We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT!!!!”
Review of Cactus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cactus Hotel
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PERFECT!!!!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Can't fault this place atall! Came on a party holiday with mixed group, perfect walk from beach, strip, nandos aka peri-heaven and cool peppers (best place in Zante! Definitely worth a visit) rooms cleaned every day, staff are legendary, perfectly sized rooms, admitedly the kitchen was hilariously awful but the fridge worked and we ate out every evening so wasn't a problem! Plus if all else fails Marius' toasties are hard to beat! Not the rowdiest hotel but perfect for us! Party as hard as you want in the evening (we had take that blasting until the small hours) then ideal place to relax and endure a hangover by the pool in the day! CACTUS HOTEL WE WILL BE BACK!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oundilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    42
    16
    10
    11
See reviews for
7
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went to cactus july 2012.Cactus hotel was awesome! right near the beach and clubs 5min walk to both. Don't hear any noise from clubs which is good. Room is basic but what do you expect for a partying holiday some where to sleep! Food is really good. Hotel staff are lovely. Pool is lush. Shop just 2 seconds away.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Floozie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed in Cactus Hotel with a group of 5 other girls in July 2012. The location itself was great, really close to the strip and beach so we really didn't have to walk far to get to the clubs and bars at night. As for the hotel itself, the pool was great, played music throughout the day (although this did get rather repetitive at times) and served food at the bar. The lady at the bar was absolutely lovely, friendly and helpful and she made amazing food. The hotel manager himself wasn't friendly and immediately appeared to dislike us for no apparent reason, yet was okay with us at other times - a bit temperamental. One of the rooms we had booked was badly furnished, as you could hardly open the door to the room as it was obstructed by a bed straight in front of it. We barely cooked throughout the week, just used the kettle as the cooker wasn't great. We weren't allowed to make noise past 11PM, which we found to be a bit ridiculous as it was right by the strip and most people were there to go clubbing but we tried to get out of the hotel by then anyway. Convenient little supermarket right by the hotel, bit lacking in supplies but it was great to have when we needed to grab some food/drinks. We decided not to buy air conditioning as we thought we'd save a bit of money - big mistake in July! Zante gets really hot during the day and even at the pool there's little shade to hide behind when needed. If you're going to eat out one night, most definitely go to the Cool Peppers restaurant on the beach, the food was AMAZING. I 100% recommend going to Zante if you're planning on a girls/boys holiday, but wouldn't say this is the best hotel to stay at. It was great in that we found it really cheap, and the hotel itself was okay, pretty standard and convenient in many ways, but much could be done to improve.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel was in an amazing location only 5 minute walk from the strip which you can see if you go on justzante.com. The hotel was fairly small but the rooms were a good size, we had the apartment that over looked the pool area which was amazing. The room had a cooker which did not heat very well and there was only 4 cups so if your going to pre dirnk take some plastice cups! There is a shop next to the hotel to buy alcohol and food, the food in the hotel is also fairly cheap if you are to hungover to go out and find somewhere. Christie the pool man is a ledgend the only thing is that he does not let girls bring people back to the hotel but lets boys which is unfair! Mario the manager of the hotel is a moody bstrd so stay away from him.
Places to go
1. cocktails and dreams
2. cherry bay
3. pizza place by hotel next to g spot
4. beach for a skinny dip

I also advise that you do not pay for transfers because taxi from the airport to the hotel is 17 euros wherever you go.

STAY HERE IF YOU WANT A GOOD LOCATION

Room Tip: The room above the bar overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here in the middle of august and due to our awful flight times arrive during the night at the hotel however the owners let us check in our room and helped with our luggage! The room was a lot better than i thought it would based on the amount we paid. Air con and the safe were extra but safe is definitely a necessity on holiday. The pool was lovely and clean and music always playing as well. Was quite worried about how close it would be the strip and the beach however was close enough to not need to walk long but not too close to be annoying. The hotel food and drinks were worth the money however the supermarket next door was also worth as they supplied water etc for 30c a bottle! Hotel is for the young partying type, definitely not for family. Overall defo worth the money and would recommend to stay at!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glasgow89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Well I visited Zante in 2010(some time ago now) however I still thought i'll write a review as this hotel doesn't have many. We went to Zante June 2010 there were 8 of us all in all. We didn't know what we were going to expect but we didnt care as we were just there for a good time. The hotel is in a great location as its a two min walk away from the main strip. (very handy if you are too drunk to walk). The pool area was brilliant they always had music blaring plus if u had a cd they were more than happy to play them, there was no problem with us being loud or having a laugh. I.e running on the sun loungers across the pool. There is a store next to the hotel so was able to get food when we please. it was a great place to stay for a party holiday not a family place at all. The only negative I have to say was cleaning wasn't very good, they wasn't regular enough. Also the ally you have to walk thro to get the strip is dangerous. There are a lot of locals who will drive past in cars or mopeds and steal your bags. I had this ordeal on my last night. However even tho I just lost my camara and phone, the hotel does offer a safe which I am glad we paid for. Apart from that I had a fab week out there. Nothing has come close to this holiday and us girls have been to a lot more places now. If you are considering this hotel go for it.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skye0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were a group of about 14 boys and girls and when we arrived the girls got their rooms straight away, yet Marios made the boys wait around for 3 hours for our rooms and even had the cheek to say he had lost our booking and made it out as though he had done us a favour by getting us some rooms. I never saw him smile once the whole holiday. He kicks you out of the pool area and if you are not gone in 2 minutes of asking he will persist in telling you "the pool area is closed". He did not let us sit in the bar area and play cards even though we had bought drinks about 10 minutes earlier. There were countless meetings about the pool rules. There were numerous times he threatened to kick us out of the pool. We are not rowdy or nasty kids and did not cause trouble in any way. I cant remember him being nice in any way whatsoever, even when a friend notified him that he had undercharged him! It just so happened the morning that we were leaving the water was not working, and just as we left without having showers it came back on, was this Marios' goodbye? i think so. The other lady is fairly nice, but hitler would seem pleasant standing next to Marios. He is like a pavement, the least pleasant person i have ever met in my entire life. He is probably very nice to people he may think will actually write a review, but is just himself to everyone else. If you are 18-24 and on a lads/girls holiday, you will not find a better hotel in Zante, but just don't expect any hospitality whatsoever. I don't understand how some people on here can write good things about him??!! He has surely got to be writing some of them. I could carry on ranting all day, he makes the rooms sweltering so you have no choice but to pay 70 euros a week for air-con. He covered up chairs in the bar area so we would not sit on them. He has this mean stare he gives you every time you walk past him. I do hope Marios reads this and changes his attitude as it is such a good hotel and location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank spyda666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 73 in Laganas
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Portego Hotel
Portego Hotel
#46 of 73 in Laganas
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
California Beach Hotel
California Beach Hotel
#33 of 73 in Laganas
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savvas Hotel
Savvas Hotel
#62 of 73 in Laganas
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Hotel

Property: Cactus Hotel
Address: Laganas 29092, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cactus Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Cactus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing