We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday, Average Hotel, Poor service.”
Review of Perkes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Perkes Hotel
Ranked #65 of 74 Hotels in Laganas
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Holiday, Average Hotel, Poor service.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I would just like to point out, the hotel itself is fairly good, nothing great, the reason for the terrible rating is down to the service the staff provided. I understand it can be difficult dealing with 18-30 year on a drinking holiday, but considering the money we paid for the hotel, the service should be better. I went away with 6 mates, I wasn't expecting the hotel to be anything special but couldn't have expected the hotel staff to be as rude and as obnoxious as they turned out to be. When we arrived at 7am on the Friday we immediately had our passports taken off us before even being greeted. The hotel was advertised as free air conditioning in the rooms, upon being shown to our room, which was hidden away behind the actual hotel, we were told we had to pay for it. We were then told that because our rooms were round the back, we would get the safe for free, however after using it for a day, we received a knock on the door saying we had to pay for the safe. Turns out, the rooms the Perkes had put us in, were jointly owned. So not only did we have the free air conditioning that had been advertised, we didn't get the free safe which we had been told we could have. The rooms were pretty standard, two normal beds and a smaller one so can't complain about that. We were supposed to have half board, however the breakfast ends at 11am so there I would say it isn't worth it, and we didn't even receive a meal in the evening, again another lie by the hotel. The pool was pretty good, lively atmosphere in the day and enough sunbeds. The main area of complain comes from the last day. We were flying at 6am on the Friday morning, and were told we had to be out our room at 11am on the Thursday morning. This was fair enough as the hotel needed time to clean the rooms and give the key to the new arrivals. However the way the manager let us know we had to be out, (The fairly old australian man with white hair) was just plain rude. So for the whole day we had no room and had to sit round the pool. As you can imagine it can get too much being out in the sun all day with a hangover so we decided to sit in reception. We found some sofas to the left of the entrance and sat down there. After getting comfortable I was rudely told to sit up straight whilst on the sofa by another rude member of the hotel staff, apparently sofas weren't designed to slouch on.. Around an hour later, we were told to leave reception by the same manager who had rudely told us to get out our rooms. We told him it was too hot to just sit outside to which he replied, "tough, you're not sitting in reception" so we left the hotel and went off for dinner. By the time we came back, the pool area was dead so we decided to kick a ball about. Again, this same man told us we couldn't do that. At this point we were all so fed up of this guy we went on a walk for the rest of the night until it was time to leave. When we got back to the hotel, to catch the coach, we were relieved not to come across anymore staff. Overall we all had a great time in Zante and the hotel itself was alright, however I would never consider staying here again as the staff are just too rude and arrogant. I would recommend Zante to anyone but avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are set on this hotel, try to avoid the rooms at the back (not that you get a choice) and avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    38
    40
    35
    75
See reviews for
36
56
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Feel the need to write a review to correct all the bad reviews on this place! First girls holiday (all 18)
The pool bar plays music all day and we didn't feel the need to leave the hotel during the day at all except one day when we did the vvip yacht party which is a must!! Didn't manage to make breakfast at all but the food at the bar is lovely and dead cheap so we ate there all week. Nick, Paul, Jordan and Leah who all work at the bar are lovely and such a laugh.
Rooms are basic but clean when you arrive and shower is fine. Got new towels and sheets twice during the week and the cleaner we had was lovely. We didn't bother with air-con and were fine but we weren't in a room that had the sun on it so maybe thats why we were fine.
Walk to the strip is probably about 15 minutes but its all flat and doesn't seem long when you're with everyone staggering down after the 2 hour $12 free bar that the hotel offer everynight. Deffo pre-drink here, we met so many people from the hotel doin this and it gets you so drunk before you head to the strip so you don't have to spend as much there.
Hotel is definitely not for families but neither is Laganas! Had the best time ever and 100% will be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 603Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was our first girls holidays, we’re all 18, and the hotel was definitely aimed at 18-30. All people there were about this age, wouldn’t recommend it for families during season. After reading a mix of reviews we were a bit nervous but it was so much better than we expected.
Firstly, bed and breakfast is not worth getting up for. Breakfast was pieces of bread with cold tea and a slice of ham and cheese. However, we ate at the pool bar every day which was reasonably priced and was really good when you’re hungover. The only other place to recommend for eating was Noodle Box.
Air con is definitely worth getting just make sure you don’t leave it below 20 over night when you’re sleeping because a few of us got chesty coughs and that’s not what you need when you’ve had no sleep.
The staff were really friendly. The night keeper (think his name was Patrick) let you in to your room when you were too drunk to find your key and he was really helpful on the night my friend got attacked at the opposite end of the strip. Margaret however, was not so friendly and said she “wasn’t surprised” she’d been attacked and was moaning at us for having a bottle of water in the lobby, even though we were all really upset and the police were trying to sort everything out. Also a lad across the hall from us thought he’d broken his ankle and couldn’t walk and she was shouting at them to be quiet and threatening them with getting kicked out if they didn’t go into their rooms. Nick and Paul are lovely and are always joking around with you, and he gave us free flaming sambuca shots every night when the free bar finished and everyone cleared out. The other 2 girls that work there are also really nice and dead friendly. Free bar is definitely worth getting, you’re not getting hassled by PR’s and you can stay there till half 12 which is still early to start a night out. Also it was a good way to meet everyone staying in the hotel. The atmosphere is really good and everyone got on really well. Tom is the Thomas Cook rep for the hotel but sorts out everyone for all the events. We only did the booze cruise but everyone said the paint party was amazing. We really enjoyed the booze cruise even though it was more expensive than others (50euros). Just make sure you take you’re own booze because it was really expensive for drinks and they’re not bothered if they see you with it.
It took about 15 minutes to walk to the strip, but 30 minutes when there’s 8 of you. Its 6 euros to get a taxi to any point on the strip so its definitely worth getting one because its only a couple of euros between you. The beach was at the very end of the strip and we found it was easier to just stay by the pool because it was effort to get there.
The rooms were basic but had everything you needed and were clean when we arrived. The bedding and towels were only changed twice in the week we were there and the floor was never brushed which was annoying if you’d been the beach and there is sand everywhere. However if you asked the maid then she did do it. I left my phone on the side the whole holiday and nothing ever went missing. I’ve seen people complaining about the showers, they do soak the bathroom but there was always hot water.
The pool was nice to relax by, there is music playing all day so if you don’t want to be woken up I’d request a room not by the pool. We only got told to switch our music off in our rooms once and that’s when it got to about 10pm.
We saw so many quad bike accidents that I’d advise to stay away from them because the driving in Greece is awful.
Overall we had an amazing holiday and would definitely recommend the hotel because it’s good value for money. Cheers for everything!

Room Tip: Not a room by the pool if you like to have a lie in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Myself and a friend (both aged 20) travelled out on June 18th for a week in Laganas. Normally I wouldn't bother writing for a review for a hotel but this one is an exception as I want everyone to know how we enjoyed our stay there!

In terms of our room, we had two single beds with a balcony looking out onto the pool. Room were cleaned to a very high standard on a daily basis and fresh towels provided likewise. We were not expecting a lot for our money, but it is fair to say that our expectations were exceeded.

The staff are lovely, friendly, and most importantly have good banter! As we had travelled at the start of the party season I wouldn't necessarily recommend this hotel for families between June - August purely because it gets very busy by the pool, with music being played from around 10am - 1am every day. Otherwise, if you are here as an 18-30 looking for quality atmosphere, a great bar and good vibes this is the place to be!

In terms of drinking and eating, there is a bar which serves food until 10pm daily and drinks until about 1am. The food is great and served at a great price! Every night we drank at the hotel as between 10.30pm - 12.30am there is a $12 open bar which means you can get smashed and barely spend anything on the strip!

Honestly this is the place to stay! Couldn't recommend it any more! Shout out to Nick, Paul and Jordan! Great guys!

Room Tip: If you are looking to avoid noise, ask for a room away from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrystianMoson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have never felt the need to write a review until I visited this place. The staff went above and beyond to make sure me and my friends were catered for in every way possible! Shout out to the lovely Nick and Paul!

The rooms were spacious and cleaned every day. The pool area was immaculate and the pool was gorgeous and always played good music. The communal balconies also allowed our party to not be so separated despite needing two rooms.

To sum up, nice hotel which was made excellent by the friendliness of the staff. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbernauld
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A few years ago there with son and his family Ideal family hotel food was home made place spotless the pool every day just lying about . No entertainment did not need it just out the door shops and short walk to the beach . The only problem now this is the meeting place for the young ones now better going on off peek .They have wrecked rooms feel sorry for Nick and Rachel they do their best for you Ideal beach for young children This is the wrong date as you have to put something in.Dont know if they still have the water park

Room Tip: all rooms a low level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The rooms are very basic, literally just somewhere to sleep and wash, but i suppose that's what you pay for. The pool bar and pool area however I found excellent, loud music all day round the pool which I enjoyed as it got you into the party mood early on! The pool bar offered great food which was reasonably priced and was very enjoyable! The staff were all English and very friendly.

The only downfall i'de say about this hotel is that you had to pay extra for air con (which you definitely needed as it was very hot.) It was an extra 10 euros a night, which i found quite steep. I cannot blame the hotel for doing this though as i have been told that all of the hotels in Laganas make you pay extra for air con!

Also the hotel was located quite far down the strip, i would say it took a good twenty-twentyfive minutes to walk to the beach, which sometimes quite challenging in the heat!

All in all great stay and would return definitely!

Room Tip: I don't think you can choose a good room, as anywhere in the hotel there will be people going ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cecwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.0 mi away
Savvas Hotel
Savvas Hotel
#59 of 74 in Laganas
522 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 74 in Laganas
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Majestic Spa Hotel
Majestic Spa Hotel
#63 of 74 in Laganas
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Portego Hotel
Portego Hotel
#41 of 74 in Laganas
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#42 of 74 in Laganas
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#23 of 74 in Laganas
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perkes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perkes Hotel

Property: Perkes Hotel
Address: Laganas 29092, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 74 Hotels in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Perkes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Perkes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perkes Hotel Laganas
Perkes Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing