We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd times a charm”

Warner Bros. Movie World
Ranked #4 of 9 things to do in Oxenford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Become lost in a world of fantasy and fun, meet your favourite stars and super-heroes and experience the exhilaration of world-class adventure rides and movie attractions at Warner Bros. Movie World. The tallest, longest and fastest HyperCoaster in the Southern Hemisphere is now open! Ride the DC Rivals HyperCoaster now! Don't miss Justice League 3D - The Ride, GREEN LANTERN coaster, 'Arkham Asylum' (now with VR!), and there are more thrills to come on the awesome Batwing Spaceshot and the adrenalin pumping Superman Escape. Sit back and experience the multi-million dollar live action stunt show Hollywood Stunt Driver 2, a world class stunt show. And the Kids will love the colourful Kids' WB! Fun Zone! Catch the magical parade where you can see all on your favourite characters on Main Street. Enjoy plenty of live action throughout the day. Experience Hollywood on the Gold Coast in true star style at Warner Bros. Movie World!
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This is our third time to Movieworld and every time we go its still just as fun. You have to go to the Scooby Doo ride, it's an absolute must. The superman is just as great. We always have an amazing time and I love going back!!!

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank ClaudiaJHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"green lantern"
in 462 reviews
"stunt show"
in 499 reviews
"scooby doo"
in 336 reviews
"superman ride"
in 289 reviews
"arkham asylum"
in 241 reviews
"theme park"
in 606 reviews
"looney tunes"
in 162 reviews
"wild west falls"
in 106 reviews
"justice league"
in 110 reviews
"fright night"
in 89 reviews
"street parade"
in 83 reviews
"lethal weapon"
in 81 reviews
"white christmas"
in 52 reviews
"road runner"
in 61 reviews
"school holidays"
in 275 reviews
"cat woman"
in 51 reviews
"car show"
in 66 reviews
Filter

3,999 - 4,003 of 4,943 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

My girlfriend is a hardcore fan of Sylvester and Bugs Bunny. And so obviously, we didn't get a say on which theme park we were going in Gold Coast. We pre-ordered the 3 parks ticket online, which was a better way to save money since it would be cheaper than getting there on the spot.

And in case you're wondering if you can sell the tickets after you used them since the tickets are valid for 30 days, you can't do that. They have this picture of you which they stick on the ticket to ensure that you're the only one who is entitled entry to the theme park. You can try your luck though. For me, they didn't really check when i entered Seaworld and Wet n Wild.

Overall, I think Movie World is a "dying attraction". there are some new rides but generally, the attractions and performance they screen are pretty old. The park is small and can be completed in a few hours. You may wish to check out wet and wild in the morning, which is located just beside Movie World if you're pressed for time at Gold Coast and want to complete the 3 parks in 2 days.

Small park, not much tips to share. Relatively short queue and easy to walk. Australian get to enter the ticket at 20AUD. You can find ticketing booth at Surfer's Paradise selling tickets at those outrageous prices.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank Malcolm_See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We bought the 3-park unlimited VIP Pass (for 1 year) from http://myfun.com.au/ for $99.00.

Of the three parks (Sea World, Movie World and Wet'n'Wild), Movie World has the most thrilling rides! For adult thrill-seekers, this is definitely a must-go!

You'd need a full day to enjoy all the rides.

We love these rides:
- SUPERMAN Escape (super fast)
- BATWING Spaceshot (your heart will be at your throat)
- Green Lantern (360 spin)

We also loved the Hollywood Stunt Driver show. Brilliant!

Try to go early, as soon as the park is open. Long queues around late morning, especially on the weekends.

Date of experience: November 2012
Thank LifesExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have been to Movieworld three times now and this time our son went on all the rides he was all enough for. We had a great day full of laughs and screams.

Date of experience: June 2013
2  Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were looking for something to do in South East Qld as long term residents of Brisbane (therefore, been there, done that for most attractions!) and hadn't been to Movie World in several years. We purchased the fun pass, which allows us unlimited visits to the three parks for 28 days. Chances are we'll only use it once, but that was cheaper than a regular day pass so why not!
Movie World would be a great place to take the kids for the day, assuming your budget can stretch to it, because a lot of the entertainment is really gear toward little kids. The various characters, in particular, are certainly there to entertain children although my husband was keen to see the various batmobiles on display.
Overall though, it was an entertaining day and I highly recommend the Green Hornet ride (although not the movie) for people that like more moderate rollercoasters. You're tipped upside down and there are some drops, but nothing as extreme as the Superman ride.
Please note, with the Superman ride you cannot take anything with you on the ride and there are no cubbies or boxes available to put your sunglasses/hat/bag in so they will not let you join the queue if you are carrying anything at all. So either hand your stuff to a friend or pay $2 for a locker. All other rides seem to have places you can drop your stuff when you get on, but that is of course at your own risk as they are not locked away.
However, my main gripe is with the food venues as they seem to be understaffed, or staffed by people that are either not excited to be there or unqualified. We stood longer in line for a burger at lunch than we did waiting for the Superman ride, and that was a half hour wait. The attendant was slow, unable to multi task (i.e. serve another customer while waiting for an order to be ready) and did not apologise for the wait. Keeping in mind this is during the low season for them, and I wonder how on earth she copes when things are busy! We ended up going to the Dirty Harry Bar for nachos, which came quickly and were reasonably good.

Date of experience: June 2013
1  Thank JulieLee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warner Bros. Movie World also viewed

Coomera, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Warner Bros. Movie World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing