we chose a day that was a public holiday on the Sunshine Coast (15 June) and it was actually really busy. We were gutted, having got used to no queues at all at Seaworld the day before. Superman had the longest queue at 45 minutes and I was very upset to learn that they wouldn't even let our wee girl wait with us in the queue. This was ridiculous and meant our family beig broken up for most of the day, with the two adults having to take turns to care for the younger girl. I can't understand why they wouldn't let out wee girl at least stand in the queue with us for the 45 minute wait, and then duck out at the end. They are rather strict at the Superman ride, also not letting you take a bag or anything at all in your pockets. Again, even though you are waiting 45 minutes in a queue (or longer on a busier day), you are not even allowed to take a bottle of water or your phone with you. You are required to pay for a locker as there is nowhere to leave your things while on the ride. Given you are only on the ride for about 2 minutes, this is very frustrating and seems a clear con to get more money out of you.

They also try and tell you at the Green Lantern ride that you need a locker, but YOU DO NOT. You can leave your things safely at the start/end of the ride. I was glad I had heard this as I would have been very annoyed had I paid $2 for a locker only to get to the front of the queue and find it wasn't necessary.

The food is all hugely overpriced and unhealthy. The healthiest thing I could find to eat was a tuna wrap which was decidedly average and cost $8! There is also no gluten free food at all. Even the tomato soup at the bakery was not gluten free! You are not allowed to take food in except for special dietary requirements, so luckily we had taken in some rice noodles and a plastic cup so our wee girl had to have those for lunch. The very average lunch for the other three of us cost nearly $40!

But that aside, we had a great day and the kids loved it. The car show was great. The parade would be fantastic for younger kids (up to about 8 years) and there are characters wandering around for photos. The 4D movie was a lot of fun.

I would highly recommend getting there at 9:30am and going straight to Superman and perhaps Green Lantern and the Arkham Asylym, to avoid the long queues later in the day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OshXman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have been to a number of theme parks throughout the years, all over the world and can quite comfortably state that this is the most inefficient and disorganised of them all. The rides are very good, however the queues, whilst not being particularly long take an age to progress. This is due to the ridiculously long 'turn-around' times, it appears that there are insufficient staff to service the queues and the working practices are inherently inefficient and slow.
The standard entrance fee of approx $85 is very expensive and does not represent value for money.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not much excitement”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

This is our 3rd trip and not much have changed. New added rides are Green Lantern & Superman.

We like the car stunt show and glad they have revamp from the old police academy. The gift shops are boring too as the merchandise are not attractive. I wish they have rides for those with moderate tolerance of fear.

The parade will not revamp at all. It's the same since we last visited 6 years ago.

We shall give it a miss should we visit Gold Coast again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflower098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“My kids love it!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went on a public holiday (Queen's Birthday) and it was super crowded. Unfortunately, it was raining heavily and spoil our trips. Most of their rides are outdoor thus we couldn't play much and had to hang around in the sheltered area. We wanted to try the Scooby doo ride but it was under maintenance for 2 weeks.

As we have the VIPs pass, we went again the next day. It was a normal weekday and there wasn't any crowd and we managed to take photo with few characters without having to queue too long. I felt that the park is not big and it could be covered within few hours. The rides are not a lot.

The food are expensive, kids meal (fries and 2 fish fillets) costs AUD9.99 while the cheapest burger with fries costs AUD13.99 at a fast food restaurant. Do bring your own snacks and water along if you want to save money.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SforSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warner Bros. Movie World also viewed

Coomera, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Warner Bros. Movie World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing