We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hotel I've ever stayed in. couldn't be a better location.”
Review of Ionis Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ionis Art Hotel
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Laganas
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best hotel I've ever stayed in. couldn't be a better location.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Ionis in mid may with 1 of my friends. 2 girls on our first girly holiday together and it couldn't have been any better. the minute we walked through the archway at the entrance we knew it was going to be a lovely hotel. we had a through the night flight so after we checked in and had the safety rules read to us by the security guard Adonis (great guy despite what other reviews say) we went for a sleep so that we were fresh on our first day. we went out to explore and to grab some lunch after a sleep and ended up in Tasos on the beach front for food and stayed on a lounger outside of it till 7pm drinking haha. the manager Roberto is a lovely guy and we got quite a few free drinks in our time there. was a great start to our holiday. after going back to the hotel for a shower and to get ready we went out on the strip and had the best night. would recommend linekers, rescue, zeros and zoo. the rest of the week consisted of lying by the pool or on the beach hungover through the day mainly haha and at night pre drinks at the pool bar in the hotel before hitting the strip. the barman Zak is the best. lovely guy and hope I never lose touch with him. made a good friend there. the other staff are lovely too. dawn and graham on reception are very helpful and Adonis is the man. don't know what people are talking about in other reviews cause he was nothing but pleasant to me and my friend and all other guests I heard him talking to. at the end of the day he's there to protect the hotel from idiots so he's only doing his job. plenty food places near by. red castle is great for a quick bite through the day or after a night out. all in all I had the best holiday and the Ionis was a big part of making it so good. can't wait to go back next year :D

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GemmaPeirson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    103
    39
    28
    24
See reviews for
14
95
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

stayed here for a week 21st july - 28th july

The strip was empty almost every night

The hotel charged for everything, Air Con, Fridge (didnt ever get cool), Safe, WIFI, and tried to charge us 150 Euros to extend our room for the last day as we had a late flight

There was nothing going on in the hotel, the reps only wanted to be there to sell the events (which were poor) then they was no where to be seen.

Alot of friendly people around the pool.

The advertisement of KFC & Pizza Hut is also false, the "KFC" is a cheap chicken shop and the "Pizza Hut" is a Pizza Hub

There is a rule that you are only allowed to buy food and drink from the pool bar, no food or drink from outside the hotel is allowed next to the pool

Woudlnt recommend Zante overall to anyone

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I travelled with a friend to Zante on the 9th August and stayed for a week. On the way from the airport which is a 10 minute transfer you see many hotels. The hotels are very basic and look poor. When you arrive outside the Ionis you know that your in for a great holiday. The facilities at the hotel are fantastic! Whether this is the pool, the rooms and the bar area.

The bar is run by Zac who is amazing! He will help you out with Anything. Any questions you should go to Zac. He was by far the best bar staff in town. He's funny, energetic and will make sure your stay at the Ionis is top.

Caroline is the hotel owner and she will go out of her way for any guest to make sure there stay is a good one. She really made our holiday special.

The hotel is fantastic and the rooms that they have for there guests is what we need after a hard night out. You never hear anyone complaint about the rooms and the beds are COMFY. As the hotel is on the strip you also don't need to worry about long walks back as your right there.

The receptionist staff are also fantastic. I also want to make one final point on the security guard. He is thereto do a job and makes sure all guests are safe. He doesn't threatened guests. Don't do anything out of line and then you don't have a problem.

If your going to Zante then the only hotel you should be going to is this one!!!

I was given the name "the famous referee" by Caroline. Make sure you when your there you go and see Zac in the bar for a fantastic holiday! PRE DRINKS are always good :)

Room Tip: Don't ask for lower balcony....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Absolutely brilliant hotel, for everything, staff, location, quality, cleanliness. me and two mates stayed here for a week and its this hotel and staff that made the week so great.

The whole team is brilliant and you all made my week, you will have to excuse me as i cant spell the names, but Zak at the bar is a great guy really good laugh and friendly, all the Ladies behind the desk were very cheerful and helpful, the manager was also very friendly. Daniella or as she is known to everyone, Captain, who collects the glasses at bar is very friendly and a great laugh and i thoroughly enjoyed all the company from your team.

Then there was the night Security, i heard lots of negatives about security over in greece before i went but How Adonis (please excuse the spelling) put up with me (5M, Mr michael middle man morris) all week i dont know but i had a great laugh and lots of banter with him. Both him and his colleague were two of the funniest and nicest guys i've met.

But to the whole team who works At Ionis thank you for a great week, i had a lot of laughs and good times with your team.

A massive thank you for the Lads from 109

Room Tip: make sure you take out the aircon, fridge and safe deal, it seems costly but you will be pleased you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MORR1586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

First of all we stayed here June 2012 not August. wouldn't go back any further...

Lovely hotel situated on the strip very close to the beach. We arrived and we helped to reception by the Lovely reps from 2wentys. Reception staff talked through everything about the hotel and costs if things were broken during our stay. Had to pay for the air con and safe but were reasonable!

The rooms were LOVELY. very clean and decorated up to date.
Should also mention, you will get a form from the reception on check in to do checks on your room to make sure everything is working in the room and nothing is missing. It takes like 2 minutes to fill out and worth it so you don't get charged for something you didn't break!

The staff were all lovely and always chatted! The pool was gorgeous and we always got a sun lounger! The pool bar was always staffed till about 1/2am. When me and my friends were there it was a welsh guy called Nathan. He was funny as hell! The food was ok although we normally ate out as we were on the strip and there was plenty around to choose from. Pizza hut and KFC are right outside the hotel, there is also a subway straight across the road which was good.

Because I know all the 18/19 years will want to know, the bars are literally on your doorstep aswel. The best club is the famous Zeros Club. on the other side of the road and literally like a minute walk away from the hotel. (not far to crawl back to bed)

The security guard was nice aswel, always walking about at night. on the grounds or in reception.

The only problem we had was the air con wouldn't turn on when we got into the room but we phoned reception and it was sorted out within 10 minutes (we were stupid enough to not put our key card in the slot at the door for the electric)

Brilliant hotel and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MandaPanda89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I just wanted people to know that ignore the bad reviews. This hotel is in the most fantastic location, one minute from the strip yet you can't hear the strip. It is also the nicest and takes pride in it's appearance, you can count on it being very clean.

The staff are really friendly and the owner Caroline is so approachable and will listen to anything you have to say. The security can appear quite scary but in all honestly he's just doing his job and a giant bear!

The pool is lovely and well drinks are all $5 euros out there but at least the bar has decent drinks rather than the strip. BBQ night is a must... you get to meet everyone from the hotel and it really does feel like your in greece with the greek dancing and food.

You've got pizza hub and colonel's chicken attached to the hotel which tastes and is the same as pizza hut and KFC but cheaper :)

Anyway would stay here every year and absolutely loved it.... you made my holiday.

Love B

xxxx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Brilliant place to stay if you want to be in the centre of the nightlife, right on the strip so no need for taxis also a two minute walk to the beach. The security is great aswell they keep you safe and are lovely if you don't get on the wrong side of them. Wouldn't stay anywhere else of I went back to Zante ideal location!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca126101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.0 mi away
Tzante Hotel
Tzante Hotel
#5 of 74 in Laganas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 74 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pallas Hotel
Pallas Hotel
#10 of 74 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionis Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionis Art Hotel

Property: Ionis Art Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 21 | Laganas Bay, Laganas 290 92, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Laganas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ionis Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Ionis Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ionis Art
Ionis Art Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing