We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did we go to same hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Chiclana
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Novo Sancti Petri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Ok until they handed out day and week-end passes to locals when it was so busy and noisy and like a public swimming pool. Also, had 900 Brazilian football players arrive who took over the pool bar and we're playing drums for ages. If you like to dress for dinner this is not the place for you as basically anything goes.
We booked this from the Platinum brochure but has now been removed from it this year.

Room Tip: Block 6 a distance to main buildings but as peaceful was a lovely break from the noise
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,284)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Chiclana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 2,284 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 as it looked like a safe option for our first holiday for the right price. The flight was nice and short and the transfer was not too long. On arrival the hotel was very busy and we had to queue for about 20mins to check in, it was not the best first impression as we had been travelling for hours already. Once we had checked in and got to our room we felt at ease and able to relax. The hotel is lovely and clean although the shower water smelt of chlorine. Our room had a lovely private balcony which comes as standard. The food was lovely with lots of selection and variations, food was available all day with burgers and chips available from the pool side restaurant.

The beach is a short walk down a wooden path, the beach is stunning with soft white sand although the water was freezing and too cold for swimming! The swimming pools in the hotel were nice but also very cold and you had to feel brave in order to have a dip, the children mainly stayed over in the children pool area but some drifted in the 'adult' pool which was very annoying at times.

The evening entertainment was very good and it was clear a lot of effort had been put into it. The animation team were very friendly (if not a bit too OTT at times....)

Overall I think this was a brilliant place to come if you are looking for a safe option holiday where you are guaranteed to get good service in a pretty location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

stayed here in august as a family, 4 adults and 2 children (aged 15 and 12).
On arrival the reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and offered to change the room to suit the 82 year old member of our party-at times she struggled walking around the hotel as it was on a very large scale.
We had seen reviews expressing how busy it got at weekends with spanish people. we did notice this but it was not a major problem, however we did find we needed to reserve sun loungers by 8/8.30 am.
The food was very good, the main restaurant got busy and about 9 o'clock a long queue formed to get a table. we also ate at the andalucian restaurant which was alright, the Italian restaurant was very very good, with a lot of variety, not too good for fussy eaters as pizza and pasta options were available in the main restaurant anyway.
In the past all inclusive drinks have been low quality, we didn't find that at all. The branded fizzy drinks were good, and there was also a large range of cocktails and other alcoholic drinks.
During the day, entertainment was good, but many people told us that the tui children activities were a lot better than the riuland ones for the little children. our daughters joined in at times with the teens programme and made friends through this.
Evening entertainment however was very poor. mainly done by the animation team, it was made up of 'comedy' shows and dance shows that none of us enjoyed watching.
the pool area was impressive, but busy. the beach is very nearby, a short walk and then roughly 90 steps down - not suitable for elderly people. the beach was lovely, and very clean.
overall a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Liverpool4686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Lovely place and would recommend it but it just wasn't our thing. Very busy at weekends, during the week a lot quieter, but we did go end of session. It maybe completely different in the summer. Staff all helpful and everywhere clean and tidy, rooms cleaned everyday. Can hear lots of movement and noise in the corridors, so be warned if you want a lay in. Entertainment was not brilliant but they do their best. I think if you are older couple or family with small children this would be able place.but not much in area unless you get bus or like long walks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shazzyshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Firstly the flight was very empty we each had a row too ourselves! We went in a group of 7 and went from the 18th to the 25th of October. When we arrived we were greeted with orange juice. There was 2000 people arrive that night and when we went for our meal at around 9.30pm it was very busy ( the Spanish all eat at that time). That night was very noisy but quietened down a lot the next day. The weather was brilliant in high 20's apart from one day, which seemed like it was a day of tropical storms. The pools were so clean and the indoor pool and Jacuzzi were very nice especially the day it rained. The food was delicious always different choices and always something you liked meat, fish, vegetables, pizza, chips, desserts etc. The staff were SO friendly you couldn't wish for nicer staff. The entertainment was a bit rubbish the first 2 nights but got a lot better afterwards with flamenco dancers and magicians. There was always bars open with a big range of cocktails, cruzcampo (a popular local beer), non alcoholic drinks and soft drinks. The rooms were very nice, loads of wardrobe space, very powerful showers and flat screen TV but it only had 3 British channels, cleaned every day and we especially liked the animals made out of towels on our beds. The only down side to our rooms was we asked them to sort our drains out as they smelt awful but they never did come and do it. The beach was beautiful but 90 steps down to it through a gate at the back of the hotel. The kids club wasn't trustworthy at all they let my brother go off in a group (they were all Germans) and they left him and he was walking round the hotel by himself! The location was ok but if you like going out for walks it was a 20 minute walk to the nearest shop, the buses were €1.40 each and you could travel to the nearest towns e.g. Chiclana & Cadiz. Three of the people that came with us wanted to go on a trip to Gibraltar but the trip was full by the time they went to sign up and they wouldn't put on another bus. Overall a great holiday, I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 21 and it was a 2 minute walk to all the bars and restaurants.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 734Beth1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel has everything you would want and expect for a 4 star hotel. The check in was pleasant and efficient. The rooms are spacious and in good repair , the food was good quality with plenty of variety to suit all tastes.
Breakfast was fantastic.
The swimming pool areas are well kept as are the gardens and all public areas.
We arrived , my wife , my daughter and three grandchildren aged 7 ,11 and 16 on Wednesday evening and on the Thursday all was well but on the Friday afternoon the hotel was overrun with weekenders who proceeded to create so much noise and disturbance that we just found the experience intimidating and unpleasant. They left tables full of glasses , I have never seen so many cigarette ends on the floors and there simply was not enough staff to cope with the numbers .At least all three restaurants were opened for the Friday and Saturday nights which eased some of the problem.
My daughter who is am employee of Thomson's can only report on her experience as she found it when being asked by customers about the hotel. If this weekend feature is a regular occurrence then I am afraid we will not be returning as we paid for a 4 star experience and only got 2 star at the weekend.
If this was a one off weekend then we should have been warned and have received a discounted rate.
Such a pity as it is a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel if there is a weekend offer on before booking.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

stayed at this hotel for one week on the 27 September as a short break. From the moment we checked in we new this hotel worked.The layout of the buildings and the pools was similar to the riu hotels in mexico. The restaurants were very nice with a good selection of food, although they shut one down (due to the end of season).most area's were wheel chair accessible.Now i'm not the jealous type but!" the pool for the kids was better than the two adult ones. It's own pirate ship with water slides. Would make the aqua aerobics more fun. lol. The room we had was in a single storied block of 5 and was impressed with the size of the bed (super king). the room was always cleaned nicely although at different times of the day. Had a little walk about to the different golf courses located nearby and then back along the sandy beach.Shame the weather played up but you can not book that. all in all great service and a great hotel which we would not hesitate to go too again. Thanks Riu.

Room Tip: although all rooms are nice and quite and indeed get the sun. it wouldn't be fair to pick a sele...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank diamondclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novo Sancti Petri
0.6 mi away
ILUNION Tartessus Sancti Petri Hotels
ILUNION Tartessus Sancti Petri H...
#5 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,071 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hideaway Sancti Petri, part of Barcelo Hotel Group
Royal Hideaway Sancti Petri, par...
#3 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,797 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Sancti Petri
Melia Sancti Petri
#1 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Andalucia Playa
IBEROSTAR Andalucia Playa
#2 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,237 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Vincci Costa Golf
Hotel Vincci Costa Golf
#9 of 24 in Chiclana de la Frontera
1,117 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hipotels Barrosa Garden
Hipotels Barrosa Garden
#7 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Chiclana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Chiclana

Address: Urbanizacion Loma del Puerco, 11130 Novo Sancti Petri, Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Chiclana de la Frontera > Novo Sancti Petri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Novo Sancti Petri
#5 Romantic Hotel in Novo Sancti Petri
#6 Luxury Hotel in Novo Sancti Petri
#6 Family Hotel in Novo Sancti Petri
Price Range: $194 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Chiclana 4*
Number of rooms: 832
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located near Chiclana in Costa de la Luz * 1-story main building and 1 and 3-story annexes * 40,000 m2 garden * 200 m from the beach (several steps lead to the beach) * 8 km from downtown Chiclana * 2 km from various shops * 60 km from Jerez airport * 30 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Chiclana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Chiclana Hotel
Hotel Riu Chiclana
ClubHotel Riu Chiclana Novo Sancti Petri, Spain - Costa De La Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing