We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I expect from a Riu Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Chiclana
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Novo Sancti Petri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just got back from a weeks family holiday. As I've said it's what you expect from a Riu hotel good food, good rooms and friendly staff. 1 thing I didn't like the fact I had to get up at 5 in the morning to reserve beds round the pool when it states reserving beds is not aloud. The local golf course is amazing and for 85 euros buggy hire club hire and my round can't complain. Overall I'd recommend for families just think the hotel should take a stronger stance on reserving beds.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 2,361 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great place to stay. Friendly happy helpful staff who always greeted you with a smile. Watch when you go down the steps to the beach as a bloke comes round and charges 5 euros for a sunbed. Good to get wifi but maybe could have been made available in other areas of the complex. Luggage was taken to our rooms which was nice and greeted with a glass of orange juice. Plenty of choice for eating with good food and couldn't fault it at all. Lovely artisitic touches with the towels in the room, and the rooms were clean. If you left it to late you would find it hard to find a sunbed by the pool. Would thoroughly recommend it for a relaxing holiday to family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 123Rose456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here 4th Jul 2014 for one week and had a fantastic time. After a short transfer approx. 50 minutes, two coachloads of holidaymakers arrived, we were welcomed by staff, including the manager, with a glass of orange juice. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient the luggage was taken to your room for you. During our holiday the managers were always present and interacting with guests. Pool towels are supplied at the hotel.We couldn't fault the hotel in any way, all staff were hard working, very friendly and happy. All areas of the hotel very clean, lovely sized bedrooms. The food was very good and with three themed restaurants to choose from (which you book at reception in the morning) as well as the main restaurant (no booking needed) there was plenty of choice. On arrival at the restaurant you are always greeted with a smile. The best entertainments team we have encountered on any holiday. Beautiful beach and lovely part of Spain. From our experience of this holiday which we booked through First Choice we would strongly recommend it to all our friends.

Room Tip: Free Wifi in reception area. We were in block 33 and had a lovely sea view from our room. There were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stinkydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just got back from a weeks break at this amazing hotel. Flight from gatwick went very smoothly, no delays, arrived early in Jerez to beautiful sunshine. Luggage was waiting for us as we walked into the terminal, from plane to coach it only took 20 minutes. Transfer to the hotel took 50 minutes but everyone on the coach was going to the same hotel, so no stopping and starting. On arrival to the hotel a member of the entertainment was waiting to give us our bands. Stepped in to lobby were we were greeted with a fresh glass of orange juice. Check in at the hotel took about 20 minutes but with 2 coach of loads of holiday makers arriving at the same time we thought the staff coped exceptionally well. You are given a map to your room (we were in block 32) which we found easily and luggage is delivered promptly. Rooms are very clean and spacious, all have a widescreen TV, a fridge and a safety deposit box. Maids are friendly and go that extra mile. There is 3 pools, one children's, one half and half and one adults. And their is a lifeguard for every pool. Particularly impressed with the children's pool as it was gated and kept very clean. We sat on the top pool and enjoyed the sunshine. No rush for sunbeds as their is more than enough to go around. Plenty of daily activities if you want to join in, throughly enjoyed the aqua gym. The Barrossa beach is beautiful, clean and had breath taking views. To go down to the beach you have to go out of an electric gate and to get back in you need a code which you can only know if you are staying at the hotel which we found reassuring. Food was exceptional. 4 restaurants to choose from, you have the main restaurant and 3 themed eateries which you had to book for in the morning. And a quick mention about Antonio the guy that greeted you every morning in the main restaurant, he was a really friendly, happy person who started your day off with a smile. Food in the main restaurant catered for a variety of tastes. And being a vegetarian I was a little apprehensive about the food but was presently surprised, a lot of different choices and loved to see that the food was clearly labelled and kept away from the meat. We ate in all 4 restaurants and couldn't fault the food in any. Quick mention to Rafa who worked in the Italian restaurant, he made our holiday. He was so friendly and polite and a joy to be around, he was so full of life it was infectious and when we left him a tip he was overwhelmed and surprised but we felt like he deserved to know people appreciate his hard work. Entertainment was brilliant apart from 2 nights. First was the flamenco dancers that were brought in, they looked miserable and the singer was almost shouting into the micro phone which did not work. The second was on our last night which was the circus bambino, which was not a circus at all, it was a love story about a circus which we just couldn't understand. Apart from that every other night was great especially the "black brothers" who were incredible. Entertainment team work really hard and the kids disco is brilliant. So overall great family holiday which we would throughly recommend, and cannot wait to return next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank SophieBullimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The food was great and plentiful
The accommodation fantastic
The staff were on the whole friendly
The usual sunbed rush
Other than that it was great. We went on loads of trips around the area and overall had a great time

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 123alice123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I totally recommend this Club Hotel (all inclusive) via Thomsons. Thomsons holidays, hotels, air travel, reps and hotel staff are so organised and efficient, I couldn't find fault with the holiday or the Hotel.

The Barrossa Beach is also very beautiful and unspoilt, miles or sandy beach to walk along and relax. This coast line, Costa de le Luz, is a real chillaxe part of Andalusia.

A must to visit is a "white village" called VEJER, it is a most interesting village up in the mountains, also nearby Cadiz and Jerez are worth a trip too, as well.

Room Tip: The Hotel is a Club Hotel, therefore, it is not a tall block Hotel with loads of floors and rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just come back from a weeks break with my mum who is 83 we meet my daughter and her partner and my granddaughter who was 11 months there for there second week. I have to say the hotel is very nice very big nice rooms very clean rooms were cleaned every day. Food very nice with four restaurants although we only went to the main one as my daughter said they served all the same food so we all eat in the main restaurant lots to choose from. Entertainment was very good the entertainment team worked very hard and even remembered us although there was well over 1000 people there lots of activities to do we did rifle shooting. Swimming pools were very nice with a child's pool with slides and water shoots lots to do for small children. This hotel has only been open to English people for two years so we found the Spanish people did not want us there and were quite rude at times pushing you out of the way.
There were mostly Spanish and German people there when we there we were given Blue bands and they were given Red they said it was so the staff knew what language to speak I not sure of that. Having said that it was a lovely holiday although I would go again with my family I would not choose this holiday as a couples holiday its a family holiday with small children

Room Tip: rooms are all the same only three levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 11elainescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novo Sancti Petri
0.6 mi away
ILUNION Tartessus Sancti Petri Hotels
ILUNION Tartessus Sancti Petri H...
#5 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hideaway Sancti Petri, part of Barcelo Hotel Group
Royal Hideaway Sancti Petri, par...
#3 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,901 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Sancti Petri
Melia Sancti Petri
#1 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Vincci Costa Golf
Hotel Vincci Costa Golf
#9 of 24 in Chiclana de la Frontera
1,144 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hipotels Barrosa Garden
Hipotels Barrosa Garden
#7 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
351 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Andalucia Playa
Iberostar Andalucia Playa
#2 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Chiclana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Chiclana

Address: Urbanizacion Loma del Puerco, 11130 Novo Sancti Petri, Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Chiclana de la Frontera > Novo Sancti Petri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Novo Sancti Petri
#5 Romantic Hotel in Novo Sancti Petri
#6 Luxury Hotel in Novo Sancti Petri
#6 Family Hotel in Novo Sancti Petri
Price Range: $157 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Chiclana 4*
Number of rooms: 832
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located near Chiclana in Costa de la Luz * 1-story main building and 1 and 3-story annexes * 40,000 m2 garden * 200 m from the beach (several steps lead to the beach) * 8 km from downtown Chiclana * 2 km from various shops * 60 km from Jerez airport * 30 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Chiclana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Chiclana Hotel
Hotel Riu Chiclana
ClubHotel Riu Chiclana Novo Sancti Petri, Spain - Costa De La Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing